Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Disgusting Incident at Dalymount last night.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Out of curiousity - did anything happen to the Shels goons who ran to the edge of the North Stand at Windsor to hurl abuse etc at Linfield fans at the end of the Setanta game up there ?
    I dont know to be quite honest!

What I am about to say is not an attack on anyone, its just going on personal experiance. You don't have to believe me if you don't want to.

Bohemians are the only club in the league who's `fans` cause trouble almost everytime we play them in some way or another, I believe that there is a serious prblem at Bohs with the whole `scumbag element` shall I say.
    However it is certainly worth mentioning that these moron's are'nt the real supporters of Bohs. I have been to Dalymount plenty of times to see Bohs play and I have come across some genuinely friendly, kind, LOI enthusiastic Bohs fans who love the club. I remember in particular a chap I was talking to at the Intertot match -V- Ghent last year who was pleased to see out following them in Europe and was very welcoming. Also at that game there was stuff (till roll I think) fired directly at (no accident) a Ghent player/s on 3 occasions. Some of the Bohs fans in the section I was in were cursing them saying things like ``those idiots just ruin everything, fe*k** ar**h***s``, none of them are direct quotes because I cant remember exactly but you get my drif, these guys wanted rid of the trouble makers.

It upsets me that these scumbags ruin it for the genuine fans, I hope Bohs manage to get the better of the scumbag element, for both the league and themselves

just a quick addition:

the Drogheda game was upgraded but a supporters bus still had its window smashed in.

Now many people commented on how the Drogheda numbers travelling to this game had been markedly down (esp. given that we just won the cup) , I have no doubt that this was due to the trouble between the clubs last season.

Now the incident with the bus was splashed over the front page of the Drogheda Independent and this will certainly not encourage those who stayed away to travel again to Dalymount and may indeed see more Drogs staying away.

Mightn't be real Bohs supporters fault but it is their club who will feel it in the pocket.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    We get abut 10 or so of these threads every year blah blah blah.

Stupid threads like this should be closed and deleted straight away all they do is go on and on for pages and pages with people talking $hit about who did this and who did that. At the end of it all it just gives more ammo to rags like the Herald to run down our league. This kind of $hit happens every Friday and Saturday night in ever town in Ireland and doesn’t even make page 42 on the local papers but when it's the eL it's front page news.

Then the guy with the “moral high ground” who starts the thread calls for violence against the stone throwers

FFS am I the only one who’s feed up of these OTT threads
    So had you of been on that bus,you would of just ignored being showered in glass,having the living **** scared out of you and enjoyed a 3 hour rather draughty bus trip home on a cold enough night as it was????????????????
    Last edited by ConfusedBlue; 03/04/2006 at 9:16 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog
    just a quick addition:

the Drogheda game was upgraded but a supporters bus still had its window smashed in.

Now many people commented on how the Drogheda numbers travelling to this game had been markedly down (esp. given that we just won the cup) , I have no doubt that this was due to the trouble between the clubs last season.

Now the incident with the bus was splashed over the front page of the Drogheda Independent and this will certainly not encourage those who stayed away to travel again to Dalymount and may indeed see more Drogs staying away.

Mightn't be real Bohs supporters fault but it is their club who will feel it in the pocket.

that game was 24 days ago and thats news to me. I walked up to Hedigans after the game and there was Gardai everywhere.

Happened alright.

http://www.unison.ie/drogheda_indepe...issue_id=13825

Drogheda buses attacked after match in Dalymount

ADVERTISEMENT

By Donncha MacRaghnaill
    TWO buses containing Drogheda United fans came under fire after they left Dublin’s Dalymount Park after their first League win of the season over Bohemians on Friday night.

One of the buses had its back window smashed with a baseball bat, while a second bus carrying members of the Drogheda United Supporters Club was also attacked as it pulled off just moments before.

Rory McCullough, the owner and driver of the first bus, said he didn’t believe that the culprits were Bohemians fans, but rather ‘yobs’ just looking for a fight.

‘I told the lads on the bus not to move. The only other way to stop them was to get 10 or 15 of the lads off the bus but if someone had a blade or a smashed bottle, you don’t know what might have happened so I said leave it, sit down and we’ll get out of here.’

‘They weren’t Bohs fans. Those young fellas didn’t have the price of a ticket never mind anything else,’ he said.

The bus was parked in the Phibsboro area of Dublin and was due to pick the Drogheda fans up at 9.50pm.

‘A couple of the young chaps decided to pop into the chip shop so we were a bit delayed. Next thing, this group came upon the bus, looking for stones. They clearly knew the Drogheda crowd was up and wanted to cause trouble,’ explained Rory.

‘In Dalymount you’d expect something like that, but not from the club or the fans, just the nippers in the area. One was wielding a half a baseball bat and eventually smashed the back window. At that point they all scattered and we escaped.’

As Rory has a busy school run, it was vital that he got the bus fixed. Luckily he got a lend of a back window from another local driver and was back on the road on Monday.

Thankfully i've never encountered trouble at any match i've been to but IMO it would be in any clubs best interests to do whatever they can to ensure the safety of away fans.It's not good enough to say that it's outside the ground so there is nothing that can be done.All that will happen is away fans will stay away,gates will be down and revenue will be down.Most teams are on very tight budgets as it is and need all sources of income and fans staying away only makes the problem worse.It's time to act now before it turns into a really serious issue and it's too late.Wasn't the window on Alan Reynolds' smashed outside dalymount a few seasons back aswell.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

82 Posts
    Add in a Derry City fans bus had its windows broken and contents ransacked during the Dublin City game a few weeks back.

Sounds like the guards would want to be a bit more pro-active outside the ground. Beyond the club banning these individuals from the ground there's not a lot Bohs or Dublin City can do. I thought the days of this happening in Phibsboro were in the past. Obviously not.

seems to be a bit of a trend ...........

looks like bus window smashing is the new thing up there.

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    Wasn't the window on Alan Reynolds' car smashed outside dalymount a few seasons back aswell.
    Yeah his car was attacked either last season or the season before,ask most Blues fans now and they'll tell you it couldn't of happened to a nicer fella!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Out of curiousity - did anything happen to the Shels goons who ran to the edge of the North Stand at Windsor to hurl abuse etc at Linfield fans at the end of the Setanta game up there ?
    Was a bit of a storm in a tea cup, no real big deal to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by David
    Was a bit of a storm in a tea cup, no real big deal to be honest.
    Same thing I'd say for this thread .

Right, mental man your bus got bricked in Dalyer but ffs no need to start a thread on it on here making out it was like world war 3!!

And before you ask, Yes I was on the drogheda bus that got bricked a couple of weeks ago (which actually had a bohs fan on it ). Drogs supporters who were on the bus didn't make a big deal about it (and won't), was done by kids no more than 15/16, sh!t happens, we don't live in a perfect world!

btw great security presence was organised by Bohs with the guards for our match. They hung around for a good while after the match - but unfortunately some young lad went to the chipper after the match and we were waiting for ages for him (cant remember what the name of the chipper was but ye wouldnt want to be in a hurry ) (and by that time they got back, the guards had taken off I think - 10 o clock is shift change over time i think!)
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    You endorse this behaviour?
    I condemn and to think - that i laughed my head off when Bertie made the same mistake
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog
    Happened alright.

http://www.unison.ie/drogheda_indepe...issue_id=13825

Drogheda buses attacked after match in Dalymount

ADVERTISEMENT

By Donncha MacRaghnaill
    TWO buses containing Drogheda United fans came under fire after they left Dublin’s Dalymount Park after their first League win of the season over Bohemians on Friday night.

One of the buses had its back window smashed with a baseball bat, while a second bus carrying members of the Drogheda United Supporters Club was also attacked as it pulled off just moments before.

Rory McCullough, the owner and driver of the first bus, said he didn’t believe that the culprits were Bohemians fans, but rather ‘yobs’ just looking for a fight.

‘I told the lads on the bus not to move. The only other way to stop them was to get 10 or 15 of the lads off the bus but if someone had a blade or a smashed bottle, you don’t know what might have happened so I said leave it, sit down and we’ll get out of here.’

‘They weren’t Bohs fans. Those young fellas didn’t have the price of a ticket never mind anything else,’ he said.

The bus was parked in the Phibsboro area of Dublin and was due to pick the Drogheda fans up at 9.50pm.

‘A couple of the young chaps decided to pop into the chip shop so we were a bit delayed. Next thing, this group came upon the bus, looking for stones. They clearly knew the Drogheda crowd was up and wanted to cause trouble,’ explained Rory.

‘In Dalymount you’d expect something like that, but not from the club or the fans, just the nippers in the area. One was wielding a half a baseball bat and eventually smashed the back window. At that point they all scattered and we escaped.’

As Rory has a busy school run, it was vital that he got the bus fixed. Luckily he got a lend of a back window from another local driver and was back on the road on Monday.

San I wasnt claiming it didnt happen, just I hadnt heard of anything and I did walk up towards Hedigans amid a lot of Drogheda fans and didnt see it happen.

Just to clarify tho, The two buses werent parked in Dalymount, they were parked up towards the canal at the top of the whitworth road.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    I condemn and to think - that i laughed my head off when Bertie made the same mistake
    must be a Drumcondra thing....
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die
    San I wasnt claiming it didnt happen, just I hadnt heard of anything and I did walk up towards Hedigans amid a lot of Drogheda fans and didnt see it happen.

Just to clarify tho, The two buses werent parked in Dalymount, they were parked up towards the canal at the top of the whitworth road.
    we know it was local scumbags we get our fair share of them, my point was that it is incidents like this that are resulting in lower number of Drogs travelling to my fav away ground.

I was on the bus on friday night and what happened to us seems to be exactly what happened to drog fans,a gang of about 25-30 14 year olds gathered outside the ground followed us to the bus,threw stones and then one ran up and smashed the window with a hurley.
    We thought this was a once off but clearly its not and something must be done about the little scum cause its gonna put people off going to dalymount
    We're gonna win the league!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by GT blue
    I was on the bus on friday night and what happened to us seems to be exactly what happened to drog fans,a gang of about 25-30 14 year olds gathered outside the ground followed us to the bus,threw stones and then one ran up and smashed the window with a hurley.
    We thought this was a once off but clearly its not and something must be done about the little scum cause its gonna put people off going to dalymount
    chase them away?

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    chase them away?
    Cop on! What good is that going to do!? There wouldn't be any point in doing that as those gob****es were only looking for trouble and if the WU fans were to
    chase them then they would be playing into their hands!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    Cop on! What good is that going to do!? There wouldn't be any point in doing that as those gob****es were only looking for trouble and if the WU fans were to
    chase them then they would be playing into their hands!
    No, I reckon if they saw 20 or 30 angry Waterford fans hopping off the bus they'd run a mile!

So what should you do instead? sit there and let them put through all the windows?

Cop on, there's only one language these ****s understand!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast