Are you talking about this little fella or girlie if you like? Good on petrol, not too pricey, but they have rollover issues. Not the safest thing in the world.Originally Posted by Eire06
ya i didnt mean you in general, sorry about that.Its the little one I like
theres plenty of room in any standard 5 door car for off the road riding ( as the americans like to call it ) , trust me![]()
Are you talking about this little fella or girlie if you like? Good on petrol, not too pricey, but they have rollover issues. Not the safest thing in the world.Originally Posted by Eire06
Last edited by strangeirish; 06/04/2006 at 2:50 PM.
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
Minis very common in NI & UK. Must say I like the look although bit girlie...
Hyundai Coupe - downside is too many women driving these...
Toyota Celica
Audi TT
Any opinions?
Was only a wind up about the Jeep!Originally Posted by paul_oshea
Was waiting to see if anyone would jump in complaining bout it!!
Do really like them but wouldn't get one for environmental reasons
Sorry to any lads driving mini's I think it looks funny fellas driving them bar the old ones or the black ones with the racing grid pattern on the side of themOriginally Posted by pete
Love the Audi TT, they are just class![]()
I don't know why I didn't recommend the celica, as that is my wifes carOriginally Posted by pete
. She loves it. It's a 2000 model, auto, with a 1.8 ltr. Great on fuel and has a nice look to it and it drives nice. Here.
Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.
Don't get personal, I'm only stating facts!!!Originally Posted by Wiseguy
Sitting pretty!!!
a cow gives out more harmfully green house gasses than a land rover .
i get better mpg out of my jeep than i do my car .
they are safer , if i get hit i dont die , this rubbish about rolling them only applies to people who drive them too fast driving under 60 mph they are perfectly safe .plus i know a guy who rolled 2 and didnt even get a scratch so if they do roll your more likly to survive .
the wheels dont have to be replaced every time i hit a pothole .
they are way cheaper to keep as they dont fall apart from being ratled to peices on irish roads like my old car did .
anyway if they guzzle gas fair play if every one drove one then all the oil would be wasted up in 10 years meaning people would be forced to turn to more cleaner energies ,
but most of all all the evil oil companies would be out of business no oil = no oil comps
every one ruch out and get a hummer ( with the foot down it does 1 mile to the gallon !!!!!)![]()
The Audi TT is a beautiful car, but it's no thriller. Like the MX5 - another lovely car - it's really a bit of a hairdresser's car when you get right down to it -- all show and no go. (Handling is another matter, but what's the point in handling if you haven't got serious umph to play with?) Which isn't to say it won't feature in my sheik-beating collection someday. The new TT will be unveiled in the next couple of hours on audi.com/TT btw; and it will be a thriller, by all accounts.
Anto, I realise some of your comments were probably somewhat tongue in cheek, but it doesn't stop them being rubbish. If your jeep does get better mpg than your car, it's because they're not evenly matched -- your car is old, or thirsty, or your jeep is underpowered. And they are safer for you, but every new jeep on the road raises the risk for everyone else. And try capital letters at the start of your sentences if you'd like to look like a literate adult.
Last edited by dahamsta; 06/04/2006 at 4:45 PM.
Originally Posted by dahamsta
Rubbish hardly everything i said is correct
my car a 2001 406 coupe and gives 30 mpg my pajero gives 33 mpg .
If i hit a pot hole the wheels dont buckle due to the amount of rubber .
My last car needed 3,500 euro worth of repairs to axles bushels etc after 1 year of driving around irish country roads , ive had my pajero for 4 years and ive had to change the oil and belts thats all and ive driven that on roads across fields and on building sites .
The sooner the oil is wasted the sooner we will have to rely on other cleaner energy's.
Show me some proof that jeeps are more dangerous on the roads your allways telling people to back up there statements . if i hit another jeep the people inside are much more likely to survive than if 2 cars crash due to the protection offered from the sheer build quality of a jeep .if everyone had jeeps there would be a lot less road deaths .if you hit a person walking at 35 mph in a car they have a 80% chance of being killed (thats from the road safety ads being run on tv )these odds dont increase if its a jeep or van also surely if some one steps out in front of a car or jeep its there fault not the vehicle .
Im talking jeeps here not SUV's (before its pointed out i know jeep is a brand name not a type of car )
Last edited by anto1208; 06/04/2006 at 7:08 PM.
When an SUV hits a pedestrain it will definitely do more damage. Jeeps were meant for farmers & builders not lawyers & PR people. Its a steroetype that seems to be true but SUV drivers are more arrogant than your average irish driver. Sometimes the truth hurts but its like when you tell people their MPV is a van they somehow get offended
Hyundai Coupe & Toyota Celica looks very similar.
Last edited by pete; 12/03/2007 at 9:28 AM.
An excellent start Anto, well done.Originally Posted by anto1208
Which proves nothing. What size engines do these motors have? How old is the Pajero? Are they driven on the same roads, in the same style? What's in the boot of each motor? Etc, etc, etc.my car a 2001 406 coupe and gives 30 mpg my pajero gives 33 mpg
I drive a 13 year old 525i BMW and my girlfriend drives a 5 year old 1 litre Polo. I'd have no trouble whatsoever getting better economy out of the former if I put my mind to it (particularly the way my girlfriend drives).
You're the one making statements without proof Anto, I'm simply highlighting them as rubbish. If you'd like my proof, post your evidence and I'll rebut it.Show me some proof that jeeps are more dangerous on the roads your allways telling people to back up there statements .
if i hit another jeep the people inside are much more likely to survive than if 2 cars crash due to the protection offered from the sheer build quality of a jeep .if everyone had jeeps there would be a lot less road deaths
"Jeep" is an Irish colloquialism for an off-road vehicle (Jeep vehicles only became available in Ireland in the last decade). "SUV" is the term Americans use to describe the same thing. So you're talking both. And something else...Im talking jeeps here not SUV's (before its pointed out i know jeep is a brand name not a type of car )
I lefty out a coma it should have read rubbish hardly , ......
it proves that i get better fuel consuption on average out of my out of my 2 tonnes 2.5 litre jeep rather than my 1 tonne 2 litre car . Which is my point .(Average driving on the same road to work in about the same level of trafic split 50 50 between city and county driving .)
why they are safer
1 4 wheel drive gives greater traction on roads in dodgy conditions ie ice rain oil etc than either a front wheel or rear wheel drive which over and under steer thus making them more likley to skid off the road .
2 Higher seating . In the event of a side on collision from a car the majority of the force hits below the waist line of the pasenger reducing the risk to internal organs .
3 . Higher veiwing position :enabling the driver to react sooner to crossing pedestrians or hazards ahead.
4 . Manufacturers have added car-level bumpers to reduce the possibility of the other vehicle(s) sliding underneath .
5. If hit from behind the weight and grip offered from the increased tyre width on the road reduces the amount the jeep will jump foward reducing the risk of a broken neck or whiplash .
[It should be noted that I don't object to SUVs across the board. Some - the X5, RX and RR in particular (albeit only in black) - are lovely-looking vehicles and seriously tempting; one in particular (duh) is even a bloody good off-roader. Much as I'd like to though, I wouldn't buy one unless I needed a vehicle that would spend the majority of it's time off-road, or in situations where an off-roader would be needed. Because otherwise I'd be just another a gaz-guzzling, self-important, greedy, careless assh*le. I'm already pushing my luck with the beamer.]
Anto, I'm not arguing that the SUV is safer for the passenger - in fact I explicitly conceded this point in my OP - so drop the deflection please. If you wish to debate a point, tackle the one I actually addressed: the issue of safety for everyone else, in the majority of vehicles on the road.
Frankly, if you're getting better fuel economy out of your SUV than your coupé, there's something wrong with your SUV, your coupé, or both. SUV's are less economical than regular passenger vehicles for very simple, very logical reasons: they're bigger, they're heavier, and they've got bigger engines. It's not up for debate, it's physics.
However there's zero doubt in my mind that you'll try to argue against nature, so here's my proof: US EPA economy listings for every major model in the States, including many European models. Pick a few and look at the economy figures. They're worse for SUV's. Go figure.
http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/findacar.htm
Your comment about depleting all of the natural resources is hilarious. I'm sure your grandchildren will be rolling in the aisles. Short of breath, you know?
Last edited by dahamsta; 07/04/2006 at 9:16 AM.
Mine: http://fp.images.autos.msn.com/meris...y/c447353a.jpg
2005 Toyota Highlander... yes an SUV. Wasnt crazy about purchasing an SUV but with the harsh Winters we get in the US Northeast, they are a must. I love it, sticks to the road like glue in snowy/icy conditions.
What the wife drives(kidmobile aka Chrysler Grand Voyager) : http://www.cardata.com/images/2006/c...%20country.jpg
"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
"Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.
8 out of 10 me hole. If it's that high in the UK, I'd put it higher over here.Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
My next car will be imported from the UK, as again saving 60-70%. I have a few trusted mechanics that I'll put on the case. I ain't willing to pay dealer prices over here.
Well your hole obviously didn't get what I said, 8/10 of imported cars from the UK are likely to be clocked FACT! There is a number you can ring in the Uk to find out if a car has been in an accident and what its actual milage is, this is not available here yet.Originally Posted by Macy
During the NCT is when its noticed that cars are clocked but legally they don't have to say anything so they don't, mechanics aren't always able to spot clocking.
Oh and its the VRT your not willing to pay, but you've to pay that when its imported anyway, and if your not willing to pay dealers prices you're obviously a shyte negotiator, not going to say any more then that, get your facts straight before you attack my profession!
Sitting pretty!!!
Do they come in Maroon or Claret?Originally Posted by Eire06
So only UK imports are clocked, as Irish dealers would never partake in such practices? It's you who's attacking your profession - you're the one making the accusation that imports are clocked, not anyone else or does that not include dealers that sell imports? Do you want to back up your 8/10 figure with statistics?
Even including vrt, there are big savings to be made by importing. At the very least, higher specs/bigger engines for the same money (including VRT) as the second hand market over here.
have to agree with macy, if you are willing to put in the work there are great savings to be made, our next car will be imported also from the UK.Originally Posted by Macy
Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........
And what proof do you have that 80% of the cars in the UK are likely to be clocked.If this is the case which i severely doubt you should obviously ring that number before you purchase the car.Here is a fact for you,Cars get clocked in this country aswell.Cars are also involved in crashes in this country.It is much easier to follow up the history of a car in the UK than it is here.Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
I paid €16,600 for my 02 Audi which included the VRT.The same car here is selling for anything between €22k to €24k.You can be the best negotiator in the world but I don't know of any dealer who will knock €6k off the price of a car.It's you who should get your facts straight.
"At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill