Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: O'Callaghan

Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior
    And I think that was the only tackle on him all night. So precious
    It was the only tackle that injured him, if that's what you mean.

A mate of mine knows a brother of a Drog player who admitted that they deliberately set out to wind up George O'Callaghan in the cup final last season. It worked then; it has failed miserably since. Four sendings off in three games against Cork is more than coincidence and surely Drogheda should focus more on their own undoubted ability rather than change their strategy or whatever because they're playing Cork.

I don't think drogheda were too physical last night which may explain the loss. I don't think george was targetted last night & 1 bad foul by Bradley was standard yellow card stuff but ref was slow reacting which caused the players to "engage" each other.

George was clearly targetted in previous games especially the Setanta Cup game at the corss this season but he has matured this year & seem to relish the attention from opposition players & fans as allows other players to exploit this.

I'm sure other players say things in media interviews just no one pays any attention.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    George was clearly targetted in previous games.
    So f**king what - it happens in football!!

Boy george got 1 tackle in on him lastnight - and I had a problem with that, our players should've been in on him from the first whistle!! Teams can get a long way if they can cut out the oppositions most influencial player
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by JW.
    surely Drogheda should focus more on their own undoubted ability rather than change their strategy or whatever because they're playing Cork.
    Disagree - part of our strategy playing cork should be to cut out the effect of their most influencial player abd let boy george whinge about it all he wants!! It worked in the final

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't think drogheda were too physical last night which may explain the loss. I don't think george was targetted last night & 1 bad foul by Bradley was standard yellow card stuff but ref was slow reacting which caused the players to "engage" each other.

George was clearly targetted in previous games especially the Setanta Cup game at the corss this season but he has matured this year & seem to relish the attention from opposition players & fans as allows other players to exploit this.

I'm sure other players say things in media interviews just no one pays any attention.
    How can you state that boy george has matured ,if anything hes worse than last season.And of course he was targetted in games, hes your playmaker , he needs special attention.If hed keep his big mouth shut and stop winding people up !

Is there an unhealthy obsession with Georgie ??

I was going to write a reply trying to persuade some people besides Cork City fans that what Georgie is saying is right...but then those people like Dodge(moaner as always)and the new breed Drogs fans(where have they all come from)would not understand that Georgie is actually defending all good players in the league..he is a legend in Cork and without doubt the best player in the league...people will say Mc Court is better and others will say hmmm is there anyone else that comes close?... ...to many jealous people around lads...if any of you boys thought Georgie was signing for your clubs in the morning you would wet yourselves...i have great respect for the guy just like i do for all the new generation skillful players in the league that is promoting our game...there are to many people on here that will not agree with fans from any other clubs about anything on here no matter what the subject...try and be honest lads!

Can I be objective here in the George/McCourt debate? For me McCourt is a better player - end of argument.

On the George speaks issue, as a player in the no. 10 mould myself, I do appreciate the point George is making. Last season we (Bohs) got quite a bit of 'roughhouse' attention which went unpunished by referee's. The fact that GOC is a whinging b@st@rd should not take away necessarily from the point. The problem though rests with the referees on this one.

One point to consider here though is that roughhousing goes on in every league. Players from every team in every league come in for this stick and every team in every league has players that give it. That's football. As I said, it's the referees that have to manage it and for a lot of the time, they don't.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson
    Can I be objective here in the George/McCourt debate? For me McCourt is a better player - end of argument.

.....Charles Thompson....i nominate you for the "i dont know much about football award"....

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    .....Charles Thompson....i nominate you for the "i dont know much about football award"....
    Red ... he is entitled to his opinion too though !!
    McCourt is a legend actually ... some of the goals last year were worthy of a showpiece for our league.

I was going to write a reply trying to persuade some people besides Cork City fans that what Georgie is saying is right...but then those people like Dodge(moaner as always)and the new breed Drogs fans(where have they all come from)would not understand that Georgie is actually defending all good players in the league..he is a legend in Cork and without doubt the best player in the league...people will say Mc Court is better and others will say hmmm is there anyone else that comes close?... ...to many jealous people around lads...if any of you boys thought Georgie was signing for your clubs in the morning you would wet yourselves...i have great respect for the guy just like i do for all the new generation skillful players in the league that is promoting our game...there are to many people on here that will not agree with fans from any other clubs about anything on here no matter what the subject...try and be honest lads!
    This boy george thing is getting boring .All cork fans please understand, we think he is a good player but a diving moaning git..Lets get it straight then good player + moaning diving git = hard tackles from opposition players .Its not complicated ...Take a wild stab in the dark on this one...Where do the new breed of drogs fans come from ? um i wonder ? wouldnt be Drogheda would it. As for boy george standing up for all players .Yeah right give me a break !

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Red ... he is entitled to his opinion too though !!
    McCourt is a legend actually ... some of the goals last year were worthy of a showpiece for our league.

Oh dont be so boring Face...he is not entitled to an opinion if i dont like it...

Georgie was up for only one goal in the goal of the season, McCourt had three and all were crackers !!

Tbh, I agree with Georgie here. Not so much the career ending tackles but the pure cynical ones, it was the same on Wes last year. The kind of fouls where players just take the player out when he's beaten them either by just kicking them in the ankle or dragging on the shirt that on the continent are automatic bookings but here your lucky to get a free kick. If you want people to come out and watch the league you need to stamp down on that kind of thing and make the league playable for flair players. The referees just bottle it and never punish the players enough and as a result the flair players are limited and struggle to get into games and the games are scrappy, the Derry Linfield match was a prime example, it was happening to McCourt all night and frees were given but the referees need to book the players too. The referees on the continent clamp down on this and we should follow suit.

Some of you Cork fans really should think before you post. You call the Drogs fans in this thread Johnny come latelys and yet 2 out of 3 of us have earlier "joined dates" to this site than you do (I think the other one probably is a Johnny come lately though )

As for George, he is right, players should get more protection from referees, especially flair players. But for Jebus' sake, not everyone thinks Georgie is the centre of the universe and the best player in the league. If Drogs signed him I wouldn't "wet myself" as you put it. I would actually prefer not to sign him at all and thats nothing to do with the history, I just don't rate him that highly (if you precious Cork fans can actually get your heads around that one!)
    Last edited by WindmillWarrior; 29/03/2006 at 7:06 AM.

to me o'callaghan is just stirring it up after the match. like winmill warrior said, i'm glad that he did not join us. no arguement with his talent, but for the money we were supposedly offering, i wouldn't want a selfish player who goes missing when the ref doesn't give him something for nothing ala the cup final. great player, but he needs a great player (gamble) beside him at all times - now i would love us to sign gamble.

as regards referees not giving protection, that has always been the case. the worst foul i've seen in eL was roy o'donovan against derry in the last game of last season - should have been straight red, could have changed the game and won derry the title, but big crowd and the ref bottled it. (i've probably actually seen some worse - but the replays on tv highlighted how bad this was). nobody called cork a team of kickers that night btw! as for calling drogs a team of kickers - not since the days of martin lawlors team - not that really was a team of kickers

as for drogs and cork - a cup final, league match & two setanta cup matches in the last while, lets just be grateful we don't meet again for a while, cos i think we're starting to get sick of each other

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    not since the days of martin lawlors team - not that really was a team of kickers
    Will ye ever stop having a dig at Lawlor at every opportunity ye get

'now i would love us to sign gamble'

Same here - best midfielder in the league

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Cork City star George O’Callaghan insists the Leesiders are becoming accustomed to the rough-house tactics deployed by some teams against them this season.

Full story here

Seriously, as if ALL teams dont tackle hard, get bookings and players sent off He alsways has somthing to moan or groan about. Wonder what he think of O'Donavan ?

Says the fella who always moans and niggles at Cork let it go Roo let it go son!

The point is, George deliberately goes out to wind people up, and now he moans about the way he's being targetted. Watch him during a match, he's always talking to the opposition, and you can be sure he's not enquiring after their father's health.
    Mark Rutherford is another one who has taken a serious amount of abuse down through the years, yet he always picks himself up and gets on with it. Now he is a true professional.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast