Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Disgusting Incident at Dalymount last night.

Plenty of Bohs fans in the Showgies a couple of weeks ago and their was no trouble. Which makes me think that these people aren't true fans cos they probably don't go to away games!

Eircom League clubs have a duty of care to all supporters attending their games, not just home supporters. I'm amazed by the attitude of some clubs towards away fans. On average, 100 away fans translates into approx. E2000 (admission, programme, draw, bar, merchandise).

Its not good enough for us to wash our hands of incidents outside our ground. At any venue where there may have been "previous" or where the locals are "dodgy", a safe bus parking space should be organised.

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man
    The only thing i can say is that the people who done this are nothing but pure vile filth and should get the living sh*t kicked out of them
    Mental Man, believe me when I say that if what you report about the attack is true, then I hope the gardai charge the culprits. I also hope that they are identified and that they are banned from Dalymount and that if they are seen in its environs the guards have the resources and the wit to move them away.
    But what happened last night does not warrant a post in which you clearly and without qualification advocate violence. Perhaps you are just venting, but who's to say someone else won't act on it?
    Bohemian FC is not the only club with a minority of undesirable hangers-on: incidents such as these are becoming alarmingly common in recent seasons, and it's not going to help anyone if each set of aggrieved supporters decides it gives them the right to kick the living **** out of offenders. This assumes that they get the right people: more than likely, they'll pick on innocent fans wearing the colours, and the cycle continues.
    However, I do agree that clubs and gardai need to do more generally to look after away supporters, particularly after the match. On more than one occasion at an away game I have felt threatened, and feared for my kids' safety, on our way back to the car.
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 01/04/2006 at 5:24 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Well the safety of the fans (especially away fans) entering and leaving the ground should be looked at.

Quote Originally Posted by Philo
    Yes... by the body entrusted with the safety of everyone in public places - An Garda Siochána. The problem is that they, like the rest of the country, don't take football seriously enough to do a proper job. I'd love to see away fans escorted to and from matches and I thought I saw a couple of gardai walking alongside the Waaaahurfurt fans as they left after the match. Presumably they didn't see them safely back onto the bus, which is a shame as last night's incident only undermines the good work that is done inside the stadium.

It's hardly the job of ordinary Bohs fans to watch over every trouble maker aligned with the club at all times wherever they may be is it? The first I heard of this incident was when I saw it here so, even though I was doing security inside the ground, there's nothing anyone, other than the Gardai, could have done about what happened in the streets outside.
    In my quote above I was referring to ALL LOI grounds not just Bohs (Dalymount). I believe that the safety of fans is the clubs responsability and measures should be put in place where situations like this should not happen outside any football ground in the country.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    Surely there should be a Garda presence outside the ground as well?? There is always a danger that something like this will happen outside a ground.

Is it mandatory for clubs to hire Gardai for security inside the ground?? If so, should it be mandatory for clubs to have a certain amount of Gardai outside the ground also?? Something that the FAI should look into with licensing??

Clubs categorise games depending on previous history, crowd numbers etc, There is various different reasons for the level of security. Drogheda was upgraded this season and there was 600 Drogheda fans in Dalyer a few weeks ago and a higher then normal Garda presence and AFAIK there was no trouble afterwards.

I saw the Gardai outside the ground on both occasions [March 10th and 31st] but clubs cannot dictate to Gardai on public duty what they do, how long they stay with away fans etc.

Several people have indeed been issued with banning orders from Dalymount as a result of previous incidents. CCTV footage and incidents witnessed by board members have resulted in action taken.

It would also help if Gardai arrested troublemakers at Bohs-Rovers games instead of walking them to the turnstiles to pay in once the riot squads have broken up the fights.

What a surprise, little Bohs fans attack fans leaving Dalymount.

Attacking kids and women was too dangerous for them last year so now they've taken to the safer option of throwing rocks.

All that from a club who allow the casuals to display their flag in the stadium and beg for it to be returned on their website. Like someone said these fools are only going to hurt Bohs' reputation and in the pocket but sure what can Bohs do beggar sure it happened outside the stadium...

...funny that I dont remember that reaction when there were incidents outside the stadium at Richmond Park a few years ago??
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC

...funny that I dont remember that reaction when there were incidents outside the stadium at Richmond Park a few years ago??
    i thank you.

We get abut 10 or so of these threads every year blah blah blah.

Stupid threads like this should be closed and deleted straight away all they do is go on and on for pages and pages with people talking $hit about who did this and who did that. At the end of it all it just gives more ammo to rags like the Herald to run down our league. This kind of $hit happens every Friday and Saturday night in ever town in Ireland and doesn’t even make page 42 on the local papers but when it's the eL it's front page news.

Then the guy with the “moral high ground” who starts the thread calls for violence against the stone throwers
    The only thing i can say is that the people who done this are nothing but pure vile filth and should get the living sh*t kicked out of them
    FFS am I the only one who’s feed up of these OTT threads

You cant just ignore these incidents 1928....otherwise they'll continue?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Ok so, what would your opinion if the people inside of the bus had been injured by flying glass, or lost eyesight etc..., cop on, this cant be ignored, this type of football hooliganism must be stopped at all costs,it effects all of us in the league cos we as supporters are doing our best to promote it.
    Now this morning i heard that our regular bus driver has said he will have to seriously consider bringing supporters to other games in dublin if there is a possibility of this happeneing again, derek our driver has looked after us for a good few years now and is always there for us, all now because of a few scumbag supporters, and yes a good kick up in the hole is what some of them want.

This cannot be ignored but i do accept that there is only so much Bohs can do when the incident happened outside the ground!

PS,the 2 Bohs fans who came all the way down to the far end of the Jodi to pick Waterford fans who were no more than 16,i hope you feel proud of yourselfs - You're both disgraces to your club

this type of football hooliganism must be stopped at all costs,it effects all of us in the league cos we as supporters are doing our best to promote it.
    While I condone this sort of behaviour these were just clueless kids and is nothing along the sort of lines of football hooliganism! I agree with 1928! There is no point talking about it here, I doubt of any of those poor gypo shams who this even know what the internet is! As has been stated this happens everyday and nothing is said! Ring up Dayler with your complaints and leave this sort of crap off forums as keyboard warriors will end up having a field day!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne
    Eircom League clubs have a duty of care to all supporters attending their games, not just home supporters. I'm amazed by the attitude of some clubs towards away fans. On average, 100 away fans translates into approx. E2000 (admission, programme, draw, bar, merchandise).

Its not good enough for us to wash our hands of incidents outside our ground. At any venue where there may have been "previous" or where the locals are "dodgy", a safe bus parking space should be organised.
    Agree 100% with this posting .In fact, as regards Dalymount , the visiting supporters bus should be accomodated inside the ground and then the visiting fans could be approached for their ticket money by some steward or club official located over there!

The away fans bus could be parked behind the Des Kelly stand area & away fans could be escorted to that area after the game. Simple.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    While I condone this sort of behaviour these were just clueless kids and is nothing along the sort of lines of football hooliganism!

You endorse this behaviour?
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

60 Posts
    Ooh. weighty stuff, and a lot of blaming and so-forth here. Here's my ten minutes worth.

Firstly, the bus situation does seem the simplest solution, especially at Dalyer, but does not account for two regular issues that crop up in Dalyer - playing against other Dublin sides, and Dublin based fans of away teams, such as myself. Perhaps that in combination with the age old strategy of holding the away fans back a spell (or does that simply give the hooligans time to organise?)

I can see exactly where Mental Man is coming from - this is a problem that can sour a lot more than someone's trip home, be it through injury, through a difficulty organising a bus, or, as will affect all of us, through the name of the league being run down again in the media, leading to folk staying away from games. I am sure that if I had been on the bus that time, I'd have still been calling for blood two or three days later: I think anyone who has had first hand experience of violence directed at fans before, during or after football games would have an understanding of this feeling. I would say, better to vent it here, provoke a discussion (yes, there has been a discussion as well as the usual slag Bohs / Rovers thing), and perhaps learn what we can all do to solve this problem as individuals and to help make the league better.

Fortunately I was not on the bus, as I live in Dublin - I left the ground, chatting to a couple of other Blues, and, as often happens when at an away game in my Blues scarf, a couple of home fans came up and wished us the best for the rest of the season. We encountered no problems beyond a shower of 10 year olds coming over to taunt our block as the inevitable fourth went in. This would be true of 90%+ of all my experiences at football in Ireland (no problems, rather than the inevitable fourth).

The people who cause problems at Bohs, Rovers, Shels, Kilkenny Town or where ever, may well enjoy their football, but it is not their motivating factor. If they cannot get in, then they are less likely to hang around for the end of the game, I would imagine - going to the pub will probably mean they miss the end of the game and aren't "ready" for the opposition coming out. There should be a database of known problems, and their general haunts (don't anyone tell me that the worst offenders in Dublin don't wander over to where-ever a game with a contentious history is even though "their" team isn't involved, which should be shared between the clubs and Gardaí all around the league - photos and names perhaps, rather than official cards or something. There needs to be joint responsibility for these outbreaks shared between the Gardaí and the clubs, and we as fans have our bit to do in lobbying our clubs to get in properly. Football is meant to be a spectator sport for most of us at this level, and fortunately it still hasn't gone the way of the Premiership where is is a "priviledge" to get to a game, and we are all expected to be nice Prawn Sandwich eaters.

Well that rant is over for the time being.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Getting Sick to death of these little B@stards. We need to do something and quick. Can see a lot of good work going down the jacks if these muppets are allowed to continue dragging the good name of our club through the shyte

to the best of my knowledge this is the first time there has been any issues at Bohs-Waterford in Dalymount. After problems at Bohs v Drogheda games [In Dublin and Drogheda] a higher Garda presence was brought in for the first game of the season.

We had no reason to suspect any trouble on Friday night and its not as easy as not letting people in simply because we have no idea of who did this and who to stop from entering the ground. We also cannot just stop any group of teenagers who fit the profile simply because we cannot accuse anyone of comminting a crime without something to back that up.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die

to the best of my knowledge this is the first time there has been any issues at Bohs-Waterford in Dalymount. After problems at Bohs v Drogheda games [In Dublin and Drogheda] a higher Garda presence was brought in for the first game of the season.

We had no reason to suspect any trouble on Friday night and its not as easy as not letting people in simply because we have no idea of who did this and who to stop from entering the ground. We also cannot just stop any group of teenagers who fit the profile simply because we cannot accuse anyone of comminting a crime without something to back that up.
    I completely agree with you bohs til i die; I am against the profiling approach. What I am saying is that if you have your list of convicted offenders and bar them, you'll reduce the problem. We'd create a bigger one straight off if we simply kept people out because they are the same age, wear the same clothing, are from the same estate, etc. Unfortunately, I have no idea yet how such a system would work.

As regards Blues playing up at Bohs, I've never previously even imagined trouble in the twelve odd years I've been living near enough to go - I thought is was an April Fool for a second when I saw the thread heading. On this occasion I would certainly not blame the Club, but I do think that when this kind of incident is starting to happen at a fixture without any recent tradition of trouble (I'd say the same if it were Longford vs Kildare or the like), the league, the clubs, the fans, and the Gardaí need to start investigating how to stop it spreading.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC
    This cannot be ignored but i do accept that there is only so much Bohs can do when the incident happened outside the ground!

PS,the 2 Bohs fans who came all the way down to the far end of the Jodi to pick Waterford fans who were no more than 16,i hope you feel proud of yourselfs - You're both disgraces to your club
    Out of curiousity - did anything happen to the Shels goons who ran to the edge of the North Stand at Windsor to hurl abuse etc at Linfield fans at the end of the Setanta game up there ?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast