Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Atmosphere: The showgrounds versus away games!

Quote Originally Posted by Bravo
    I am shocked that Some People seem to have a problem with us trying to generate an atmosphere in a different part of the showgrounds & some people are using this forum to take cheep/petty swipes at what we are trying to do & who’s doing it, COP ON & GET A LIFE……
    As I said before this idea came about at the Derry games when a few old Shed Heads decided that we needed to do something about atmosphere in the showgrounds, the reasons we chose the Jinks avenue stand was 1. Fcuk all people go there 2. it is enclosed, allowing for a better atmosphere 3. we don’t like the shed anymore (its boring & realistically even the New stand is more fun & more comfortable) 4. If the young vibrant Shed Heads! don’t like Drums then the occupants of the Treacy avenue stand, which are predominantly older, wouldn’t either.
    We appealed to everyone to join us some did (Cheers!) & some didn’t (their decision), every one is welcome, members of the clubs, individuals, inbreeds & even Leitrim Folk!!! All supporters of our beloved Bit’O’Red.

A Persons presence dose not mean they condone the actions of everybody there it means we have a common interest in supporting Rovers in the most vocal and what some would say, the best possible way.
    Bravo,
    Joined ye 4 the 2nd half of the game last wk and i found it 2b far better than the shed. Atmosphere, Spirit etc.

Will go to the shed at the start of the shels game bt if its as sh1t3 as it usually there, i'll join ye again with no hesitation.

Quote Originally Posted by sligobhoy67
    good good - anyone remember the wee Donegal refrees name. Willie Wallace or something like that.
    Not sure about him but i remmber a red haired linesman from Donegal called Seamus that took a lot of abuse!

was his first name wilfrid by any chance?memory's a bit fuzzy

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    was his first name wilfrid by any chance?memory's a bit fuzzy
    Yes thats him , he was brutal and we used to have him nearly everygame , just before he retired he awarded us 2 dubious penalties in a 5 1 win against Galway or some other crap team at the time , a nice gesture but many years to late, its bad when the ref is on first name terms with the players and knows who he is going to book before the game every starts.

Wilford Wallace - nasty slick haircut, pompous attitude, not particularly popular anywhere in the league, but inspired a special loathing among Rovers fans.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

thats hims - Wilfrid Wallace what total cooont. Years of pain.

a cooount if eva i heard about 1.

Cool

http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php...d=89&Itemid=88
    From the official website!
    Conall, ya will have to join us!

Where have the boys in the Jinks avenue stand gone to? Very quite the last few home games.

The whole ground has been quiet, the shed too.

Formerly: wild rover
    we dont even have the rovers clap clap clap thing anymore in the stand.....

theres only one thing for it...they have to sell alcohol in the blue stand and then the shed and the jinks avenue brigade will unite together!!!:}

we do need to liven it up 4 tonite..

the lads will need every bit of help possible

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    we dont even have the rovers clap clap clap thing anymore in the stand.....

theres only one thing for it...they have to sell alcohol in the blue stand and then the shed and the jinks avenue brigade will unite together!!!:}
    i agree!

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover
    i agree!
    ID required though .

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    The whole ground has been quiet, the shed too.
    Its a pity. I don't think Firday night games will help it either.

Quote Originally Posted by nephin
    Its a pity. I don't think Firday night games will help it either.
    Whatever about Friday Nights....Having them on a day that doesn't exist is desprete!

21 Posts
    It livened up a bit in the second half Derry supporters never stopped singing through out the match a fair few of them as well for a Monday night.

Quote Originally Posted by WestBelfastRed
    Taunting the Derry fans when they were leaving the ground with the song “You wish you were back in Derry” was very cruel lads
    or "we're small, but we're better than you!" after they had been calling us a small team in the first half!

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    I heard there was not a bad atmosphere in there tonight ?
    It was all from the Derry fans though.

Quote Originally Posted by Derry City fans
    "What's it like to be Sligo, what's it like to be small, what's it like to never win nothing at all"
    It's ****ing great Derry .

great atmosphere last night...

especially when the shed filled up in the second half

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234