Page 19 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Which brings to an assignment. Get the sports pullout on all the local newspapers and give a statistical breakdown on coverage in the section over how many pages there are in the supplement. I would say that the average coverage towards football can improve and stuff does get sent to newspapers but not always get printed from my experience.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

46 Posts

Ballyvary Blue Bombers 'B' v Swinford 'B'

And so another season comes to an end and I just want to say well done to Swinford on claiming all 3 points. Having lost their manager recently Munno stepped up to the task and Swinford have picked up points of late. Anyhow they came to Keelogues on a lovely day for football and took all three points in what turned out to be a really disappointing season for us this year.A season that promised so much and started so brightly.

Great to see the Swinford lads again.Many of whom I know very well and it was nice to play them again. I dont begrudge them the result and the game meant nothing more than pride.A win and we might have finished third.

Well done to Swinford and to Declan for taking charge of affairs. I'll look forward to renewing rivalries again next season.Its been a difficult season because despite my best efforts I haven't really got fit and my ankle has troubled me all season.

As for us well we'll regroup again for next season and mount a challenge again next year.

Brendan Grufferty

For Ballyvary Blue Bombers

46 Posts

Manulla B v Mulranny Utd

Our worst fears were realised in Division One on Sunday as Mullranny Utd caused an upset and turned over Division One winners Manulla B. The result saw Mullranny Utd leapfrog us and consign the Bombers to a play off to determine which division they will play in next season. The game was level at 2-2 and keenly contested but 4 goals in the last 15 minutes saw Manulla B mauled and Mulranny confirm their Division One status for another season.

I thought we would face the winners of Castlebar Town/Ballyheane B but I'm since told we will meet the winners of Castlebar Town/Ballinrobe Town B.

A tough challenge facing us in the coming weeks.

Brendan

Brendan what are u on? Robe B finished mid table. Why would they be in the play offs?

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Brendan what are u on? Robe B finished mid table. Why would they be in the play offs?
    I'm on nothing.If you read my post I didn't think it was Ballinrobe 'B' either and in fact I was pretty sure of it. I assume I was correct in saying it is Castlebar Town/Ballyheane 'B' for the right to meet Ballyvary Blue Bombers to decide who plays Division 1 football next season.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    And so another season comes to an end and I just want to say well done to Swinford on claiming all 3 points. Having lost their manager recently Munno stepped up to the task and Swinford have picked up points of late. Anyhow they came to Keelogues on a lovely day for football and took all three points in what turned out to be a really disappointing season for us this year.A season that promised so much and started so brightly.

Great to see the Swinford lads again.Many of whom I know very well and it was nice to play them again. I dont begrudge them the result and the game meant nothing more than pride.A win and we might have finished third.

Well done to Swinford and to Declan for taking charge of affairs. I'll look forward to renewing rivalries again next season.Its been a difficult season because despite my best efforts I haven't really got fit and my ankle has troubled me all season.

As for us well we'll regroup again for next season and mount a challenge again next year.

Brendan Grufferty

For Ballyvary Blue Bombers
    I thought our midfield play very well and that the ballyvary left side was weak and we got at ye down that side, it was an enjoyable game on a lovely day good luck in play off.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 02/10/2006 at 3:50 PM.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    I thought our midfield play very well and that the ballyvary left side was weak and we got at ye down that side, it was an enjoyable game on a lovely day good luck in play off.

Ya didn't get at me on the left side.Nothing created from the left side at all. I got caught for pace a few times but then I had a bad slip early on and over stretched my hamstring.

Ya you did alrite as ever and had I been asked to play central midfield I might just have went home before the game. Yourself and Henry clashed a few times.

It was an enjoyable game and a relatively clean game. Look forward to meeting up again next season.

Mayo Cup Final

I would just like to say that well done to the coves on Sunday because they were the better team by far. Its been a long time since the 'old firm' played each other in Milebush and Westport showed the Celts up for what they are and that is just a team of lumpers. Now I know the game was overshadowed by Gerry Burkes injury but I feel I have to comment on the sideline.
    What went on was just sickening and outrageous. The 'support' that Celtic bring with them are a disgrace to themselves and to their families. Everyone knows who they are and its the same few all the time. On the pitch you have Dykes balling out the players and on the line you have Fergie and Ryan senior and usually junior abusing everyone and anyone. At the game on Sunday there was a lot of young kids and this what they were hearing I feel really sorry for them. No wonder there was a small crowd at the game as I mean who wants to hear this abuse. Fair play to 'the Rock' for taking a stand against Dykes and sending him off because he tends to intimidate refs and Martin was having none of it, but the abuse he took on the way out of the pitch was a disgrace and has no place in Mayo soccer, and this continued down town that night. Its no wonder we have a ref shortage in Mayo when we have these hooligans(and I really mean that) on the line giving what for. I even heard that the refs are even thinking about boycotting Celtic A games and who could blame them. No one needs that sort of hassle. The Celtic chairman is resigning at the end of the year because of what went on and he realises that he has a business to run and as a figurehead for the club he doesnt want to be associated with these people. Mayo soccer will survive without these people and will be the better when they are gone.

This was a problem with Celtic even before Dykes arrival and I doubt you will see anything done about it, to be honest.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    This was a problem with Celtic even before Dykes arrival and I doubt you will see anything done about it, to be honest.
    I think your right Don.I dont see the problem going away.If anything with Castlebar Celtic's apparent ambition to enter Senior football the problem will only increase.I've seen this in Senior soccer and it only puts people off going to games. There tends to be a small minority who are the voice on everything at a club and no club can afford to lose support because it means a threat to the survival of the club.I've seen this happen at Finn Harps and its not like the club could actually afford to lose support. They seem to be in financial crisis. Nobody has the divine right to speak for a club and be the voice of the club. Dykes for one is well used to this environment. Should they be accepted to the Eircom League they'll fail before they have a chance to get up and running.

Just a thought.

Brendan

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    I would just like to say that well done to the coves on Sunday because they were the better team by far. Its been a long time since the 'old firm' played each other in Milebush and Westport showed the Celts up for what they are and that is just a team of lumpers. Now I know the game was overshadowed by Gerry Burkes injury but I feel I have to comment on the sideline.
    What went on was just sickening and outrageous. The 'support' that Celtic bring with them are a disgrace to themselves and to their families. Everyone knows who they are and its the same few all the time. On the pitch you have Dykes balling out the players and on the line you have Fergie and Ryan senior and usually junior abusing everyone and anyone. At the game on Sunday there was a lot of young kids and this what they were hearing I feel really sorry for them. No wonder there was a small crowd at the game as I mean who wants to hear this abuse. Fair play to 'the Rock' for taking a stand against Dykes and sending him off because he tends to intimidate refs and Martin was having none of it, but the abuse he took on the way out of the pitch was a disgrace and has no place in Mayo soccer, and this continued down town that night. Its no wonder we have a ref shortage in Mayo when we have these hooligans(and I really mean that) on the line giving what for. I even heard that the refs are even thinking about boycotting Celtic A games and who could blame them. No one needs that sort of hassle. The Celtic chairman is resigning at the end of the year because of what went on and he realises that he has a business to run and as a figurehead for the club he doesnt want to be associated with these people. Mayo soccer will survive without these people and will be the better when they are gone.
    Yes i think your right, refs should boycott Cetlic A games, to make a statement that they will not take the crap that is thrown at them every week and especially in big games. hasnt it happened to westport, they have to play all remaining games away from the sports park due to refs gettin abuse back there, so why doesnt this happen to celtic. but as normal its one rule for some and no rules for castlebar celtic....

To clarify a few things

Westport United do not have to play all remaining games away from the Sports Park, just the one against S&F. That decision arose from the report by the referee in the AIB Cup final against Ballina Town who felt he was verbally abused by some supporters. United vigorously contested his report and some members appeared in person at the Disciplinary hearing to make their case but the Mayo FA still fined them and made them play one game away from home. Last week, the abuse towards Westport United players (one was spat at) by Celtic 'supporters' and towards the referee was appalling and we are all anxious waiting to see what happens to them or will nothing happen because it didn't take place at their own ground. What amazes most people is if Westport United have been made play a game away from home how Celtic have avoided such a fate. Just a thought.

Obviously, that should have read semi-final not final

when United played Ballina Town

Quote Originally Posted by Proud cove View Post
    Westport United do not have to play all remaining games away from the Sports Park, just the one against S&F. That decision arose from the report by the referee in the AIB Cup final against Ballina Town who felt he was verbally abused by some supporters. United vigorously contested his report and some members appeared in person at the Disciplinary hearing to make their case but the Mayo FA still fined them and made them play one game away from home. Last week, the abuse towards Westport United players (one was spat at) by Celtic 'supporters' and towards the referee was appalling and we are all anxious waiting to see what happens to them or will nothing happen because it didn't take place at their own ground. What amazes most people is if Westport United have been made play a game away from home how Celtic have avoided such a fate. Just a thought.
    Thats what i mean, one rule for some and no rules for celtic, im sure there was plenty of the mayo board at the game on sunday and they would have seen and heard some of the things that went on. so they should be able to do something about it. with regards to players been spat at this is not on, have westport put in a complaint about this? i think its time for the Mayo League Board to wake up.

I'm not officially connected to the club

but I have heard that officials did bring what happened to the attention of the Mayo FA after the match on Sunday. We'll wait and see what happens.

Supporters

Yes, there are clots in Celtic who should know better, or maybe just clots.!!
    but the Port have some pretty ignorant one's too. Of the two grounds visited I was more embarrassed by the abuse in Covie land.
    The MFA are afraid of Celtic - Fact. Example Fintan MVhale S/O in Heane = no disciplinary action. Explanation ????

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    but the Port have some pretty ignorant one's too. Of the two grounds visited I was more embarrassed by the abuse in Covie land.
    The MFA are afraid of Celtic - Fact. Example Fintan MVhale S/O in Heane = no disciplinary action. Explanation ????
    Typical... that doesnt surprize me at all. yes i agree about the the covies supporters as well. ive played in both grounds and some of the crap you have to listen to is unreal. I think refs should make more of an issue out of abuse from fans during games and include it in a report after each game. and if the ref or players recieve abuse from fans something should be done.

Re abuse at Westport

I agree that some players and referees can be on the receiving end in Westport but I hope you're not suggesting that it's confined to just Celtic and United. I have been at most grounds in Mayo in the past year or so and I have heard referees called the most vile of names and nothing has been done. I'm not condoning it happening in Westport but when there are big crowds at games, which there usually is in Westport, ie, compared to most other grounds in Mayo, there is probably the chance that one or two sneak in that you'd prefer weren't there. But what can you do, I've yet to see a Ballyheane official not take the admission money of someone and I've heard a fair old bit of abuse being given out there over the years.

First of all theirs a big difference between general banter between supporters opposition and refs.As opposed to the personal abuse which certain teams and players are subjected to when playing Celtic. I have been to every ground in the league at one stage or another and Celtic are by far the biggest offenders.While Westport are vocal I have never witnessed them trying to intimidate opposition players or officials.

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    I agree with your comment that there are clots in both clubs. I would go as far as saying that there are clots in most clubs, and it is up to the club to get rid of the people that abuse officials. As regards the Fintan McHale sending off in Ballyheane..I presume the sending off was not reported as the referee had made an error, and rescinded his decision on the night in question. If the matter is not reported, it is very hard to take action.

Page 19 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast