Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What have you ever won?

What have you ever won?

I just won a keg in Uni and it got me thinking, what have all of ye won before? anyone ever won a car/the lotto?
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

3,223 Posts
    Gonzaga chess tournament 2006 (Major section, 1200-1600 rating). E125. Also won £40 at bingo about 15 years ago. And thats about it...

A cousin of my mum's won the £250,000 on the wheel on Winning Streak. It was during the summer though, so it wasn't televised. He apparently stuck it all in the bank and kept at the farming.

My grandmother won a car in some local GAA lottery once as well. Don't think she ever learnt to drive though, so just took the cash equivalent and all us grandkids got £100 each or something.

I had 3 winning tickets in a raffle at a gardening exhibition once. All three prizes were the same Gerry Daly gardening book.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I had 3 winning tickets in a raffle at a gardening exhibition once. All three prizes were the same Gerry Daly gardening book.
    Nice, well you can never have enough Gerry Daly gardening books Peadar!

Won a few prizes in raffles etc, nothing major.

The mam was a part of a syndicate that won the lotto, there was 2 winning tickets and about 20 of them in the syndicate !

30 Posts
    I won a Celtic quizbook and a Man U -v- Everton DVD on A2ZSoccer.com
    last year.

Apart from that I've won bugger all.

Won Ireland friendly stand match tickets on Newstalk. Also won 20" pizza which was horrible

111 Posts
    £40 in the lotto, a special Uncle Larry club pen in the kids section of the Longford News and thats it....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

I won an extra value meal at McDonalds once on one of their scratch card thingy's and that's about it.

Some of you might have seen Maggie Reilly singing "Moonlight Shadow" on the Phil Coulter show last season. She had a big hit with it back in the 19802 with Mike Oldfield.
    Maggie sang for a short period with Dublin band Stagalee and they played a live gig here in Beeslow in the early 80s. She sounds really girly on Moonlight Shadow but at that gig she was fffing and blinding all night - real hard-ass harridan.
    Anyway, I had bought a ticket for a prize of a bottle of whiskey before the gig. During a song break I made my way to the mens' jacks which was located to the left of the stage.
    As I exited the jacks, I heard this deafening roar over the PA, "Hey you, ya fcuker, come up here and pull out a ticket for the raffle".
    Quickly, I realised that Ms. Reilly was roaring at me.
    Anyhoo, I pulled out a ticket and handed it to her.
    As I took my place with my mates at a table in front of the stage, she was yelling why nobody would come forward to collect their prize so she called up someone else to pull another ticket.
    All during this I was fiddling in my pocket trying to find my ticket and just as someone collected the bottle of whiskey, I pulled out my ticket.
    Yep, you guessed it, I had pulled out my own "winning" ticket and just didn't find it in time.
    To add insult to inuury, I hadn't even the satisfaction of getting laid with the bird I was doing some heavy duty chatting up at that table.

Two "prizes" pullled and both lost on the same night.
    The lads gave me a ferocious slagging, I'll tell ya, that night.

I can laugh about it now.

I won a free season ticket to watch UCD last season. I already had one but it meant I could bring a mate in for free.

I won tickets to see bosco when I was younger and my mam forgot to bring me!! Never got over it
    Won 2 bottles of win in a "raffle" at a longford town quiz-Alan Matthews picking my tickets-funny night
    Won €25 in Town lotto
    Won about €200 in prize bonds there a while ago

Think thats about it
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

I won a boxing trophy last year
    Indeed...........

There's a good few things, but nothing noteworthy except winning a 32inch widescreen tv and stand etc. in 5th Year and tickets to Anfield way back in 1997....

I won tickets to see bosco when I was younger and my mam forgot to bring me!!
    Last edited by dfx-; 22/03/2006 at 3:35 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Won a competition in the Mirror to be their football family of the month(My sister entered). We got a trophy, picture in the mirror, free Macdonalds vouchers, were entered into a draw for world cup tickets oh and we got free tickets to see Arsenal

Quote Originally Posted by ali2005
    I won a boxing trophy last year
    Strange prize to have in a raffle....

I remeber winning the film, a few good men in Dunnes Stores when I was around 8. It was a 7up competition and you had to write why you liked the 7up man so much so I wrote, he's cool, he's radical and I like him! oh yeah! worst thing was that I was too young to collect the video, still haven't watched it!

230 Posts
    I won a green card..
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    I won a free season ticket to watch UCD last season. I already had one but it meant I could bring a mate in for free.
    Almost forgot, I won the half time raffle in Belfield once, Aberdonian Stu won it the following week. That caused some controversy as the two of us were in charge of selling the tickets at the time.

3,223 Posts
    I won that the only time the prize was something decent (ten prizes of a camera against Rovers the game after Doc O'Neill died).

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast