Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Atmosphere: The showgrounds versus away games!

fair play to everyone who made such an effort to improve the atmosphere in the showgies on sat night - it was great to hear it. keep up the good work!

hopefully in the next few weeks we will all unite and bring back the showgrounds roar as sean connor says!! lol

hopefully we can all sing as one voice against dublin....would be a fine site,300+ Rovers fans singing,not just the usuall 80 or so who are the only ones singing on the road.

Same again in terms of wearing the colours and bring flags,drums etc...

I was sitting beside where the Jinx Ave Singers were, and while I dont normally sing or chant, I found it very hard not to join in. Towards the end I did and will next time aswell.
    Well Done Lads

Quote Originally Posted by kkontour
    I was sitting beside where the Jinx Ave Singers were, and while I dont normally sing or chant, I found it very hard not to join in. Towards the end I did and will next time aswell.
    Well Done Lads
    Good stuff! Don't be shy.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

You'd never know what would come out of this!!!!!
    If my memory is correct, thats where Westlife made their debut.
    Look what happened them
    Last edited by Redzer; 04/04/2006 at 10:38 AM.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

so your suggesting we form a huge boy band,all dress the same(in this case rovers colours) and sing our hearts out.......im in!!!

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    so your suggesting we form a huge boy band,all dress the same(in this case rovers colours) and sing our hearts out.......im in!!!
    We could sing "Were flying without wingers"

Can I have your autographs??

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Things aint what they used to be Hamish. It was silent a
    lot the last few seasons. But were slowly getting it back now, it's certainly
    improving.
    There has been little or no athmosphere in The Showgounds for about 3
    years or more. Its the same with most Div 1 clubs, ourselves included.
    Kind of a sing when your winning. The year of the treble was electric.

After we lost out on promotion you could hear a pin drop in Mels. Since last
    season and the formation of Mad As Cootes we've been trying to get the
    place going again, but its hard to get people singing, Cootes included, when
    things aren't going great on the pitch.

During the Dundalk game (won 2-0) we got a nice bit going in the 2nd half,
    but in the League Cup game against Bohs (lost 0-4) we couldn't even muster
    up "De Athlone" chant.

Have to say though the last away game of last season we got a nice reception
    in Harloes when we put up the Cootes banner in the pub and 7
    of us started a bit of a sing. Then everyone joined in when the video being shown
    showed Paugie Moran scoring a goal
    Last edited by Ash; 06/04/2006 at 10:20 AM.

Yee were great craic up the railway end last season, some good songs lads...

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    I tell you want damaged the Atmosphere in the Showgrounds was IMO the new stand and to a lesser extent the Dressing rooms going underneath it ! Like to be fair to a view a game the new stand is very good and well the Shed is not i think a lot of the charcters left there and can now be found in the main stand !
    Very true RogueTrader I am a shed head pre and post new stand but alot of the old shed heads are indeed in the main stand - some have kids along with them now etc.

The dressing rooms being moved definately changed the atmosphere, remember the roar at start and half time of games when the players were housed in the shed end changing rooms, a kip I grant you but not the same now.

I fear with the committee plans for redevlopment the shed will soon be a thing of the past and that would be a great pity.

First time I was in the shed I was a mere 5 months old.

Lads are we all ready for the Jinksy again on Saturday night? Same story as the Pats Game, The more the merrier!

Cool

I am shocked that Some People seem to have a problem with us trying to generate an atmosphere in a different part of the showgrounds & some people are using this forum to take cheep/petty swipes at what we are trying to do & who’s doing it, COP ON & GET A LIFE……
    As I said before this idea came about at the Derry games when a few old Shed Heads decided that we needed to do something about atmosphere in the showgrounds, the reasons we chose the Jinks avenue stand was 1. Fcuk all people go there 2. it is enclosed, allowing for a better atmosphere 3. we don’t like the shed anymore (its boring & realistically even the New stand is more fun & more comfortable) 4. If the young vibrant Shed Heads! don’t like Drums then the occupants of the Treacy avenue stand, which are predominantly older, wouldn’t either.
    We appealed to everyone to join us some did (Cheers!) & some didn’t (their decision), every one is welcome, members of the clubs, individuals, inbreeds & even Leitrim Folk!!! All supporters of our beloved Bit’O’Red.

A Persons presence dose not mean they condone the actions of everybody there it means we have a common interest in supporting Rovers in the most vocal and what some would say, the best possible way.

Chill out Bravo - do what you want and didn't worry about the knockers! "If you build it, they will come"

I agree that one of the main reason IMO that the showgies has lost some of its atmosphere is that the changing rooms have been moved to the main stand.

I was a former shedite back the the most recent heydays 93-97 when the shed was really rocking. However I don't get to go to the showgrounds that much anymore as I don't live in Sligo. Back in the days the shedheads knew that all the players and managers would have to come by the shed fans before, at half time and after the match and if they wernt performing the shed fans would let them know all about it - the refs were also included in the - what the name of that wee ref from DOnegal that hated us??. That really got the shed going - then we had a little bit of power of at least we thought that we did. Then there was nothing between the shedheads and the players but some chicken wire than had seen much better days. In fact we were so close that the players could smell the booze on Tut Toners breath as he would should at Damien Richardson calling him a "fat, west brit, jackeen, poncy, Dublin coooont" - in fact Rico commented in the press that we were like a bunch of caged animals that were only allowed out on matchdays! Personally I took that as a compliment. My favorite target was Galways finest Dub and former Arsenal trainee (i never believed that) the then Pats manager Fat Pat Dolan.

The last time i was in the Showgies was the Bohs match on Paddy's weekend. The place looked great - very impressive - and the crowd wasn't that bad also. So I bought my half time ticket and programme and headed down towards the shed. To my disappointment there wasn't that many people in there but i put that down to my eagerness to get into the shed as I was 15 minutes early for kick off, however, I didn't fill up much after that and there was only about 30 - 50 people in there.

Also the chants started by the new "leaders" of the shed were abysmal "oh the Bohees are shiiite, oh the Bohees are ****e" "**** the Bohs" and "we hate Bohs, we hate Bohs" - pathetic. All negative chants - back in the days we got behind the team and tried to urge OUR team on and not just slag off the opposition. Needless to say we left at half time and went to the Jinks Ave stand.

What has it been like recently?

Quote Originally Posted by sligobhoy67

TERRIBLE..to say the least...

When are the knocking the shed anyway?
    The sooner the better I say.Build a new one that will attract people into it to get it back to what it used to be.

Quote Originally Posted by sligobhoy67
    Chill out Bravo

the refs were also included in the - what the name of that wee ref from DOnegal that hated us??. Wilfred Wallace, if I am not mistaken!

On the Mend my son!!

good good - anyone remember the wee Donegal refrees name. Willie Wallace or something like that.

Quote Originally Posted by feo123
    this is badly needed! the shed is startin ta become borin thses days!
    dead right!
    Tis bliddy sh!t3 now!

SING YOUR HEART OUT 4 THE LADS!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast