Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: 3 Questions

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    No !!!

Fact is as Sec of the SC last year I had dealings with people whose cars were broken into whilst at the match

stats are great things all the same

Quote Originally Posted by Brucie
    I think you protest too much "Lim till I Die" !!!

All the lads have benn saying is True We will never get massive crowds there :

Parking brutal and yes, not Secure
    Poor entrance to ground - dark and threatening
    Awful facilities

need i Go on for more
    All cars were secure at the Pike and nobody went. The entrance was lovely and bright and nobody went. There was a bar there and nobody went. Maybe nobody went because of the out-of-town location - which is my point about new greenfield sites!! Or else nobody went because we were so sh1te.

We don't get massive crowds in Hogan Park imo because we are a middle of the table first division club. Even at that we get better crowds than most other first division clubs currently. Even with taking your life in your hands going to matches and the raping and pillaging hordes of locals that sit in wait for poor Limerick fans on Friday nights.

IMO if Limerick are challenging for promotion at the end of the season crowds of 1,500 to 2,000 would be common place - even in Hogan Park.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

All I say is true but agree with ya on the facts of the team. If we won alot of matches we would get better support...then again if we did not have a pi** poor manager that may be possible..

All people on this board are saying and, it is fair comment, that the Ground is not ideally located and in a state of disrepair, burgled often, Merchandise stolen, Cabins vandelised ...and cars broken into. These are facts gentlemn not HYBERBOLE!!!!

Stop denying reality

"raping and pillaging hordes " - would make the matches a bit more exciting maybe

the Ground is not ideally located
    That is what we are debating - that's not a fact, that's an opinion.

and in a state of disrepair
    A blind dog with a mallet up his ar$e can see that - which is why it has never been disputed.

burgled often,
    Often? How often is often? I know of one break in where the merchandise was stolen last season. Also there was the guy that broke into the dressing room this season.

Merchandise stolen
    Yep, got that one - but isn't that making two points out of one?

...and cars broken into
    . Can you say how many? Is it more than are broken into at other sporting events in the city. I have mentioned this seven or eight times already but nobody has taken me up on it. I do not deny cars are broken into - but does the number of cars tampered with justify the comments made about the area.

These are facts gentlemn not HYBERBOLE!!!!
    While we seem to have different definitions of what a fact is - there are loads of examples earlier of hyperbole.

Stop denying reality
    I don't think I am denying reality. I am trying to figure out if the perception of problems matches the reality. I have never ever had any problem going to a game at Hogan Park. There is a danger here that people take a few incidents and create a perception that you are taking your life in your hands going to Hogan Park and that stops more people from going. Every other Friday a few hundred people drive to the match - how many have problems. I'm just looking for some perspective here.

Also, on a related note - I can think of no ground in the eL or any other Irish sport for that matter that provides a supervised car park. Do we know if the level of car vandalism at Limerick matches is greater than at any other eL or Irish sporting ground?
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 06/04/2006 at 1:29 PM.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Ah yeah you know what you are right !!!. It the nicest part of town full of charming people...god Help us oh and very safe too for all manner of parking

super blues

I take it your not from the south side of town!!!!!!!

County Man myself...btw what happened de Buses. They were great getting you in safely to the ground without running the gauntlet of the local boyz in de Hood

Car Parks is it you want :
    Galway Utd - Supervised Car Park
    Kilkenny City - also
    Athlone in the new Groundwill have one
    Dublin city- old pitch (Home Farm) Whitehall
    Pike Rovers

Anyway has de lease been signed as we hared weeks ago that is was all agreed if it is when is the fat boy coming ?

How will pat Dolan be able to manage his Duties with Limerick- if he signs !! and his duties as one of RTE's foremost Experts on soccer. Will it work like stan Staunton and Bobby Robbo!!! Dream partnerships ehhh. Maybe if Dolan comes in He might send O'conner out of the clubhouse when its time to pick the team and talk tictaks!!!!!

In my nineteen years supporting Limerick, most of which has been spent supporting them in Rathbane, I have never seen or heard of anyone being assaulted or coming into contact with harm done to them by some other! To suggest that this is an unsafe place is akin to an Irelands eye article of the mid seventies, warning its readers of the dangers of urban dwelling. When Limerick played in the markets field cars were broken into on a weekly basis, Munster have a 100 cars a game problem, Limerick have had a few, possible up to and beyond 6, in the time that I have been supporting them that I have heard about or seen. (I saw two on the night we got the floodlights)

So the idea that your car or indeed yourself could come into harm by attending a Limerick game is, quite frankly rubbish. To be honest I don’t know where this negativity about the ground is suddenly coming from. One minute everyone is jumping around the place in the hope that we can get a lease and develop the ground, the next thing a walk to the ground might result in vampires falling from the threes to suck your blood. Coming from an area not dissimilar to the Rathbane area I too would feel hurt by some of the comments posted in this thread.

To answer an earlier question, yes the idea of opening up the far side of the ground is high on the agenda should the lease be signed. And as one poster also pointed out if and when Rathbane (situated on a link road on the edge of the city) is developed, it would be far better then any green field site, in fact id say its better right now. Sone of the comments posted on this thread just leave me lost for words cos their so incorrect and so ill informed. Come on support your blues!

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Some of the comments posted on this thread just leave me lost for words cos their so incorrect and so ill informed. Come on support your blues!
    I'll second that, the amount of negativity from some people beggars belief, Hogan Park ****hole this and that, we need to move to a greenfield site........... WHERE even if they did find somewhere, there would still be someone moaning about that place also. Hogan Park has a lot of potential, and I do believe that in the future the whole area will be cleaned up, Jaysus I'm sure that the people involved in the new hotel accross the road had their research done before buying that site to build. If we can get access from where Roxboro Swimming Pool was,and use it as a car park/entrance(supervised), well at least it'll stop some people worrying about their car getting torched or otherwise, even though I have never witnessed any trouble in or around the ground myself. With all the negativity going around not one of the pessimists mentioned the work done in the ground this season (at the far side all round),it may not look much but I'd say it cost a few euro's and all out of DD'S pocket also , as no lease has been signed yet. My only critisism is that we have no website or an official voice to let us know the day to day happenings of the club, that is vital if we are to exist and increase a fan base at least............... everything should come together if and when Da Priest comes outta hiding.
    We've only played 2 games, hopefully by next Sat, things will be looking rosier on the pitch at least with 3 home games coming up, the lease is a big thorn at the moment, and I don't think it's DD's fault, give the guy/club a break, Rome wasn't built in a day. As Trev, said Support your Blues
    Last edited by Westside; 07/04/2006 at 3:47 AM.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

"I have never seen or heard of anyone being assaulted or coming into contact with harm done to them by some other! To suggest that this is an unsafe place is akin to an Irelands eye article of the mid seventies, warning its readers of the dangers of urban dwelling"

There is none so blind as those who wont see is my answer. They way ye talk anyone would think it was Old Trafford situated in Bev Hills.Also a statement of fact is no attack pesronllay on anybody.Typical Limerick city defensive attitude.Why has Southhill,Rathbane world famous not for the view I'd say its for the Drugs,Car robbing, Horses and Caravans

Typical Limerick city defensive attitude.Why has Southhill,Rathbane world famous not for the view I'd say its for the Drugs,Car robbing, Horses and Caravans
    World Famous???? Ya must have missed the expose on last nights 60 minutes with Dan Rather and Connie Chung risking their lives standing outside the Galvone in flak-jackets, microphones defiantly held aloft with cameras capturing the drama. Shur over in France didn't they cut into their coverage of last weeks protests to show a live feed from Carew Park to assure all the concerned French citizens that all was quiet....

Your post my friend is frankly embarressing

"Your post my friend is frankly embarressing "

Spellings ...dey teach ye nuthing in school these days ?

no attack pesronllay on anybody.
    What's that you're saying about spellings?

Typical Limerick city defensive attitude.Why has Southhill,Rathbane world famous not for the view I'd say its for the Drugs,Car robbing, Horses and Caravans
    As for grammar....

Youseem to be big on the old sayings there Brucie. Ever hear about the glass houses one?

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    What's that you're saying about spellings?

As for grammar....

Youseem to be big on the old sayings there Brucie. Ever hear about the glass houses one?

Just beat me to it LFCIE....

Glad to see that Gael brought up 'precious' Munster's problems with cars being broken into, its not just a LFC problem guys, in fact Munster fans have it a lot worse than we do. That said I suppose Thomond Park is still in and around Limerick City, and those defensive *******s will have your pubic hair shaved and ready to sell on their market stalls within 10 minutes of entering the city, eh Brucie?

Complete garbage has been spouted in this thread verging on Irish Independent levels of bigotry towards Limerick and it's people. Maybe I'm missing all the dead bodies lining the path into the ground, but last I time I checked those stats, the muder and assault levels for Limerick City were lower than that of Glaway, Cork, Dublin and Kilkenny (if you count that as a city) in the last two years.

As for debating the actual topic of whether or not we should look for alternatives to Hogan Park, I think LFC In Exiles arguments say it all, and its not often myself and In Exile see eye to eye on anything, so either Brucie has got my temper up so much that I'm not thinking straight, or this is a wonderful day in the history of this board indeed!

get some friday feeling lads and relax.

"I have never seen or heard of anyone being assaulted or coming into contact with harm done to them by some other! To suggest that this is an unsafe place is akin to an Irelands eye article of the mid seventies, warning its readers of the dangers of urban dwelling"

There is none so blind as those who wont see is my answer. They way ye talk anyone would think it was Old Trafford situated in Bev Hills.Also a statement of fact is no attack pesronllay on anybody.Typical Limerick city defensive attitude.Why has Southhill,Rathbane world famous not for the view I'd say its for the Drugs,Car robbing, Horses and Caravans
    Have you ever been assaulted going into the ground?

Has anyone with you ever been assaulted going into the ground?

To all those who can't enjoy the games because of their fear of being raped and pillaged at half-time I would respectfully suggest that they look into supporting the hockey team at Catholic Institute or perhaps the basketballers out in the UL Arena. Nobody is claiming that Rathbane is in the middle of some affluent haven of commerce but given that I've never been threatened up there (or even felt threatened) in any way I must be a whole lot tougher looking than I feel.

There were widepspread proclamations of doom predicting widespread violence and carnage when we played in Pike that came to nothing.

That said until/unless we get a lease I think we're wasting our time up there too.

on the issue of hogan park it isn't great but with a lease maybe then a clubhouse things could be turned round.as for the area i walked back to tesco's then towards the galvone after my only appearance last season and felt rather lonely not a soul in sight the odd mini riot would have made good spectator sport compared to the game.seriously if limerick are going to attract the support they hope for the city dwellers will have to come out in vast no's and these people will probably come from similiar type's of areas and i'm sure you'll all get on fine as football is a great leveller

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast