andy won't sign for celtic,he is based in dublin. he is a top player and probably sign for a club in dublin
Church Gate Collections, Lotto, Direct Debits, Standing Orders, Cake Sales, Talent Competitions, Bonny Baby Contests, Dog Shows, Raffle-tastic raffles, Busking, Flag Days, Council Tax, Gate Receipts, Ten cent on the half-litre;
Shall I continue?
If he's worth it, we'll find a way.
andy won't sign for celtic,he is based in dublin. he is a top player and probably sign for a club in dublin
can someone tell me where the two keepers that played for Celtic B last season are now,moore and reilly - have they left the club? we need a keeper!! DIVISION ONE promotion chasers![]()
Finance Comittee was set up and have found the way to pay,Originally Posted by Local scout
But every thing will be in order with the laws of the state.
I heard on the grapevine that Manulla midfielder and former Urlar Utd and Knock United star Des Campbell has signed for Castlebar Celtic.
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!
word is 45 local businessess have been asked to cough up €10 each to pay for him. if they have the resources thats a great way of showing it.Originally Posted by renovater
Also heard the rat had jumped ship again. As for star ?????Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
So can we assume that the names mentioned i.e Campbell, Neary, Gaughan and Fitzpatrick have signed for Castlebar Celtic. If this trend is to continue it doesn't spell good fortune for Mayo football and wer talking a monopoly on Mayo football for some time to come.Have Westport Utd reacted to this in signings to keep pace with C'bar Celtic.
Any results from the weekend particularly in Division One. BBB's got their first win of the season and their fourth point of the season with a win in Blacksod yesterday.
Brendan
Connacht Cup Semi-Final
Ballinasloe Tn -P- Castlebar Cel 2pm
Elverys Sports Super League Round 6
Ballina Town 5-1 Manulla 2.30
Ballyglass 0-3 Westport Utd 2.30
Snugboro Utd 0-1 Erris Utd 2.30
Straide 0-3 Crossmolina 2.30
Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Div Round 6
Achill Rovers 4-3 Swinford 12.00
Fahy Rovers 0-0 Claremorris 12.00
Glenhest Rvs 3-1 Killala 12.00
Westport Utd B 5-2 Conn Rangers 12.00
WELCOME INN HOTEL, NEWANTRIM ST
CASTLEBAR O94-22288 FAX 094-21766
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MAYO ASSOCIATION 2/2
FOOTBALL LEAGUE
----------------
SUNDAY MAY 14
Welcome Inn Hotel Div 1 Round 5 12.00
Bangor Hibs 2-0 Kiltimagh/Knock U
Charlestown At 3-1 acken Utd0
Inver Utd -P- Manulla B
Kilmore 1-2 Ballyvary 2.30
Mulranny Utd 3-3 Partry Athletic
Welcome Inn Hotel Div 2A Rnd 4 12.00
Ballyheane B -A- Ballinrobe Town
Moy Villa 5-0 Castlebar Celtic C
Straide B 1-2 Hollister
Valley Rovers 1-1 Clew Bay Utd
Good man P.![]()
Sheds some light. Thanks for the weekend results.
B
All hoping on board the good ship Celtic, Cant help feeling sorry for Straide after losing such a fine player, Manulla on the other hand did not develop Campbell so they can't cry too much !!!
Now with at least 3 (Outside ) Managers being paid and some players as well the question is where it will end. Can Celtic keep paying this money? What will be left when Dykes walks ? I presume the Port have some money from last Year so I presume that they are ok. The Heane need to find funds too
And perhaps Manulla will go down the same route - Mind boggling indeed
Another great win for Crossmolina. Looks like 2 from Straide, Manulla and the Glass. A bit early yet maybe bit these Three look in trouble.
Did Straide and Foxford not lose two players to Castlebar Celtic. In anycase losing a player like Neary will be sorely felt.Originally Posted by mossy
The situation is comparable to Shelbourne or Drogheda Utd albeit on a different level.If it works and Castlebar Celtic go from strenght to strenght then this will generate further funds and move themselves further adrift of everyone else. Its a risky business at this level.I feel Dykes has Shamrock Rovers in mind in terms of his team building and i think this is the level he would be hoping he could return to. Who's to say they dont fall at the first hurdle next season and then what. Its going to be all very interesting to see how this pans out and what the consequences of it will be.Originally Posted by mossy
Brendan
Do the FAI have an official standpoint on managers being paid in Junior football or is it another of those famous grey areas? It seems to me that we are creating a scenario similar to the premier league in England where there will be the 'big' clubs and then the feeder clubs who as soon as they produce a good player they will be raided and will never be able to grow and challenge the established top teams. As evidenced in these forums we tend to concentrate on these leagues and forget about the lower league teams who put in as much effort (sometimes more just to keep afloat) and if the MAFL keeps developing as it is now the situation will just get worse.![]()
I was at the Partry/Mulranney match at the weekend and the referee was on the point of walking away and refusing to play the match as there was no available changing room in Mulranney (the clubhouse not being finished yet) and the rain was unreal. What is the rule as regards changing rooms in the first division?![]()
Game was a cracker. We made the mistake of thinking we had it won at 3-0 but fair play to Mulranney they came back to level it and both teams had chances to win. Looks like Charlestown and Bangor Hibs are becoming the teams to catch as I thought they would. As I said before though, don't write off Partry! When we get over our injury crisis (7 first teamers out and counting) we will be a force to be reckoned with again.![]()
The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!
first of all i don't agree with paying managers at amateur level. secondly if u are going down that road it seems quite alot for someone who has ONE (YES 1) years managerial experience at junior level and in that year he blew a great chance of winning the league when the pressure came on. He never won anything as a manager. did BOC ever even manage underage. i think this is a case of the grass is always greener.Originally Posted by Local scout
Moore is gone to Cbar Town, Reilly is gone to AmericaOriginally Posted by mgam1
I think time will tell. The deal BOC has got is a rolling one and includes a review at the end of the season. This is so as both parties want to see how it will go. As a supporter, I'm for it as it may work out brilliant. On the flip side, if it turns out the other way both can walk away. Who cares about how it's funded although most clubs would be able to fund some sort of expenses through gathering a bunch of lunatic die-hards and taking the price of a few bevvies off them every week. The clubs are saying; Put your money where your mouth has been for the last while and get behind your team!Originally Posted by bigball
End of story.
its alot of money for someone with no track record. Has BOC got any coaching qualifications? i'm all for paying expenses but not wages. if they want real success invest the cash in the underage structure, training facilities etc. managers will be q ing up for ye (for free). they will see it as a stepping stone to LOI. I'm sure 1 or 2 players mite start wondering if they can get a few quid now (and rightly so if the manager is being paid). This will have a negative effect on other club fundraising as alot of people in westport disagree with this.Originally Posted by gnasher
If he was to take over as director of football and run the club coaching structures etc on a full time basis (39hrs/week) i would agree with paying him but not for managing the top team!
Well lads BOC is gonna be a big loss from my club Corrib Rangers. Yes he has 1 years expierience as a Player Manager but the professional attitude he brought to our club on and off the pitch was unbelievable.
Im hearing all different amounts in Galway and thats between Brendan and the club but he will be great for Westport, not only are ye getting an excellent manager but ye are getting a great player as well who has a wealth of expierience from playing League of ireland.
I for one wish him all the best and he will great for ye
Fair play, that was a nice endorsement for the lad from an ex clubman, he must have had the respect of ye boys anyway. Makes me more confident for Westport hearing it too, I never saw the guy, but worried about his level of coaching experience. He's only 27 too is he not? I presume he will play too.Originally Posted by gazza2
Hope he has the same affect on Westport as he has had on ye. Good to hear some positivity for a change!
Ya hes 27 alright and made his league of ireland debut at 17, He can play centre half or Centre Midfield and was probably our player of the season.
I remember when he took over from us and we were relegation material 3 seasons running and he brought us to the final day of the season with a chance of winning the league.Some achievement i tell ya
He is a very ambitious guy who always wants to better himself in football and he will manage League of ireland someday and he knows the only way he can do that is to make sure Westport are successful on the pitch.