Page 18 of 35 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

[QUOTE=swift;538785]I just think that its a shame that they did'nt put the Celtic-Westport game on under lights on maybe a Friday night instead of a Sunday]

Great idea. I would love to see a game. Virtually impossible at weekends with family commitments. Especially after a full season. I would love to see a game.

The futsal was very interesting. It was hosted by Derek O'Neill from the FAI, along with Paul Byrne and the Mayo U.13 Academy kids were used. Attendance was a little iffy; weather did not help. The demo was very good and it is beneficial for the kids. There are 30 million futsal players in 110 countries around the world and futsal is more popular than football in Brazil and Italy. We all got a free ball and we are getting DVDs and brochures next month. You can get five futsal balls for €85 from the FAI, including postage if you fill in the details to doneill@fai.ie. The FAI are looking to be in international competition for 2009 and are encouraging clubs and leagues to set up competitions and play them in community halls/gyms and to share facilities as not all clubs have such facillities.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    Isn't this then the main reason and the most important time to have publicity. There is interest surely from the sixteen men named on each team sheet of each team and the other club members (a substantial amount of people) to justify more than one page and surely to take over a page of two men rambling about english soccer with opinions we hear down the pub at any time (as i said earlier).
    Surely the argument that because there is no support shouldn't be a reason for the papers to give a load of coverage. By that logic table tennis should get two pages because they have only 10 fans in the county.
    I think in fairness all three papers usually give more than one page. Surely we have to expect a bit less the week of an All-Ireland
    Look I play in the lower divisions. Any coverage we get is usually sent in by our PRO and I don't think there's anything wrong with that. Does your PRO sent in stuff, maybe that's where you should be looking. Inver certainly have a good PRO as you can see with their reports most weeks. I don't think we can demand coverage. I know I certainly wouldn't like if I was a reporter at any of our games this year. Jesus I barely stuck playing in some of them!!
    Last edited by OscarBravo; 22/09/2006 at 11:57 AM.

Celtic v Westport

Many of ye heading to this one. Pity alright that its not under lights. Can't see past a Celtic win, I see on the Westport thread that some of the players are going to Oz. That won't help their winter cup football but can't blame the lads either, sure they've been playing non-stop for 3 years.
    Thunderblaster with the manager's contract up for review at the end of the Super League do you expect him to be kept on? In fairness he hasn't done bad but will Westport be able to suffer losing to Celtic for the league, which I think they will.
    It's no bad thing that they are losing O'Dwyer, Carty and Kelly. The first two were playing poorly and lucky to be getting on the team. Kelly was a tasty player but hard for him to wait with the others gone.
    Have to say Gary Price leaving is a surprise but Celtic are obviously trying to bulk up a strong U18 team for a crack at the FAI Youth Cup rather than bring him into the senior set-up

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo View Post
    Thunderblaster with the manager's contract up for review at the end of the Super League do you expect him to be kept on? In fairness he hasn't done bad but will Westport be able to suffer losing to Celtic for the league, which I think they will.
    Hard to say really, there are a number of people in Westport not happy with him and feels that he should go. Most feel that he should not play, some blame the players for lack of commitment. Sunday's result may determine what direction the committee will take on the future of Brendan O'Connor. Most of the squad born in 1983/84 have never gone a season without winning a trophy. If Celtic do win the league, there would be howls of derision from some of the heavies that love to see Celtic lose.
    The lads going to Australia? Cannot fault them as they (like most) need a serious break to recharge the batteries after playing constant football for four years. To counteract that, you need a successful underage structure with a high turnover of players good enough for Super League/Connacht Cup and FAI Junior Cup standard and Westport United are a bit off that yet but a structure is attempted to be put in place.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Any word on the Castlebar Celtic and Westport game?

Castlebar Celtic V Westport Utd

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    Any word on the Castlebar Celtic and Westport game?
    Celtic won 2 - 1. Celtic were the better side. There is a full report on http://mayo.fai.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Bestie View Post
    Celtic won 2 - 1. Celtic were the better side. There is a full report on http://mayo.fai.ie
    Have to agree with you there. Celtic could have won by more were it not for Hoban in goal. I cannot remember the Port having a clear strike on goal in the second half. I think they will badly need Dessie O'Malley back for the Cup Final on Sunday next. They had no striking force today against a solid back four.

Thanks lads! I wanted to go to this game but the head refused to get up off the pillow!

Cup Final

Thanks lads! I wanted to go to this game but the head refused to get up off the pillow!
    Just wondering is next Sunday's game timed right for you? Do you think you might be able to make it by 3.00pm. Celtic had a small crowd at the top game of the season yesterday, and could do with a few more supporters for the Cup Final. Westport had more followers than Celtic yesterday.

I have to come from sligo!But i hope to make the final!

You should have come with Dykes or is your name Barry O'Dywer.

No my friend.Thank god my name is not O Dywer.From what i here Barry wont be going to Castlebar after next week or Keith Carty or Chris Kelly.They are all going to Abbey Utd.To play football the way it should be played.Not gavin dykes long ball game.

46 Posts

Urlaur Utd

Congratulations and well done to Urlaur Utd on winning Division 2a of the Mayo League.They were presented with the league trophy after their dispatch of us on Sunday at Keelogues. I have great time for a few individuals at the club so I was happy enough in offering my congratulations after the game on Sunday. They'll join our A Team in Division One next season, if we're still there!!!

On the other hand, and I might be advised to post this in the Kids soccer section, though the Ballyvary Blue Bombers U-12 Girls might just protest at been considered as Kids. Under the stewardship of the legendary but often mythical Vincent Kenny the Ballyvary Blue Bombers U-12's won the Mayo Cup Final on Sunday with a win over Kilmurray (Crossmolina) with a little bit to spare. The final score from Milebush was 7-1 to the Bombers ladies.

Brendan Grufferty,

For Ballyvary Blue Bombers.

That,s football for you.player,s now have no loyalty!
    I think you will be happy to see your players turn out in there sligo colours once again Once the trio collect there medals after next sunday final,thats provided they win of course.
    mind you I think westport will be better suited to Milebush than Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Hard to say really, there are a number of people in Westport not happy with him and feels that he should go. Most feel that he should not play, some blame the players for lack of commitment. Sunday's result may determine what direction the committee will take on the future of Brendan O'Connor. Most of the squad born in 1983/84 have never gone a season without winning a trophy. If Celtic do win the league, there would be howls of derision from some of the heavies that love to see Celtic lose.
    The lads going to Australia? Cannot fault them as they (like most) need a serious break to recharge the batteries after playing constant football for four years. To counteract that, you need a successful underage structure with a high turnover of players good enough for Super League/Connacht Cup and FAI Junior Cup standard and Westport United are a bit off that yet but a structure is attempted to be put in place.
    I THINK Brendan would need more time to get it right,one must remember this Westport side is a good one. it need a rest played alot of football.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    I think you will be happy to see your players turn out in there sligo colours once again Once the trio collect there medals after next sunday final,thats provided they win of course.
    mind you I think westport will be better suited to Milebush than Celtic.
    I know Keith Carty since he was about 5 because i coached him until he was about 17 and a more honest lad you would not meet!And i think the only reason he is leaving Celtic is his family commitments!He told me last year that he was really enjoying his football with Celtic!But i think the loss in the con cup final hurt him.because he should have been in that side.Abbey utd pulled out all the stop,s to get him to sign back at the start of last season.But he decided to stick with Celtic over his home team!But im sure Abbey are over the moon to be getting him back!
    Last edited by red metal; 25/09/2006 at 11:42 PM.

With the Oscar Traynor starting next month, what's ye're take on the squad who should play or be on the squad, who was there last year that should'nt be there this year?

I know Keith Carty since he was about 5 because i coached him until he was about 17 and a more honest lad you would not meet!And i think the only reason he is leaving Celtic is his family commitments!He told me last year that he was really enjoying his football with Celtic!But i think the loss in the con cup final hurt him.because he should have been in that side.Abbey utd pulled out all the stop,s to get him to sign back at the start of last season.But he decided to stick with Celtic over his home team!But im sure Abbey are over the moon to be getting him back!
    I would like to think most players are honest, but like or not most players want to play in a side that wins. it the nature of the beast.
    But fair play to you and Abbey for sticking it out and winning back your player,
    there is a lesson there for every one invovled in football.
    what ever you may feel towards your fellow player, let him go and hope he may return. which is the case now all ends well.

Quote Originally Posted by OscarBravo View Post
    Surely the argument that because there is no support shouldn't be a reason for the papers to give a load of coverage. By that logic table tennis should get two pages because they have only 10 fans in the county.
    I think in fairness all three papers usually give more than one page. Surely we have to expect a bit less the week of an All-Ireland
    Look I play in the lower divisions. Any coverage we get is usually sent in by our PRO and I don't think there's anything wrong with that. Does your PRO sent in stuff, maybe that's where you should be looking. Inver certainly have a good PRO as you can see with their reports most weeks. I don't think we can demand coverage. I know I certainly wouldn't like if I was a reporter at any of our games this year. Jesus I barely stuck playing in some of them!!
    The argument was not that because there is no support that there should be coverage to drum up support it was that there is support but no coverage. I just made a point in response to another argument that publicity would help the development and bring about more support.
    This wasn't about the coverage on All Ireland week it was about the coverage (or lack of) all year round.
    You can't just have reports about top games but about all games whether good or bad and surely the coverage should be more than PRO's sending in their report and having it published word for word but more like having a build up to important league games (not just cup finals), features on clubs and players, reporters opinions on how the games will go that week as the GAA has ( league wide not just super league) and so on.
    Having said all that I have to commend the Connaught Telegarph this week for a big improvement on their reporting. More of the same and better please.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

Page 18 of 35 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast