Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Quote:
    Originally Posted by swinfordfc
    Swinford didn't get promoted cause they were not good enough swift full stop. so your saying its ok for celtic to sign who they want - ye are throwing alot of money about the place at present - ye sign neary and also tried to sign gaughan but he went back playing gaa for knockmore, its easy to win a title when you get the best players from around the county and outside it, remember this is ye first title since 2001 long time to be waiting for the supposing best team in mayo wont you think, now tell me this - do you think snugboro will stay up with flynn, duffy and collins gone? i tell you the answer for you , they havent a hope! 3 big players gone from they just to served dykes. dykes is after one thing - to win the FAI Junior Cup cause celtic are mad that westport won it before them and that erris had won a national title as well (under 18 youths cup) and celtic have won NONE. now put your toys back in your cot

So your axe to grind is the fact that you dont like clubs signing players from other clubs. Is the onus not on the player to be big enough to say no to the move. Even the dogs on the street know **MOD EDIT:LEAVE IT OUT** but yet nearly everyone he asks to sign for Celtic ends up signing. You see players as a rule of thumb like to look back on their career and say what they've won and if they feel that they have a better chance at Celtic then so be it. Now some of his signings have been strange to say the least judging by the players he told to go but the signings of players from other clubs is nothing new to the Mayo league. If I were to mention Manulla, as they were the biggest club to practice this but because its Celtic here people are bleating on about it. In fairness Celtic did go about some of these in an underhand way but it still went on before Dykes' arrival. Futhermore to your statment that the Superleague is a joke because of Celtic is a joke in itself. There are only the Top Four that really push each other every year so wheres the other clubs and that in itself is rare. Ballyheane start off every year like a house on fire and this year they were nearly relegated, Manulla who have some gifted players can throw a game and get away with it no problem, and where we have a Premier Division where the fifth placed team can get promoted so I dont think its fair that you can lay all the blame at our door. Personally I dont have a problem with players that want to better themselves and play at a good standard but according to you and your buddy thats wrong
    By the way Reno I was just fighting my corner that was on the other site

was out in castlebar last nite and heard then peter burke is leaving ballyheane,does anyone know if it true??? he would be a great signing for any super leageue team !!

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    Quote:
    Swinford didn't get promoted cause they were not good enough swift full stop. so your saying its ok for celtic to sign who they want - ye are throwing alot of money about the place at present - ye sign neary and also tried to sign gaughan but he went back playing gaa for knockmore, its easy to win a title when you get the best players from around the county and outside it, remember this is ye first title since 2001 long time to be waiting for the supposing best team in mayo wont you think, now tell me this - do you think snugboro will stay up with flynn, duffy and collins gone? i tell you the answer for you , they havent a hope! 3 big players gone from they just to served dykes. dykes is after one thing - to win the FAI Junior Cup cause celtic are mad that westport won it before them and that erris had won a national title as well (under 18 youths cup) and celtic have won NONE. now put your toys back in your cot

So your axe to grind is the fact that you dont like clubs signing players from other clubs. Is the onus not on the player to be big enough to say no to the move. Even the dogs on the street know **MOD EDIT:LEAVE IT OUT** but yet nearly everyone he asks to sign for Celtic ends up signing. You see players as a rule of thumb like to look back on their career and say what they've won and if they feel that they have a better chance at Celtic then so be it. Now some of his signings have been strange to say the least judging by the players he told to go but the signings of players from other clubs is nothing new to the Mayo league. If I were to mention Manulla, as they were the biggest club to practice this but because its Celtic here people are bleating on about it. In fairness Celtic did go about some of these in an underhand way but it still went on before Dykes' arrival. Futhermore to your statment that the Superleague is a joke because of Celtic is a joke in itself. There are only the Top Four that really push each other every year so wheres the other clubs and that in itself is rare. Ballyheane start off every year like a house on fire and this year they were nearly relegated, Manulla who have some gifted players can throw a game and get away with it no problem, and where we have a Premier Division where the fifth placed team can get promoted so I dont think its fair that you can lay all the blame at our door. Personally I dont have a problem with players that want to better themselves and play at a good standard but according to you and your buddy thats wrong
    In fairness to swift i have to say that i feel he has a very valid point with regard to players having their own mind.if a lad feels that he would be better off playing for somebody who they regard as being a better team then let them off i say.there is a lot of lads leaving clubs but at the end of the day its their decision.i play for a reasonably small club and we couldn't possibly cope if we were to lose even one or two of our better players but if one of them decided that they wanted to go then thats their perogitive,regardless of the situation they leave their former team.

In another point mentioned in his post i also think that it is an absolute disgrace that manulla appear to have gotten away with the throwing of a super league game-surely there should be some form of punishment for a team that does that??maybe they should be relegated place of another team?just a thought!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    In fairness to swift i have to say that i feel he has a very valid point with regard to players having their own mind.if a lad feels that he would be better off playing for somebody who they regard as being a better team then let them off i say.there is a lot of lads leaving clubs but at the end of the day its their decision.i play for a reasonably small club and we couldn't possibly cope if we were to lose even one or two of our better players but if one of them decided that they wanted to go then thats their perogitive,regardless of the situation they leave their former team.

In another point mentioned in his post i also think that it is an absolute disgrace that manulla appear to have gotten away with the throwing of a super league game-surely there should be some form of punishment for a team that does that??maybe they should be relegated place of another team?just a thought!!

valid point with regards to manulla throwing there last game, it seemd to be brushed side just incase it might cause a stir. its sad to think its the way football is going.

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    was out in castlebar last nite and heard then peter burke is leaving ballyheane,does anyone know if it true??? he would be a great signing for any super leageue team !!

absoulte bull****.... ballyheane will never loose bourke.. hes heane through and through

that what i also think? but it was from a ballyheane person i heard it !! so there must be some truth in it...

Sure 'The Don' is a BHeane man is he not? Can he confirm this?

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Sure 'The Don' is a BHeane man is he not? Can he confirm this?

Why the question marks!. Peter has been with the club since he was a youth and while you can never say never, it would be a major shock if he was to move on. Yes I have heard the rumours circulating and if it is from Ballyheane players you would hope they would show a little more cop on.

well the person i heard it from was a ex-ballyheane player. i would imagine that none of the ballyheane player's would like to lose a player like him.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Why the question marks!. Peter has been with the club since he was a youth and while you can never say never, it would be a major shock if he was to move on. Yes I have heard the rumours circulating and if it is from Ballyheane players you would hope they would show a little more cop on.
    If Peter Bourke turned down a chance to play semi pro with Galway United because he just wanted to play for the hean then my guess is its just rumour

Ten Four.

Have no clue as to whether or not Peter Bourke would consider moving to Celtic, but he would certainly be an exceptional signing for any team in Mayo. As well as being a top class centre-half, he is a great leader. I remember us playing them in the FAI Cup last year and one of his team mates going down Cristiano Ronaldo-style under a fair challenge. Bourke roared at him to get up so hard that I thought the poor lad was going to cry! Spoke to him after the match and he seemed totally sound - too sound to abandon his mates for a team of mercenaries I would have thought. In unrelated news, he looks a bit like the chap from Futurama.

great win y/day for ballina town,nice to see a good footballing team doin well.

51 Posts
    Yes congrats to Ballina Town on reaching the last 32, hope they get a home draw in next round

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    Quote:

Full credit to ya I was beginning to think I was fighting alone against the kiljoys of football.
    the renovator understands quite well what your club has gone through its a pittty that new man of celtic who's just sign up couldn't for just one moment take off the shades and see the damage that his club is doing to others.
    by the way I here the boy kelly is moving on from Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    absoulte bull****.... ballyheane will never loose bourke.. hes heane through and through
    AND YOU CAN SING IT.

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    If Peter Bourke turned down a chance to play semi pro with Galway United because he just wanted to play for the hean then my guess is its just rumour
    ITHINK its the first time that I have to agree with you

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Have no clue as to whether or not Peter Bourke would consider moving to Celtic, but he would certainly be an exceptional signing for any team in Mayo. As well as being a top class centre-half, he is a great leader. I remember us playing them in the FAI Cup last year and one of his team mates going down Cristiano Ronaldo-style under a fair challenge. Bourke roared at him to get up so hard that I thought the poor lad was going to cry! Spoke to him after the match and he seemed totally sound - too sound to abandon his mates for a team of mercenaries I would have thought. In unrelated news, he looks a bit like the chap from Futurama.
    there was a very unfair sending off that day i think i remember the left back got in to a tangle with young creaby!!

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    ITHINK its the first time that I have to agree with you
    Why? Am i that bad? Hee Hee

Help needed !

Am looking for the club colours of teams that have played Galway United at competitive level in the past.

What are the club colours of Straide and Foxford ?
    Do Mayo and District League use green and red ?

All help appreciated, please pm me or post here.

Thanks,

PD.

S&Foxford wear orange & black..

Page 30 of 35 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast