Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: A Big Thank You

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime
    Funny thread this, what a charm offensive from the "new Rovers", bleating on and expecting everyone to change their KOs just because it's Rovers, demanding access to stands and bars, "no one likes us, but we want them to".
    Jaime - 1,200 paid into Station Road the other night. Kildare's average attendance is 120ish. I would gave thought the maths is simple enough to understand.

It's nothing to do with arrogance or charm offensives, more of a desire to see some common sense in the 1st Division. Surely clubs with average attendances in the low hundreds should embrace the large following that we bring?

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

[QUOTE=Conor H]Nothing......a small 300 seater stand.
    The rest is just a fence around the pitch pretty much.A nice ground but Kildare would struggle big time with away supports if they got promoted.[/QUOTE

We will have an new 1000 seater stand starting at the end of this season. So, 1400 covered seats in what you correctly describe as a nice ground. Not a bad ground for a team that will by then only be five years old.

The Gardai shut the bar when they arrived. Believe me the man who has the franchise to run the bar wasnt too happy about this, but what could he do?

The stand is officially for home fans, but is usually open to all. This was the same on Saturday night, with those Rovers fans that had kids allowed in out of the rain. Eventually this amounted to about half of all those in the stand.

The bars in the town where shut early, as I dsicoverd myself after the game. this was because of trouble in the town, both before and after the game. The gardai dont tend to take such restrictive decisions lightly. Saturday night is ofcourse the busiest night of the week for most pubs and clubs, so to do this was for a good reason.

The Rovers fans where treated well at Station Road, as are all visiting fans. To state otherwise would be a lie. The only difficulty on the night was outside the ground. This has nothing to do with KCFC or the pople of Newbridge. It has everything to do with a small number of Rovers fans who do that great club no good at all. Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often.

Dapman for the record I think KCFC brings something to the league and fully merit their place there unlike a couple of other clubs.

Have you any more details re the 1000 seater stand?

Mostly though what trouble in the town before and after the game?

The only difficulty outside the ground I thought that had to with the poor access and avoiding cars for what has to be the most dangerous entrance to a ground since bishopstown.

81 Posts
    [QUOTE=dapman1]
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H

The only difficulty on the night was outside the ground. This has nothing to do with KCFC or the pople of Newbridge. It has everything to do with a small number of Rovers fans who do that great club no good at all. Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often.
    Complete and utter rubbish. The trouble in the town - in the one pub I was in anyway - was all down to the locals in their Liverpool shirts. They threw the digs, they started all of it. I talked to the Guards outside and they agreed 100%. Sorry to burst that little bubble.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    and did ye ever hear of cans???dont be so posh
    I was just about to say the same thing
    Indeed. On an unrelated topic, how strict are Drogheda's stewards on drinking in the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by dapman
    Untill the Rovers fans manage to police themsilves better and rid themselves of this element, they will continue to find bars shut and doors closed. Rovers cant continue to say that everybody else is at fault, its happening too often
    Absolutely correct.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Indeed. On an unrelated topic, how strict are Drogheda's stewards on drinking in the ground.
    If they see ye with drink they'll take it off ye, but I remember you were drinking discreetly last time you were up, so do that again and you'll probably get away with it! Starting to check bags this season too, so make sure ye have it hidden in your pockets

I like Good Friday matches. Day off work so can go on the beer all day before the match and it'll cost feck all as it'll have to be cans and not pay for overpriced pints!! Last season we were actually playing UCD in Belfield on good friday and had great craic drinking cans from lunch time near the ground (though I suppose we didn't look out of place as we were on a field in collage grounds )
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dapman1
    The bars in the town where shut early, as I discoverd myself after the game. this was because of trouble in the town, both before and after the game. The gardai dont tend to take such restrictive decisions lightly. Saturday night is ofcourse the busiest night of the week for most pubs and clubs, so to do this was for a good reason.
    Another wind-up.

I was in the town for over an hour after the game, was in one of the pubs too, and I witnessed no trouble at all.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    If they see ye with drink they'll take it off ye, but I remember you were drinking discreetly last time you were up, so do that again and you'll probably get away with it! Starting to check bags this season too, so make sure ye have it hidden in your pockets
    Sound. I'll keep it undercover.

[QUOTE=WeAreRovers]

Complete and utter rubbish. The trouble in the town - in the one pub I was in anyway - was all down to the locals in their Liverpool shirts. They threw the digs, they started all of it. I talked to the Guards outside and they agreed 100%. Sorry to burst that little bubble.

Ah don't qoute that from me when i didnt type it.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Dapman for the record I think KCFC brings something to the league and fully merit their place there unlike a couple of other clubs.

Have you any more details re the 1000 seater stand?

Mostly though what trouble in the town before and after the game?

The only difficulty outside the ground I thought that had to with the poor access and avoiding cars for what has to be the most dangerous entrance to a ground since bishopstown.

The planning permission is in place. The funding has been applied for. The required amount from our side is in place.

The entrance to the ground is terrible, but a new bridge with paths etc will be built soon as the new Dept of the Defence offices are to be located on the opposite side of the road from the Station road pitch. this requires the county council, the dept of defence and Iarn Road Eireann to get together and agree a plan. So it might just be finished by the end of the century.

[QUOTE=WeAreRovers]

Strange how trouble follows Rovers and its always started by the locals At least you managed to get into a pub. That option wasnt available to anybody else afetr the game as a result of a few of your supporters. Why dont you stop making excuses and do something about it.

Dapman good to hear about the access. Where is the new stand gonna be?

You're wrong about pubs being shut after the game and has already been pointed out there was no trouble. Do not depend on second hand information unless you work for the herag.

81 Posts
    [QUOTE=Conor H]
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers

Ah don't qoute that from me when i didnt type it.
    Eh, I didn't, don't know what happened there. Apologies.

Dapman - For decades now, local townies have had a pop at Rovers in one-horse hellholes all over this country. It happens. And I saw what happened on Saturday, you didn't.

81 Posts
    It's just happened again. Time to go home.

The stand will be on the opposite side of the pitch from the existing stand an club house. It will allow ambulances and buses to travel under it. I believe that it will look like a typical French municipal stadium stand when its finished.
    The pitch is also going to be lengthened and widened. If I can find any plans I will post them.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    Sound. I'll keep it undercover.
    But be prepared to get kicked out of the ground if caught

(I suppose just like any other EL ground )
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

812 Posts
    I love this thread. It seems that the following things happened:
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy
    Well done to Kildare fc last night. Firstly it was great to get to the ground soaking wet
    It rained. Which was Kildare's fault.

(after an aborted attempt to go into a certain bar in Newbridge who had 3 bouncers on the door at 6oc!)
    Some bar in the town wasn't letting Rovers fans in. Which was Kildare's fault.

...to discover the bar was closed(of course this had absolutely nothing to do with the fact it was Rovers in town),
    The gardai closed the pub in the ground. Which was Kildare's fault.

then only certain individuals were allowed into the 'stand' when people tried to get in out've the rain,
    A 300 seater stand that's normally for home fans prioritised home fans wasn't open to all 1000+ people in the ground. Home fans were prioritised.

... and to cap it all we had to listen to the biggest fool that ever lived over the loudspeaker. Could anyone actually make out the teams he was calling out? Did he actually read the teamsheets before crediting goals to the wrong people?
    And the PA was crap.

All I can say is that from now on I'll get up every day thanking God I'm not from Kildare. Memo to Kildare 'people', please take a trip to you're next away game to Finn Harps to discover how to treat people with respect and courtesy
    I hope Finn Harps have a weather machine, the gardai in their pockets, ownership of all the pubs in the area and a good PA man.

I'm betting they'll have to make do with one out of four.

Moany ******* Rovers fans.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83
    I'm betting they'll have to make do with one out of four.
    Which one?

1,553 Posts
    Can't be the weather machine, ours is broken at the moment and we're having fierce problems getting spare parts.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast