Page 26 of 35 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Pixie

What is that clown Pixiehead on about.Take your head from your hoop good man.

No way

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Maybe but will dykes be there for the long haul? is Limerick not after him?
    There is not a shread of evidence that limerick are looking for him. In fact it looks quite certain that the club will fold once the new Irish premiership is introduced.... Rumours!!!!

Sorry Mammy

Quote Originally Posted by Ballina Town View Post
    What is that clown Pixiehead on about.Take your head from your hoop good man.
    Sorry mister sensible! Did i say somthing to offend you?? I thought this was a forum not a classroom Ya im a clown alright. Im pennywise from the film "IT" You wanna balloon ! Dont ya Georgey!!!!!!!!!! Im hiding in you closet!!! Sleep tight!

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    There is not a shread of evidence that limerick are looking for him. In fact it looks quite certain that the club will fold once the new Irish premiership is introduced.... Rumours!!!!
    Put it another way - do ye want him in charge next year? i think declan kilkenny doing great job with under 17 & 18, could he take his place? Celtic under dykes - i cant see them wining the FAI Cup or Connacht Cup

hello swift,was informed by pixiehead that my name is being thrown around the forum,so decided to log on.Im still using the bulltoe - old(bad) habits die hard!!

Being a while since i've been on this forum,but toffee and pixiehead were tellin me about the **** going up on the site. and i have to say that majority of peole know what they are talking about on the site and i hope the topics are kept to the daytoday news in mayo soccer..but this is my last visit on the forum for 2006,and i just hope clowns like*********and ******** don't **** the forum up totally because they are making a good job of it.oh yes *****or will i use your real name) - - is as it says -you seem to have a problem with me and anyone who might have a good word to say about me.so when you see me again,explain your problem to me small man.
    Best of luck to all the lads at the boro on sunday -hope ye stay up.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 11/11/2006 at 8:21 PM.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mamoore View Post
    Being a while since i've been on this forum,but toffee and pixiehead were tellin me about the **** going up on the site. and i have to say that majority of peole know what they are talking about on the site and i hope the topics are kept to the daytoday news in mayo soccer..but this is my last visit on the forum for 2006,and i just hope clowns like*********and ******** don't **** the forum up totally because they are making a good job of it.oh yes *****or will i use your real name) - - is as it says -you seem to have a problem with me and anyone who might have a good word to say about me.so when you see me again,explain your problem to me small man.
    Best of luck to all the lads at the boro on sunday -hope ye stay up.

If thats the way you are going to post I'd prefer if it was another while til we hear from you.

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    No I am not concerned that my own club has been overlooked as I am not that shallow. What I am concerned with is the advancement of Mayo football and the acknowledgement by the powers that be that the lower leagues have a part to play. If you had read my post properly I never advocated playing raw talent I said to bring them in to learn and I also stated that there is some talent that is ready now. Maybe there wern't enough spelling mistakes in my post and you couldn't read it! Competitions are about winning but the Mayo county team is also about bringing on young talent ready to take their part as well.
    If you were a manager would you pick the best players available to you.
    the poblem is Mick doesn't have that time to explor the talent you talk about he only got weeks to get a team together if he loses 2 out of three games its all over.
    However I do take your point but thats down the road, one will have to see if Mick last long enough to look deeper in to lower div.

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Hard to know??? Mad mick Done wonders at snugboro. Hes got a good head on him and that shows in that he has got brought 2 clubs up a division. However if Ballyheane want to keep him then i suggest they reward him if you catch my drift!!!
    some of the credit must does to Nial Donelly WHO DOES MOST OF THE TRAINNING.
    however regards to the buisness will or not Mick stays at Ballyheane will leave that to Ballyheane Do you catch my drift!!!

I was wrong again!

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.
    Well Manulla hang your heads in shame. You decided to throw the game yesterday, whats more ye spent the last week telling people ye were going to do it. Will anything be done about it, doubt it. Will any mayo league offical condone it, doubt it. Cant wait to play ye next season. Have to say felt so sorry for S & F they played their hearts out and did not deserve to be relegated. Special mention for yesterdays ref. This is not a classroom you cant tell players to shut up just because you feel like it, I have to say I have never seen a more ignorant official. You know talking to players works sometimes as well!. And you know the players might even know what some of your bizarre dicisions are about then.

yes i agree, manulla handing the game to snugb- doesnt say alot about the manulla set up, no team no matter what league or type of game should roll over. didnt want to s&f goin down as they have some good players, hopefully they wont lose many more players so they can bounce back.

Some of the Westport United supporters on hearing the Manulla result fell big time into the trap of complacency. They are actually over-fancying our chances on hearsay.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Had a quirky dream over the weekend my friends. It was of Tom Kelly of the MAFL in his Sunday best being a Eucharistic Minister giving Holy Communion at Mass!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Sad Day for Football

I have intentionally left it a day to voice my views on a sad day for Mayo Football so as not to leave myself open to charges of over reaction.
    But now I can say that the actions of Manulla FC was full of contempt for all the other clubs in the Super league.
    The barest minimum anyone expects from a club is to try and win the game they are playing, This is sacrosant in every sport and to see it violated in this manner is sick to the core.
    Anyone old enough to remember accusations of this skullduggery happening before when they played Ballyglass about Ten Years ago ??? The precedent was set then so.
    The saddest aspect of this event is the Ostrich like reaction of Leading Mayo
    Football figures - What we didn't see didn't happen right !!!
    Also I was surprised by the reaction of the most able one of them on Sunday when he feigned utter astonishment at the claim.
    As the old Idiom goes 'Evil triumphs when good men do nothing'

According to todays Star newspaper Westport's Brendan O'Connor is a contender for the Irish Juniors National managers job

I was just wondering if there are any more Celtic lads out there because I heard there were a few retirements after the games on Sunday?

46 Posts
    I haven't really posted on here in a while. Certainly not since the Play-Off v Ballyheane B. Fair play to them and I wish them all the best for next season. Just having trawled through some of that I obviously haven't missed that much. I'm surprised even some of the opinion's put forward were actually allowed. It goes against everything that is foot.ie. Although I see mamoore was however put in his place. I wonder have the number of members dropped dramatcally on this forum. I imagine they have.

On the Manulla situation it doesn't really surprise me.This is the same club that dropped us into the relegation play-off with their massive last 15 mins capitulation to Mulranny Utd to lose 6-2.It was 2-2 with a quarter to go.The game meant nothing to them, they were up as champions so why not give the game to Mulranny to move them above us.Its just a thought but funny they should do the same to our near neighbours Straide and Foxford Utd.

Will anything become of them, not at all.Just what is it with the game in this country. Durkan will do his bit and dampen it down. I hope Gannon picked up this and has the balls to expose the game for what it is here. Its rotten to the core.The FAI are a farce, a multi series comedy show, the Eircom League follow suit and then we have the MAFL. This isn't the only example but its small wonder the game is dying on its feet and were it not for the efforts of clubs at all levels we would be waking the game now.

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    I was just wondering if there are any more Celtic lads out there because I heard there were a few retirements after the games on Sunday?
    why who is goin now? dont worry im sure they'll fill the gaps that players leave from lads of other clubs in mayo, or further a field.

Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)
    Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)
    Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)
    Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)
    Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)
    Declan Flynn (Snugboro)
    Peter Burke (Ballyheane)
    Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)
    Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)
    Tommy Walsh (Manulla)
    Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)
    James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)
    Mark McGreal (Manulla)
    Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)
    David Roughneen (Snugboro)
    Johan Collins (Snugboro)
    Philip Devers (Ballina Town)
    Malachy Byrne (Manulla)
    Gordon Carter (Swinford)
    Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)
    Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)
    Tom Molloy (Mulranny)
    Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)
    Derek Glynn (Claremorris)
    Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
    Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
    Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)
    Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)
    Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)

I think that Mick Wallace has taken his first steps into managing the Oscar Traynor team by picking his inaugural squad and in doing so lost credibility already. I understand Swift's point about the need to explore the possibilities in the lower leagues, but when you consider the fact that this squad has only one more Castlebar Celtic player than it does Mulranny players, you realise it's neither coincidental nor sensible. There are only three players from the Premier Divison on the squad, so why he chooses two players from Mulranny, who finished fourth from bottom of the First Division, as the only representatives from that league, is a bit of an anomaly.

Until you remember that he played in goal for them a few seasons ago.

Charlie O Donnell is a skillful midfielder with a great touch but has been winding down this past few seasons. He left Glenhest to take his football nice and handy for Mulranny and it would really surprise me if he has any notion of playing football at such a competitive level again. Tom Molloy is an average striker in the first division and failed to get into the top FIFTEEN scorers when they played in the premier division last season.
    Wallace's last club, Westport United, have five representatives in the squad, which is easier to justify. However, Seamus Higgins has played most of this season as a B team player and seems unlikely to break into their first team, let alone the county team. Last week against Castlebar Celtic he only made the bench, despite them being without Lovejoy (Who is a huge loss to the Oscar Traynor team) and Joe Lawless in defence. (Joe was playing in midfield). Instead the manager choose to play himself, wisely as it turned out as he scored twice. I dont think he's a bad player, just that there are other centre-halves of a higher calibre currently playing in the league. Erris United must be wondering how they managed to come second in the super league without a single player that's up to Mulranny standard.
    Glad to see Derek Glynn getting a chance from the start of the season this year, hopefully his pace and finishing will see him making the most of his call up.

Every club member is biased to their own club to a certain extent and I have no problem in saying that I find it amazing that a couple of our lads were not given the opportunity from the first squad. We had a poor season but Darren Creaby, who played for the under 21's this year, and in particular Joe Keane, who has been outstanding throughout, deserve a chance. It's not as if Mick is not aware of them, he's picked the ball out of his net on account of them enough of times.

So who deserves a chance in your opinion? Who has been overlooked? Does anyone defend Wallace's choice throughout? I am not trying to hang him before the first ball is kicked, but I think some of his choices were dubious enough.
    Last edited by FahyForever; 16/11/2006 at 9:12 AM.

FahyRovers, it again highlights the under hand crap that is flowing through Mayo League football at the moment, its almost a bit like Bertie giving "jobs for the boys".
    The Mulranny boys IF they are good enough deserve their chance, every probably feels that their club deserves a player in the squad, how he managed to jump down 3 divisions for players he used to play with smells alright but give them their chance.
    Yes maybe the Celtic lads who won the Super League deserve more on the team but then again maybe they don't.

Time will tell, Wallace will look the fool if it all back fires

Page 26 of 35 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast