Page 20 of 35 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    Thats what i mean, one rule for some and no rules for celtic, im sure there was plenty of the mayo board at the game on sunday and they would have seen and heard some of the things that went on. so they should be able to do something about it. with regards to players been spat at this is not on, have westport put in a complaint about this? i think its time for the Mayo League Board to wake up.
    I am sure that if you ask Celtic they will be the first people to criticize the Mayo League.....some people can only see matters when if affects their own club....was Celtic Park not closed a number of years back also? The bad element needs to be eradicated, but people can only act on referees reports. Let us all hope that the incidents that have been referred to in other posts are reported, and then we can all make a judgement on the outcome.

Wrong Facts

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    Yes, there are clots in Celtic who should know better, or maybe just clots.!!
    but the Port have some pretty ignorant one's too. Of the two grounds visited I was more embarrassed by the abuse in Covie land.
    The MFA are afraid of Celtic - Fact. Example Fintan MVhale S/O in Heane = no disciplinary action. Explanation ????
    I think you have got your facts wrong in this case Mossy (normally you are pretty accurate). In this case there was an error in identifying the person, and that was accepted by the referee. I am sure the Mayo League can only act on whatever is reported...not hearsay...
    I also think that there are many clots in many clubs, and it is time that the individual clubs take responsibility, and act accordingly.

Quote Originally Posted by Proud cove View Post
    Westport United do not have to play all remaining games away from the Sports Park, just the one against S&F. That decision arose from the report by the referee in the AIB Cup final against Ballina Town who felt he was verbally abused by some supporters. United vigorously contested his report and some members appeared in person at the Disciplinary hearing to make their case but the Mayo FA still fined them and made them play one game away from home. Last week, the abuse towards Westport United players (one was spat at) by Celtic 'supporters' and towards the referee was appalling and we are all anxious waiting to see what happens to them or will nothing happen because it didn't take place at their own ground. What amazes most people is if Westport United have been made play a game away from home how Celtic have avoided such a fate. Just a thought.
    As regards the cup semi final in Westport, the referee was clearly abused by a lot of Westport Utd supporters and others. I saw, and heard that abuse. What happened to the Westport Utd players and supporters last Sunday was also disgraceful, and I would not blame them for wanting to see Castlebar Celtic penalised for their actions, but as others have suggested on this site, the facts and details must be in the referees report, or for some of the Mayo League officials to act on anything they saw or heard. Natural justice must be allowed to happen, and any disciplinary action must be based on official accounts of any incidents. I do not think it matters where they match might have been played. It is all down to the referees report.

It is not the first time that Castlebar Celtic hit the spotlight for the wrong reasons with their behaviour. Go back to January 16th 2005 after the FAI Junior Cup tie against Ballynanty Rovers and the alleged spitting incident by a Celtic player on a Ballynanty supporter. Ballynanty people had a low opinion of Castlebar that day and a Ballynanty supporter wrote into the Western People about the alleged incident. However, there has been no serious crowd violence as such but there are times at Westport United V Castlebar Celtic games that you can see a bit of incitement going on.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Facts Wrong ?

Quote Originally Posted by Fair Play View Post
    I think you have got your facts wrong in this case Mossy (normally you are pretty accurate). In this case there was an error in identifying the person, and that was accepted by the referee. I am sure the Mayo League can only act on whatever is reported...not hearsay...
    I also think that there are many clots in many clubs, and it is time that the individual clubs take responsibility, and act accordingly.
    Firstly thanks for the back handed compliment!
    My point is when the Muinteoir heard abuse from Celtic Dug- out, he informed Liam McAntee who acted on it and showed red to Fintan McHale.
    Subsequently we are told that the ref had a difficulty with identity.
    My problem with this is :
    If this happened to Ballyheane (As it used to every week some years back when certain powerfull people were conducting a witch hunt) then the player would be suspended, guilty or otherwise. I.e. Identification counts if it is Celtic. Could you imagine Inver getting away with this ?.......
    Now don't get me wrong here because there is no way that the Muinteior or any other less fallible human being could identify who said what 20 Yards away from him with his back turned.
    If this was possible then it is an awfull pity that he was not in the Dallas Book depository in 1963 !!!!!!!!!!

Firstly thanks for the back handed compliment!
    My point is when the Muinteoir heard abuse from Celtic Dug- out, he informed Liam McAntee who acted on it and showed red to Fintan McHale.
    Subsequently we are told that the ref had a difficulty with identity.
    My problem with this is :
    If this happened to Ballyheane (As it used to every week some years back when certain powerfull people were conducting a witch hunt) then the player would be suspended, guilty or otherwise. I.e. Identification counts if it is Celtic. Could you imagine Inver getting away with this ?.......
    Now don't get me wrong here because there is no way that the Muinteior or any other less fallible human being could identify who said what 20 Yards away from him with his back turned.
    If this was possible then it is an awfull pity that he was not in the Dallas Book depository in 1963 !!!!!!!!!!
    Are you suggesting that an innocent party should be disciplined just to satisfy the needs or wants of Ballyheane. I think you need to get off the fence on this matter Mossy. Maybe you were there, and know more than the rest of us, but your implied suggestion is ridiculous.

Quote Originally Posted by Spot Kick View Post
    Are you suggesting that an innocent party should be disciplined just to satisfy the needs or wants of Ballyheane. I think you need to get off the fence on this matter Mossy. Maybe you were there, and know more than the rest of us, but your implied suggestion is ridiculous.
    It is not the needs or want of Ballyheane to see any party disciplined. I think mossey was making the point of how easy it was for a certain team to get their '' innocent party''s red card overturned. By the way did the real culprit own up?.

Quote Originally Posted by Spot Kick View Post
    You completely miss the point. In fact you are so fair wide of the mark it is questionable whether it should be answered at all. Ballyheane have nothing absolutely, nothing to do with my point. The point I was ............
    Cant go on too infantile to explain..

You completely miss the point. In fact you are so fair wide of the mark it is questionable whether it should be answered at all. Ballyheane have nothing absolutely, nothing to do with my point. The point I was ............
    Cant go on too infantile to explain..
    I have to gree with Spot Kick on this one. The impression you gave on your post was that action should have been taken by the Mayo league on F McH. You said in your post that the MFA were afraid of Celtic e.g F McH sent off in the Heane - no disciplinary action. Was it ever reported? How can action be taken if it was not reported, or did the referee in question tell you that it was reported, and then no action? If it was not reported, why would anyone take action against an innocent person? I think you need to leave this one Mossy.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    It is not the needs or want of Ballyheane to see any party disciplined. I think mossey was making the point of how easy it was for a certain team to get their '' innocent party''s red card overturned. By the way did the real culprit own up?.
    Try telling that to Celtic, and they will laugh at you. I am sure that they also think that the referees have a down on them. I do not know if there was a culprit or not, and I do not know if he turned up. Mossy might be able to tell you, as it looks like he was at the game. I think we all need to move away from this subject, and concentrate on the remainder of the league. Hopefully the last league games of the season will have no trouble.

I have read heard alot over the last number of days regard to issue's refering Celtic / Westport game.
    First of all congrats to Westport on winning The A.I.B. Cup even thou it must leave a bad tasted in the mouth.

We all no the bad blood this local darby can bring out in the pairring of these two.

First of all you need a strong man in the middle who is able to make decissions without interferance from others apart from his lines man.
    If surporters from either side mis behave then deal with the issues,if its plain for others to see bad behavour then whats our lines man doing they are near to surporters to whats going on.

The Mayo League have there part to play to, they are as guilty as those who committ the offence for not having there grounds marshal to prevent this bad blood from taking place. One must remember after all its there ground.
    Just to correct a matter,The Mayo League by the maner they have been appionted by have a duty to report such incidence that the see taking place at any grounds, and make sure that those who behave badly are dealt with,regardless wealther it appears on match cards.Mind you it wasn't to long ago when a certain Chairman at a match made sure he visted a refferees room to have chat after an incidant had taken place during the match. that club was dealt with.
    All I can add is all isuess need to be dealt with my yours truly and not cop outs
    Last edited by renovater; 05/10/2006 at 8:44 PM.

Angry Chairs interference !!!!

Mind you it wasn't to long ago when a certain Chairman at a match made sure he visted a refferees room to have chat after an incidant had taken place during the match. that club was dealt with.
    All I can add is all isuess need to be dealt with my yours truly and not cop outs[/QUOTE]
    Would this happen to be Celtic ? I dare say no but some Club the league can pick on.
    The sad Thing about this is that if you try to explain it to certain okish people in the MAFL they come over all surprised and indignant and do not, or perhaps care not to see the double standards employed.

51 Posts
    Congrats to Swinford Under 14 and the managers on wining the Mayo under 14 cup final on Saturday beating Celtic 2-0. well done lads

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Congrats to Swinford Under 14 and the managers on wining the Mayo under 14 cup final on Saturday beating Celtic 2-0. well done lads

Well done lads. Brilliant stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    First of all theirs a big difference between general banter between supporters opposition and refs.As opposed to the personal abuse which certain teams and players are subjected to when playing Celtic. I have been to every ground in the league at one stage or another and Celtic are by far the biggest offenders.While Westport are vocal I have never witnessed them trying to intimidate opposition players or officials.
    I have never seen officials being intimidated but in fairness lets look at this a little closer. Celtic are from Castlebar and some of the League Big-Wigs are also. Many of the Match Officials are well known in the town also - has the sniff of a bit of a cartel type thingy in that they all know who/when/what/why to get what they want.

On another point - about abuse - have any of ye been to a Mayo County Championship GAA fixture between two close rival parishes - we look like flower plucking pansies compared to the sort of stuff that goes on at those games. I'm not saying Soccer has to be as 'highly strung' as the GAA but it's the same type of people playing (and supporting) so it's possible for it to happen. Face it boys, we're never gonna solve a problem like that with discussion - only hurleys can fix that sort of issue

Changing subjects for a moment the Connacht Cup was on this weekend.

According to my records the results of the 24 matches involving Mayo teams went as follows:

Lost 17 68% 10 home losses 7 away losses
    Won 8 32% 7 home wins 1 away
    (one tie was all Mayo)

Pretty poor return I would say. Is this reflective of the standard of soccer in Mayo.

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post

According to my records the results of the 24 matches involving Mayo teams went as follows:

(one tie was all Mayo)

Pretty poor return I would say. Is this reflective of the standard of soccer in Mayo.
    It may not be a reflection on the standards, but I believe it is reflection on the interest by a number of clubs at this stage of the season. Most clubs, unless they had some degree of success during the Mayo season, have found it difficult to maintain player interest and have not put in the same effort for these competitions. Your statistics tell the tale.
    Last edited by Bestie; 09/10/2006 at 9:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post

(one tie was all Mayo)

You are the master statistician!! Definitely a poor return. Need to compare like with like on the overall standard.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Deadline for signing for Statoil FAI Cup

Can anyone tell me the deadline for transfer from 1 club to another to be eligible for Statoil Cup. ??

Quote Originally Posted by Ballina Town View Post
    Can anyone tell me the deadline for transfer from 1 club to another to be eligible for Statoil Cup. ??

I think it takes 2 weeks for it to go through!But if you phone the mayo league sec he should tell you for sure!Im sure some of the other lads will have his number

Page 20 of 35 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast