Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Cars

I actually sell cars for a living so I get a new one every 3 months or so, if you want any advice or help please ask!!!

Currently I drive this.
    Sitting pretty!!!

I recently got myself a Ford Focus Ghia but I know its too "family" for Eire.

It looks a lot like this one:

http://www.autofoco.com/pictures/20050630162420118.jpg

but I used to drive this and loved it (mainly coz it was purple and had a good history of sex in it when I bought it off an ex!)

http://www.benbatho.com/Small%20nova%201.JPG

but my dream car is http://www.dyna.co.za/cars/MG_72_B_Roadster_Red_bs.jpg or http://www.barrett-jackson.com/image...arXKSSconv.jpg
    Last edited by Magicme; 06/04/2006 at 8:13 AM.

I'll be importing a big block Road Runner in 2-3 years,
    pictures please

I actually sell cars for a living so I get a new one every 3 months or so, if you want any advice or help please ask!!!
    in fairness, you mustnt be selling anything with the amount of time you spend on here!!!!

Do any of us do any work to earn the paychecks to buy our cars?? Just curious.

ive a pajero 2.5 litre and a 2.9 litre 406 coupe . both stunning to look at and drive .

if your looking at a mini you want a girls car( no self respencting man would drive a new mini old one yes but not a new one ) so opel tiger & ford puma might be up your street .

eh Anto she is a girl.....

250 Posts
    Mazda 626 for moi,boring but reliable.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    eh Anto she is a girl.....

i did not know that , but i still recomended girls cars so its all good

fair enough!

Ok you forced my hand....talking bout nice girly cars....this is what I REALLY drive:

http://marty-center.uchicago.edu/web...12005/doom.jpg
    Last edited by dahamsta; 06/04/2006 at 12:14 PM.

mainly coz it was purple and had a good history of sex in it
    two great reasons to buy a car......

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    two great reasons to buy a car......
    Why else would u buy a Rover?????

I Drive an Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE 130 BHP and i love it.55mpg and cruises at 100mph.The advice i would give anyone is if you can to buy your car in England.I bought mine for €16,600 and that covered the VRT which was €5k.The dealer also fully serviced the car and delivered it to Holyhead port for me.Myself and my friend who is a mechanic got on the boat and went over to collect it.We checked everything out and paid for it by cheque.I then had brought to an Audi dealer and had everything fully checked out the next day and if their was a problem i could cancel the cheque.After everything i saved over €6k.I will never buy a car in this country again as we are being feckin robbed.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    I Drive an Audi A4 1.9 TDI SE 130 BHP and i love it.55mpg and cruises at 100mph.The advice i would give anyone is if you can to buy your car in England.I bought mine for €16,600 and that covered the VRT which was €5k.The dealer also fully serviced the car and delivered it to Holyhead port for me.Myself and my friend who is a mechanic got on the boat and went over to collect it.We checked everything out and paid for it by cheque.I then had brought to an Audi dealer and had everything fully checked out the next day and if their was a problem i could cancel the cheque.After everything i saved over €6k.I will never buy a car in this country again as we are being feckin robbed.
    what happens if it breaks down after a month you either haev no warrenty or have to ship it back to england . good idea though a few garages will ship them in service them and pay the vrt then sell them . they still come out cheaper than over here .and the cars haev been taken care of normally are fully specd aswell .

my 406 came from england had 70,000 moterway miles all electric full leather heated seats ced changer everything you could think of , and it 6 grand cheaper than a basic model here with no leather etc

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    what happens if it breaks down after a month you either haev no warrenty or have to ship it back to england . good idea though a few garages will ship them in service them and pay the vrt then sell them . they still come out cheaper than over here .and the cars haev been taken care of normally are fully specd aswell .

my 406 came from england had 70,000 moterway miles all electric full leather heated seats ced changer everything you could think of , and it 6 grand cheaper than a basic model here with no leather etc
    Any car you buy can break down it dosen't matter where it is from.You have to take a chance and get it well checked out before you pay for it.The car i bought had it's full service history with it plus receipts for all work that was carried out on it.It was a top of the range model,was very well looked after with all works done by an Audi dealer & it also only had 56k motorway miles so the sh1te isn't shook out of it from driving on pot hole riddled roads.You just need to shop around and make sure the car has all the proper paper work i.e service history ect.Any car you buy you will save thousands so it has to worth looking into.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Ya i'm still in love with the mini's they are very over priced for what you get though €25,000 new..
    Anyone have a Jeep?
    What are they like, wouldn't mind one of the cute blue ones I see about!

Ha! Cute blue ones, a Jimny??? By the way, be very careful with imported cars from the UK, 8/10 of them have been clocked and may end up costing you a hell of a lot more...
    Sitting pretty!!!

Anyone have a Jeep?
    What are they like, wouldn't mind one of the cute blue ones I see about!
    I am sorry but this is the attitude that really gets me, in ireland, dublin particularly and galway even, there are NO NEED for big 4 x 4s, they guzzle fuel as quickly as an alcoholic guzzles beer in the happy hour. Jeeps were built for being able to be driven by farmers/agri workers to go from one terrain to another, being employed for every day use, but now they are a choice of the middle classes, and for no need at all. THey cause serious pollution and should be avoided at all costs unless really required par exemple for your day job. I hate seeing these yokes round london with some numpty with a hat or some bird with designer labeled shades being the only occupants in them....waht a waste. cosmopolitan my bollicks.

230 Posts
    I thought a Jeep might have been ideal for Irish roads. Look.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 06/04/2006 at 2:27 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    there are NO NEED for big 4 x 4s
    Its the little one I like
    And they are soooo cute and you never know might want to do some off road driving
    And I love my Prada shades BTW

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    By the way, be very careful with imported cars from the UK, 8/10 of them have been clocked and may end up costing you a hell of a lot more...
    Doing the right checks on the history of the car will sort these problems.Cars are also clocked in this country so it's not unique to the UK.A lot of people have a preconception that all cars are clocked in the UK or something else is wrong with them.What i did was locate the car i wanted,rang the dealer who was selling it.He sent me pics by e-mail and faxed over a copy of the service history.I struck a deal with him that i would get a long warranty with the car and arranged to have it delivered to Holyhead port.I met him at Holyhead port, drove the ring out of it and had the car checked over by my mechanic then told the dealer that i didn't want the warranty to he knocked £250 off the price.If you do it right you will get a great car at 60-70% of the cost here.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast