Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Mayo Summer Soccer Season

Quote Originally Posted by The Ref View Post
    From what I understand the Mayo league play summer soccer, their league season runs during the calender year, only those who progress in the cup competitions run by bodies outside the league have games straddling two calender years.
    Yes the Mayo League runs from March to the end of September or early October. This has been the case for over ten years now. All the details of the Mayo League are on their website http://mayo.fai.ie are are up to date on all events happening on football in Mayo.

250 Posts
    Amended accordingly.

Thanks Lads.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    They are on i'm afraid
    Who are youse playing Swinford fc. What are you afraid of.

I played up front against Glenisland last week in preparation for meeting ya. Then again I was left back the previous home game against Cross Celtic. Just seeing the season out at this stage.

12 man

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man View Post
    Amended accordingly.

Thanks Lads.
    Well done to the 12th man for reinstating the Mayo THREAD.
    make alot of common sense.

so is it true that dykes and andy neary are both goin to limerick fc next season?? good result for S&F beating westport 3-2 goes to show S&F arent as bad as the season they had. the result leave the league in celtics hands.

The following statement appears on the Mayo League website

"Lacken United have withdrawn form the League Division One. As a result of this any points won have been awarded to the opposition - namely - Partry Ath 5 points, Manulla 2 points, and Kilmore 2 points. Of the remaining 2 games against Mulranny Utd and Ballyvary Blue Bombers, each receive 3 points"

I am trying to fathom this one out. Does this mean if Lacken beat you, you would receive their 3 points,

if you drew against them, you would receive their 1 point, plus your own for drawing in the first place, ie 2.

And if you beat them obviously you keep your three points.

Am I reading this correctly?

Wow has it been that long

Another season drawing to a close. Celtic look champs - by default some would reckon (I mean nobody else seemed to give a damn). The relegation scenario is tricky with 2 from 6 likely to go. The Boro look likely to be drawn into it but have 2 games V the Glass left, some might say that the Glass can beat the Boro so who knows. The Heane are far from safe as they can easily lose twice to S&F to be left in the mire, remember their record against S&F is woefull.
    Manulla might slip too, who knows.
    On an aside, does the other forumites here think that this has been the worst season in living memory ? If so why? Has the U 21 caused to much disruption ? If so is it worth the hastle ?
    The B crap has been an utter joke this year with the same players playing for both the A and B teams. You know it is rubbish when you see the B teams that are doing well and know that these are the same clubs that ruined the Reserve league fado fado. I hope that the person responsible for this inept piece of legislation realises the error of his ways and tries to address it even though it may not be in the interest of his beloved club.
    On the brighter side congrats to J. Butler on his marshalling of the FAI website, An informative tool for all followers of the game here in Mayo. One thing you can say about Joe is that he doesn't do things by half.
    Another bright side is the complete lack of interference by the MAFL in all things football, Now this is because
    A. We, the clubs, have miraculously improved
    B. The rules as they are, should now be ignored
    or most probably
    C. After the long and tortuous Celtic/FAI debacle when fingers were caught in the cookie jar the ethos has now changed to one of letting sleeping dogs lie

ya i think your right about this year been the worst, to much stopping and starting. its like 1 week on 3 weeks off. in my opion the bottom of the table seems to be more interesting than the top.
    still think it will be s&f and ballyglass, s&f have a harder run in than the other 4/5 teams. but with s&f winning there last 2 games against westport and manulla they could pull through. dont think teams will fancy goin to s&f for the remainder of the season thinkin its 3points in the bag.
    ballina started well but always tend to fade away come the end of the season.

Disruption to League

I think that is a reasonable point regarding the Under 21 League, and the disruption it has caused to the Super league, and possibly the Premier Division. I suppose there is no perfect solution, given that both leagues are played during the Summer months. I am sure that the Mayo League are trying to develop the game, and I feel that an Under 21 squad committed to U-21 games only, would be an answer, but that was fully rejected by the clubs. It will need serious debate for next season.
    As regards the comment on the B teams playing A team players, I must agree that it is somewhat farcical. I think it is unfair to criticize an individual for making that decision. I was present at the AGM where the clubs made the decision to allow this to happen. In actual fact there was very little debate, and I suppose that one should remember that it is clubs that abuse the situation, and not any individual who is involved in the league. Maybe what is needed is for the number of named A team players to be increased to 18 or 20 at the start of the season, but your overall point is correct.
    Last edited by Fair Play; 05/09/2006 at 8:09 PM.

What are the rules regarding players playing for A or B teams?

B team rules

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    What are the rules regarding players playing for A or B teams?
    A club is required to list 16 A team players at the start of the season. The rest of the players in that club can play with either the A or B teams. No named A team player can play for the B team. I think that a player can transfer from the A team to the B team.

Question

When is the draw for the connacht cup?

The Connacht cup draw is on the Mayo website http://mayo.fai.ie

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mpndo View Post
    The following statement appears on the Mayo League website

"Lacken United have withdrawn form the League Division One. As a result of this any points won have been awarded to the opposition - namely - Partry Ath 5 points, Manulla 2 points, and Kilmore 2 points. Of the remaining 2 games against Mulranny Utd and Ballyvary Blue Bombers, each receive 3 points"

I am trying to fathom this one out. Does this mean if Lacken beat you, you would receive their 3 points,

if you drew against them, you would receive their 1 point, plus your own for drawing in the first place, ie 2.

And if you beat them obviously you keep your three points.

Am I reading this correctly?
    I've raised this at the Bombers and I havent got a definitive, I expected that like Dublin City pulling out of the Eircom League all results involving them were null and void. Like they never existed. I've since established with Mayo League this is the case which puts Ballyvary Blue Bombers i.e us in a relegation dogfight on 22 points I think. It threathens our very security for next season because Ballyvary Blue Bombers B are in Division 2 and means we can have only one team competing next season.

Lacken after pulling out of the league dont keep any points. All results and points accrued are cleared.

As a Ballyvary Blue Bombers 'B' player does that mean the games against Swinford B and Urlaur Ud are my last for a few seasons. If so I resent Lackens decision to pull out whatever their reasons. It has cost us the ability to field an A and B team for another season.

Brendan

A full list of the Draw for the Connacht Junior Cup. The 1st Round ties are due to be played on 7th/8th October. Super League teams enter the competition at the 3rd Round. The biggest clash in 1st Round in the Mayo area is the tie between Achill Rovers and Claremorris.
    CONNACHT CUP DRAW SEASON 2006/2007
    First Round : 7th/8th October 2006.
    No Home Team Versus Away Team
    1 Bangor Hibs V Kiltullagh
    2 Roscommon Town V Moy Villa
    3 Ericssons Athlone V Mac Dara
    4 Manor Utd V Loughrea
    5 West Coast Utd V Shiven Rovers
    6 Aughannagh Celtic V Maugherouw Utd
    7 Cartron Utd V Laurencetown Utd
    8 Lacken Utd V Mannions FC
    9 Ballyvarry B Bombers V Coolaney Utd
    10 Chaffpool Utd V Coolera Rovers
    11 Urlaur Utd V Dunmore Town
    12 Ballinrobe Town V Western Rovers
    13 Achill Rovers V Claremorris
    14 Cam Celtic V Hollister
    15 St Ellens V Colga FC
    16 St Bernards V Conn Rangers
    17 Castlebar Town V Tuam Celtic
    18 Innisfree Celtic V Gurteen
    19 Ballymoe FC V Grange Utd
    20 CB Trotters V Aclare Celtic
    21 Valley Rovers V Knocknacarra
    22 Fahy Rovers V Oranbay 90
    23 Glenhest Rovers V Baylough Rovers
    24 Quayside Rovers V Chaffpool Rovers
    25 Kilglass /Enniscrone V Glenisland Utd
    26 Galway Bohs V Dysart
    27 Rahara Rovers V Kiltimagh/Knock Utd
    28 Clew Bay Utd V Oranmore
    29 Loughglynn Utd V Real Tubber
    30 Kilalla V St Johns Ath
    31 Ballygawley Celtic V Kilmore
    32 Partry Ath V Dromore Villa
    33 Charlestown Ath V Lisnamult Celtic
    34 Treacy Celtic V Ballisodare Utd
    35 Inver Utd V MCR FC
    36 Corofin Utd V Ballinagare FC
    37 Swinford FC V Gurteen Celtic
    38 St Endas V Manor Rangers
    39 St Patricks V Cross Celtic
    40 OLBC V Lough Harps
    41 Mulranney Utd V Kilshanvey Utd
    42 Medtronic V Carrick Town FC
    43 Cregmore/Claregalway V Ballinakill
    44 Calry Bohs V Crumlin
    45 Moyne Villa === Bye
    46 Cloonamahon Celtic === Bye
    47 Abbey Rovers === Bye
    48 Ramblers === Bye

Second Round : 28th/29th October 2006
    49 37 V 19
    50 4 V 47
    51 6 V 41
    52 25 V 28
    53 35 V 30
    54 7 V 16
    55 18 V 11
    56 2 V 43
    57 44 V 3
    58 36 V 1
    59 23 V 33
    60 15 V 12
    61 26 V 32
    62 21 V 10
    63 45 V 29
    64 31 V 14
    65 9 V 8
    66 38 V 20
    67 48 V 22
    68 42 V 17
    69 13 V 34
    70 39 46
    71 40 V 5
    72 24 V 27

Third Round : 2nd/3rd December 2006
    73 49 V Corrib Rangers
    74 Ahascragh Utd V 64
    75 58 V Ballyglass
    76 Balina Town V 50
    77 51 V Arrow harps
    78 Salthill Devon V Dynamo Blues
    79 53 Moylough V 79
    80 Crossmolina V 60
    81 72 V 71
    82 Boyle Celtic V Carbury FC
    83 67 V Galway Hibs
    84 Kilkerrin Utd V 66
    85 69 V Snugboro Utd
    86 Athenry V 62
    87 Erris Utd V Manulla
    88 Renmore V 54
    89 55 V Glen Celtic
    90 Kilkerrin Utd V Moore Utd
    91 70 V Strand Celtic
    92 Renmore V Ballyheane
    93 68 V 55
    94 Mervue Utd V Skyvalley Rovers
    95 Abbey Utd V Cloonfad Utd
    96 52 V Castlebar Celtic
    97 Ballinasloe Town V 59
    98 Cliffoney Celtic V Castlerea Celtic
    99 Heatmerchants V Westport Utd
    100 65 V Colemanstown Utd
    101 West Utd V 62
    102 56 V Glenview Stars
    103 Straide &Foxford Utd V City Utd
    104 Yeats Utd V 57

Fourth Round : 20th/ 21st January 2006
    A 88 V 102
    B 93 V 79
    C 90 V 103
    D 74 V 99
    E 100 V 84
    F 96 V 76
    G 91 V 101
    H 78 V 86
    J 94 V 75
    K 92 V 83
    L 87 V 98
    M 104 V 89
    N 82 V 73
    O 95 V 77
    P 97 V 85
    R 81 V 80

Fifth Round : 17th/18th February 2007
    S D V C
    T G V A
    U J V F
    V N V M
    W R V O
    X K V E
    Y L V H
    Z P V B

Quarter Finals : 17th /18th March 2007
    300 Z V Y
    400 X V W
    500 U V T
    600 V V S

Semi Finals
    700 400 V 300
    800 600 V 500

Final
    1000 700 V 800
    All games up to and including the Final will be decided on the day. In the event of a draw after 90 minutes one period of extra time and Penalties. The Venues for all Finals will be as follows : Galway Terryland Park,Mayo Milebush Park, Sligo/Leitrim McSherry Park If the above Venues are not available neutral Venues in the respective Leagues which includes Roscommon will be used. Please ensure that all results are sent on Sunday evenings to 087 1210310, 091 735619 or e-mail artfriels@eircom.net . The rule ; Automatic One Match ban will apply to all Competitions this Season, please ensure that all referees cards are returned to me at

Who are St. Pats? Caherlistrane, Galway?

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    so is it true that dykes and andy neary are both goin to limerick fc next season?? good result for S&F beating westport 3-2 goes to show S&F arent as bad as the season they had. the result leave the league in celtics hands.
    Well I've heard that Dykes has had a meeting with the commitee and told them that Limerick have offered him this and that and he has told Celtic to match it. If they dont then he's off.

B Team mess

As regards the implementation of the new B rule it was indeed endorsed by the clubs at the AGM but this was akin to turkeys voting for christmas. How can the likes of Bangor and Inver vote to play against a Super league's club A team in their division. Did they really know what they were voting for or were they just there to avoid the fine !!!
    If you recall this official tried this the year before and the fox stood tall and explained to clubs the concept .ie turkeys & christmas. The clubs roundly defeated the motion. It was back on the table again last year and the Fox was AWOl so the clubs voted stupidly for this change.
    Now don't get me wrong, it is very difficult to implement a ruling which would be fair. However how come Celtic and Ballyheane try and keep to the spirit of the law at least and some of the others just want a pot to p*** in at the end of the season particularly when their principal team is poor.
    Come on ye clubs in the lower divisions speak up. We were all down there once you know and tell the MAFL to stop ****ing on yer back and tell ye it's raining !!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    As regards the implementation of the new B rule it was indeed endorsed by the clubs at the AGM but this was akin to turkeys voting for christmas. How can the likes of Bangor and Inver vote to play against a Super league's club A team in their division. Did they really know what they were voting for or were they just there to avoid the fine !!!
    If you recall this official tried this the year before and the fox stood tall and explained to clubs the concept .ie turkeys & christmas. The clubs roundly defeated the motion. It was back on the table again last year and the Fox was AWOl so the clubs voted stupidly for this change.
    Now don't get me wrong, it is very difficult to implement a ruling which would be fair. However how come Celtic and Ballyheane try and keep to the spirit of the law at least and some of the others just want a pot to p*** in at the end of the season particularly when their principal team is poor.
    Come on ye clubs in the lower divisions speak up. We were all down there once you know and tell the MAFL to stop ****ing on yer back and tell ye it's raining !!!!!
    I am sure that the people present were intelligent enough to make an informed decision, but then again if it did not affect their own club they probably did not care about the outcome. I still think that the answer might be to increase the numbers to 20, and maybe this would help the situation. A lot of things happen during the Summer months with lads on holidays, suspended, and injuries and it can be difficult to make up teams at times.
    I am sure that if someone can speak at the next AGM, and outline the difficulties properly, then there is every chance that the rule can be changed. What about yourself?

I am inclined to believe with both points of view regarding B team players, but I would suggest that people should not be shouting from the side lines on this issue. If matters need to be changed, people should be prepared to put a proposal forward for discussion at the meeting, and let democracy rule on the day. I do however agree with Fair Play, that it is unfair to be blaming one individual for the problem - if there are other people out there prepared to do job that he is doing, then they should put themselves forward.

Page 14 of 35 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast