Page 23 of 35 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    To be fair to Ballyheane they have always been the BTeam with players from there own ranks and at no time during this year or yesteryear relied on A team players.
    It has always been there tower of strenght to play from with in.
    Next Sunday will prove how far Ballyheane have come or show how far Ballyvary B.B. have declined. I think its more the later rather than Ballyheane improved. How ever these two sides have old history and old memorys should come flooding back.
    Last time these two sides met was in a playoff which Ballyvary won on peno's
    in Manulla.
    this time I think Ballyheane will edge it out. there strenght lies in there defence,with a lot old heads. young guns up top.
    Ballyvary on there part have had a poor season and this could have a part to play in lack of confidance.

Massive massive weekend for us it has to be said and we are due a performance to make up for everything this season.From Super League to a relegation/promotion play off.Hoping we dont have to face relegation to be honest but maybe we need it to rebuild again. Its going to be a tough battle and my fear is we could collapse but we'll have to see. Ballyheane B will be a tough side.I haven't seen them but I've heard a bit so we're not expecting an easy ride on sunday. I suppose I'll have more to say on the matter come Monday but e're under no illusions of the task at hand.

Big super league bottom 4 weekend

so its come to the last 2 weekends to see who goes down, S&F play ballyheane twice, snug b play ballyglass and manulla.

who will wait up?

think S&F and ballyheane will both stay up. both clubs seem to be goin through a rough patch so it will be interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by mgam1 View Post
    congrats on beating the town and good look against the bombers. I must say i was shocked that ye beat a Town team with a lot of quality in it. But from a reliable source i heard that there is unrest in the camp,seemingly training sessions consist of two laps of the pitch and then a game and this as upset the most senior players and i believe they are crying out for a new manager.One of your lads told me that the keeper moore wasn't even there and played gaelic instead.I've played against this fella twice this season and he was one of their leaders on the pitch and must have been missed.Not taken away from ballyheane -because they missed players aswell that were out due too suspension. But even in div 2 there sould be better quality coaches out there,because Castlebar Town are one of many clubs that are disatisfied with the coaching/management setup. If Town get a new Manager,and keep the squad they have and maybe add a new midfielder and striker to their ranks -well then they will be a very hard team to beat in 2007.
    I hear that Town were very unlucky alright but I also heard from one of the town players that the keeper was dropped and went off in a huff because of this but like you say if the managment is playing up he may just have walked.
    He may try and get back to Castlebar Celtic again but they probably would not have him back now.

They may find it hard to hold onto May and Maughan since they missed out on promotion. Both are been sought by other local clubs from what I hear on the grape vine.

I must say for someone who is not involved with Town you have a lot of interest in them with this and your previous posts.

How did ye go this season in the league?

Cool your right irish hop

I played my last season with glenisland,i won't even talk about our season!!,have a few mates on town team and if they get a right manager - i hope to sign with them. Your right about moore,i heard that himself and the manager had a head to head about a knee injury he is carrying all season and that he was told to come back next season when it recovers because it will cripple him if he kept playing on with it.so who do you fancy to win the bbb's and heane game?
    i'll go for a heane win on penalty shootout!!!!!!!!

Hullabuloo.

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    Christ I'm shocked having read the above and the naming of the three Castlebar Celtic supporters who have been banned.I have a feeling the Mayo League will end up with egg on its faces because surely they have over steeped their authority. It is up to Castlebar Celtic to take action against supporters and that is their duty, not the League's.The League can however discipline and punish the club for the behaviour of their supporters. I think the Mayo League may have gone to far in relation to this.
    Sorry for coming back to this issue, but I have not been on the forum in a while and wanted to give my opinion on the whole thing.

I think that the Mayo League have set the standard in relation to setting a precedent for this type of thing. If fans of Premiership teams, for example, act the donkey, it's the clubs who pay the price; normally literally, as some fine is imposed. Sometimes the fans involved are actively hunted down and banned by the club afer video evidence, more often than not the whole thing goes by without the fans being punished. This leads to the culture of laissez-faire politics by club representatives, so disgracefully personified by the Wisclaw Krakow manager last week before the european clash with Blackburn when he said " We cant stop it if black players are being racially abused". If the clubs allow this sort of thing to carry on, they are complicit in the wrongdoing.

Now I know that the abuse at the Celtic - Westport match was neither of this nature nor extent, but the fundamental point is the same; allowing the club to deal with it internally does not guarantee any retribution whatsoever. Fair play to the Mayo League for "naming and shaming", so to speak. That kind of vitriol is not welcome at any match and should be stamped out at source.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Sorry for coming back to this issue, but I have not been on the forum in a while and wanted to give my opinion on the whole thing.

I think that the Mayo League have set the standard in relation to setting a precedent for this type of thing. If fans of Premiership teams, for example, act the donkey, it's the clubs who pay the price; normally literally, as some fine is imposed. Sometimes the fans involved are actively hunted down and banned by the club afer video evidence, more often than not the whole thing goes by without the fans being punished. This leads to the culture of laissez-faire politics by club representatives, so disgracefully personified by the Wisclaw Krakow manager last week before the european clash with Blackburn when he said " We cant stop it if black players are being racially abused". If the clubs allow this sort of thing to carry on, they are complicit in the wrongdoing.

Now I know that the abuse at the Celtic - Westport match was neither of this nature nor extent, but the fundamental point is the same; allowing the club to deal with it internally does not guarantee any retribution whatsoever. Fair play to the Mayo League for "naming and shaming", so to speak. That kind of vitriol is not welcome at any match and should be stamped out at source.
    While I welcome your comments and agree with alot of what you have said.
    The league on the other hand have over step the mark, while they have named and shamed those who have abused match officals. but the only anvenue open to them and that is to deal with the club. wheather that is to stop them playing at home untill they Celtic have informed the league in writing that they have ban the Castlebar three for the periods set down by the League Or what they consider is the case they are charged with viva oral hearing.
    It is my believe that Castlebar Celtic has appealed to connaught on the grounds that Mayo League can not ban supporters from grounds only deal with club.
    The club on the other hand feel the punishment handed down was harsh. inregard of the Ryans when the offences committed by all three was the same.
    Finally the fine and to -play there first to home matches away from home was harsh.
    which I BELIEVE will or has been appealed.
    they were to go in House appeal but its clear to all they felt they would not get a fair hearing.

Cool

Ballyvarry B team gone! Ballyheane B promoted. Ballinrobe possibly relegated.
    Anyone at the Bheane BBB match? Was it a good game? Whats the story at Ballinrobe? They did train a lot all year and they have some decent talent. What's the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Anyone at the Bheane BBB match? Was it a good game? Whats the story at Ballinrobe? They did train a lot all year and they have some decent talent. What's the problem?

How did Bally H get on today? Young N Donnelly turn the clock back?? !!
    Ballinrobe deserve to be down a few levels until they learn how to actually play soccer, Mr Dee won't be too happy if they get relegated.

Mick Wallace appointed Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup manager. Takes charge with immediate effect and will select squad for forthcoming Oscar Traynor Cup tie away to Roscommon on October 19th.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    What can I say about yesterday.Heartbreaking stuff and a horrible end to our season.We were probably the better team and had the clearer chances and 3 of those chances were bankers.We conceded a goal in the last minute after losing pocession in the middle of the park. Fair play to Ballyheane, they stuck at it to the end. The only way now is up and it starts next season. As the ref said we were too good to go down.We should never have found ourselves in this position but over the course of the season we probably didn't deserve to find ourselves in this position. With Lacken pulling out in the last few weeks it threw us into the relegation dogfight.

Heads up after the game.It is disappointing but things haven't been great the last while and its time for a major rebuilding at the club.It might benefit us to have one team next season as we've been struggling along the last while.We could have done so much better.

Brendan

Mayo soccer team

so now there is a manager, who should be included in the squad?

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    so now there is a manager, who should be included in the squad?
    From what i hear, Castlebar Celtic not allowing none of they players forward to the team so thats a bad start to be honest although is that a good thing?

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    From what i hear, Castlebar Celtic not allowing none of they players forward to the team so thats a bad start to be honest although is that a good thing?
    Any reason why there not letting there players go for it? hopefully the team will not be just westport and celtic players(if they go).

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    How did Bally H get on today? Young N Donnelly turn the clock back?? !!
    Ballinrobe deserve to be down a few levels until they learn how to actually play soccer, Mr Dee won't be too happy if they get relegated.
    how do you mean ballinrobe deserve to go down a few levels???they've lacked consistency this season alright,this is mainly due to injuries suffered and a constant change in the team sheet week in week out!they're far better than division 1, a couple of very talented players at the club,just a matter of if they can keep them!!!

talking out of your hole ron, robe deserve to go down,

Mayo Oscar Traynor Team

The one thing you can be sure of is that it will be Celtic and Westport dominated (if Celtic allow their players) with a few other super league players thrown in. The biggest problem Mayo football has is that anyone in power over county teams cannot see past the super league. They don't seem to understand that Mayo football is parochial and that the best players are not nessecerily (spelling apology) in the biggest clubs. I have seen outstanding individuals throughout the leagues from division 2 up and if they were given a chance to shine they would. The most obvious example is the under 21 debacle. If the county team cannot field a full squad because players are not available why didn't they cast the net wider. I know of at least 8 under 21's who would not disgrace the Mayo team but unfortunatly they play for unfashionable teams. I was at the division 2 and 1 cup finals and didn't see any Mayo team managers at either. If they won't attend even these occasions then how can we expect them to see players in the lower leagues.
    On another sadder note it is unfortunate to see the position Ballinrobe find themselves in. I always thought they made a mistake appointing their manager. He talks a good talk but............
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ron Bergundy View Post
    how do you mean ballinrobe deserve to go down a few levels???they've lacked consistency this season alright,this is mainly due to injuries suffered and a constant change in the team sheet week in week out!they're far better than division 1, a couple of very talented players at the club,just a matter of if they can keep them!!!
    Ron, they don;'t play football and don't deserve to be in a divison with teams who do. Hooking a ball over the top and fighting for it with the hope it breaks your way cannot be deemed to be football.
    Yes I agree they do a couple of good players who would be doing themselves no harm in moving club to fufil their potential.
    Robe will get stuck in Div 1 and their "burst" mentality to football might not get them out of it for a good while.

As regards the U21 set up what is the procedure as regards how the teams are picked. Are clubs asked to put players forward? We weren't. We have two players who might have played.They would need some coaching but surely thats what the league should be doing. Maybe they are at a earlier age?
    As regards Ballinrobe I hope they stay up. It is a good club with good people running it. It has had success at underage level and has produced some very good players - O'Malley, Kelly, Murphy (x2), Burke, Maloney, etc.. As with a lot of clubs (definitely ours!!) it appears that a lack of qualified coaching at underage level is showing in the brand of football they play. No point in trying to coach players in their 20s they need to have been caught at an earlier age.

Lightbulb Boro Safe

Congrats to the Boro I must admit that I thought that ye were gonners but well done ye stuck at it.
    So it is down to S&F or the Heane, How the Heane are here after drawing twice with Celtic, Beating and drawing with the Port is beyond me. But make no doubt about it the table does not lie. They have a few players that are absolutely dreadfull, wouldn't control a ball in a month of Sundays with attitudes to boot. They need to avoid defeat at home to S&F to stay up and while drawing is their penchant they might find a rejunenated S&F too much too carry. What a Match to look forward too with all Celtic/Manulla/Port/MAFL hoping to see the back of the Heane !!!!!

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    Congrats to the Boro I must admit that I thought that ye were gonners but well done ye stuck at it.
    So it is down to S&F or the Heane, How the Heane are here after drawing twice with Celtic, Beating and drawing with the Port is beyond me. But make no doubt about it the table does not lie. They have a few players that are absolutely dreadfull, wouldn't control a ball in a month of Sundays with attitudes to boot. They need to avoid defeat at home to S&F to stay up and while drawing is their penchant they might find a rejunenated S&F too much too carry. What a Match to look forward too with all Celtic/Manulla/Port/MAFL hoping to see the back of the Heane !!!!!
    What are you on about Boro are far from safe and actually can see Ballyglass beating them on sunday week to sent them down!!!!

Page 23 of 35 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast