Jaysus I don;t think agile would be a word that Castlebar B team would have used from what one of their players told me.
His brother is the centre half who was a striker for Castlebar B team for the last few years I think.
2 good new players and players might be less in awe of the opposition for the 2nd part of the season. Next Saturday v Urlaur will tell a lot.Originally Posted by swinfordfc
Jaysus I don;t think agile would be a word that Castlebar B team would have used from what one of their players told me.
His brother is the centre half who was a striker for Castlebar B team for the last few years I think.
He has not signed yet, few lose ends to tie up from what I hearOriginally Posted by swift
irishyop,i played against C/Bar Town for charlestown and we could have scored at least 10 goals,but only for their keeper,he is big,but is very agile. doesn't say much for celtic when they play a centre half as a striker - credit is due for castlebar town,they really stuck it up to us and its nice to see a castlebar team with just castlebar people.fair play the town.
No comment on Celtic - dont know enough about them but Town are a good local team. Their keeper is very good.
Its town who have turned him from a striker to a centre half. From the games I have ever seen the lad play he was always up front and I think that 3 or 4 years ago he was top scorer for the C or B team.
I was at your game against Partry there, who are the 2 lads who play up front for ye, one has bleached hair I think, where has Jordan gone to? He was due to make a come back for ye this year according to himself but I did not see him that day against Partry.
Did ye have a player called up for U17? Where was he playing that day?
Can ye hold out for Promotion?
Last edited by irishyop; 22/06/2006 at 12:03 PM.
I don't want to sound to hard on Cross Celtic even though they have just joined the Mayo League.
But The Mayo League has standards when it comes to pitches and to say the lease I was very disapointed to see how poor the condition of Cross football pitch was in.
It looked nothing like a pitch with thristles growing everywere grass looked like a medow. apart from a nice set of goals and cornor flags I would not have reconised it.
Now the league its seem to have lowered its standard to allowing a club to play in these conditions.
I would just hope over the comming days that you might get out there and cut the pitch and maintain the high standards that we have maintained over the years in promoting good pitches.
As I said dont want to be hard on ya, but for everyone sake just take a good look.
We were let down with original pitch. Farmer let us use the field at Knock. However GOOD NEWS.
Problem rectified. New pitch obtained at Glencorrib village community sportsground. First game commencing 2 July vrs Swinford. The old pitch actually worked against us. Try to get a pitch in a GAA dominated rural area. Not easy. Fair play to Mayo league and Glencorrib Community Pitch trustees.
Last edited by sinabhuil; 29/06/2006 at 10:53 AM.
Had ye to buy a pitch Sinabhuil? I can imagine how hard it is alright, the GAA have a local lotto there already do they? So I imagine it is hard to creep in on that!
Best of luck with it. I am sure it can only get easier!
What is happening in Mayo football? Has everyone lost interest? No one seems to be posting on these forums, the soccerbot tables are not being updated and they don't have nearly half as much data as they used to carry (top scorers and club stat breakdowns) and the teletext is notoriously slow to update.
Are the league committee just not bothered informing the public of the progress of the leagues. I know lads in Austalia and elsewhere who rely on Soccerbot (or used to) to keep them informed of our clubs results and standings. I know that results are e-mailed to members of the clubs but this doesn't help the rank and file or the fans.
This forum has become very muted with a distinct lack of debates (not insults or verbal attacks, there is a difference). At one time it was being paid attention to by the league and I am sure it made some rethink strategy but again that I am sure is not the case any more.
Come on everyone there is still a lot of football being played out there and a lot happening and if any of the league management committee are reading this update soccerbot and keep it updated.![]()
The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!
All the information you want on Mayo soccer is on the new Mayo site with loads of information on results fixtures. It is brilliant. You can get into it through mayo.fai.ie You dont put in www
I agree. mayo.fai.ie is very good but the forumites needs to come out of hibernation here. The main talking point is the departure of Steve Ryan form Castlebar Celtic to Athlone Town.
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!
New pitch - a win - Afterwards Phaze playing great rock music outdoor in the sun at the Riverside Inn - Good day to be a Cross Celtic man!
Castlebar Celtic (superleague) beats Urlaur (division 2) by a lone goal. Any reports on this match. When we played Urlaur they were superb. Great tactical awareness and good subs with a good manager (despite what some Urlaur players think he is a good manager).
Any reports on the match.
Has anyone got the draw for the Quarter Finals of the Aib Cup????
Teams left:
1.Castlebar Celtic
2.Erris Utd
3.Westport Utd
4.Glenhest/Ballina Town - not sure who won this game
5.Straide + Foxford
6.Claremorris
7.Castlebar Town
8.Bangor Hibs
Ballina won it 5-4 on pensOriginally Posted by gazza2
Challenge match needed for thurs, fri or sat eve for Cross Celtic. Might suit smaller clubs b team or reserve squad.
Ballyheane b are able to play sat evening. PM me and we can set it up.
I Take it thats the pitch that the gaa use on the right that a good pitch I hope it works out for you.Originally Posted by sinabhuil
THERE nothing like a farmer to let you down.I been down that road they give it if it suits,or forget any conditions you would have agreed.
Goog luck any way.
Try and get your own ground if you can rather than rely on some other group.![]()
I can understand your unhappy with the league but what can 5 members of a league do,with all the other jobs they are tied up with.Originally Posted by short_frank
ie going around europe checking nets and cornor flags. working for Eircome league getting team sheets for the media.
Soccerbot was got so the league could put its fixtures together and tables even though Jd is been paid enough to provide what you require
You could offer yourself to work on the Mayo League and give them a dig out while others are swaning off around around europe.