If he's aul stock then why did he take so long to find ye? I know his father's from Westport but Paul has played for S & F, Manulla, Celtic and now Westport. People have every right to be cynical about his case.]
But on the whole local clubs issue soccer is a game where the responsibility lies with an individual who he plays with. Dykes didn't bring Collins to Celtic, Collins made that decision himself. It's the responsibility of clubs like Snugboro to be able to hold onto players. Good players should always be able to play at the highest level they can achieve. In Mayo soccer at the minute that means playing for Celtic or Westport.
Cases of loyalty like that with Peter Burke are commendable and should be applauded but most players want to look out for number one and that's their prerogative.
Paul Fitzpatrick is, therefore perfectly within his rights to play with Westport but don't suggest for a second that it's some form of modern day Prodigal Son story
Last edited by OscarBravo; 21/12/2006 at 1:39 PM. Reason: Joe D's spell check
I'm voting YES
It's the way forward - sort of a mini version of what happens in every other level of soccer.
I'm voting Yes.
According to some peoples arguement I shouldn't be playing for Snugboro.
I played Celtic U-11 to U-16, Snugboro U-16 to Junior. But I have lived a stones throw away from Celtic Park for the most part of my life. But I wouldn't go back to Celtic. Their attitude stinks.(And they wouldn't take me!)
Well said OscarBravo. Can you imagine renovater using a word like prerogative.Although you spelt it wrong.
The reason I'm saying yes to clubs should be allowed bring in outside players from other clubs is that 99% of clubs do it. Maybe not to the same extent as Celtic but they all do it because that is the nature of soccer.
Lets look at the Super League clubs as a case in point
Celtic: don't need to elaborate
Westport: Brendan O'Connor, Paul Fitzpatrick
Ballyheane: Jonathan Griffin, Gary Fitzgerald, Jamie Carr
Erris: Brian Benson (for a year)
Ballina Town: Duane Helly and Devers from Conn Rangers and Niall Gallagher from Ballyglass
Manulla: Kevin Ring, Dermot McNicholas
Snugboro: Declan Flynn (before he left), Gary Byrne, Joe Denilson!
Straide & Foxford: Kieran O'Malley, Gary Costello
Ballyglass: Niall Gallagher (before he left), Alan Costello, Mark Diskin
Crossmolina: Jonathan Heffernan (has since left again).
They're only players I can think of and you can be sure the situation is replicated down the leagues. Its not the fault of any of these clubs that guys want to sign for them, but there can be blame for clubs that lads are leaving. Pixiehead if Snugboro were reduced to just players in the Snugboro catchment area ye would not be in the Super League. Boundaries always will be loose
Last edited by OscarBravo; 21/12/2006 at 1:38 PM. Reason: mistake
My vote is also yes
players should be allowed to move from club to club as they only sign a yearly contract - then they free agents!!![]()
Just a little note that Fintan McHale could be taking over Celtics B team next season and I've heard that he wants to bring back the players that were discarded under this regime and that means the Super League winning team of 2001!!!!!!!!!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmm now thats sound tasty
I never said a Club should have players from the catchment area ONLY. If that was the case Snugboro would be Goosed. But they have a lot of players from town that have been with them for a few years and are dedicated and do there bit bit for the club and there part of the "Family". What i am saying is that if you start a type of trend of players who just want to better them selfs then whats going to happen to clubs.Who'll get involved in underage?? Who'll do fundraising?? Who'll get involved in committee ect ect. I can guarentee you players who are only interested in them selfs wont. And the more of them you create the worse for club structure. We all have to remember here WE ARE NOT PROFFESIONAL![]()
I think whatever celtic are doing is ok seen as they`re not breaking any laws. And if ye don`t like what they`re doing ye should beat them on the field like football is supposed to be.
I'm voting YES!!
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!
to be honest i wouldn't see any problem with a player moving from one club to another BUT they'd have to be willing to muck in with the rest of the team when it comes to the likes of fundraising and helping in the running of undreage setups and the likes.in my opinion i think that the game in mayo is suffering because there are far too many 'mercenary' type players who are simply moving from one club to another.the general interest in the league this past season has waned substantially and i think that the moving of players has contributed to this.i've seen in our own club where players have come in from other clubs and have been greeted with open arms by all on the team,only for the same players to turn around and do nothing for the club,resulting in the local lads becoming disgruntled, what with not getting a game despite the fact that they might be doing their bit for the club. so to make a long story even longer my vote would be yes (but with reservations!!)
It can be difficult to get the club regulars out to fundraise, never mind the players who join from elsewhere!!Helping with underage set ups, look at Westport between players and ex-players, the track record there is pathetic-disgracefully pathetic. As far as helping the club out, a lot of players washed their hands off the club once they hung up their boots, including some great players.
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!
you have a very valid point in what you're saying about the westport underage set-up but did they not have some form of underage success when the likes of joe lawless and gerry mcgloughlin,among others were playing?so surely whoever was looking after them at that stage must have been doing something right?as they have gone on to do very well for the junior side,with joe representing ireland at junior level.i'm not too sure (maybe proud cove could verify or discount this for me)but didn't their under 16 team do pretty well this past season?
its a real shame however that some of the retired players of clubs-particularly the more recently retired ones, seem to simply turn their backs on a club that they once loved (or possibly still do??)its increasingly difficult for a club to get any form of help from any of the players involved(those playing) in the runnung of the club let alone trying to get past players to help out.![]()
This is my whole point totally. A certain club in Mayo will not let players sign this season unless they have sold 5 €50 lotto tickets.Now thats the way to deal with them and i can guarentee that alot more clubs will follow suit when they find themselfs in financial hot water. Players have to remember that they are not just part of a team..... they are part of a club!!!!![]()