Thread: Rovers 1-3 Derry

Rovers 1-3 Derry

listenened to the game on radio,Rovers seemed outplayed first half,but seemed to create more chances in the 2nd half,Liam Maloney said that 3-1 was not a desrerved scoreline,anyone at the game agree with him?

The commentator on oceanfm said it was a deserved win for Derry.

An absolute walkover is how I would describe it. We never got out of first gear because we didn't need to. First half was a joke as a contest but we tried to walk the ball into the net as usual. Second half was equally as one sided, when we scored one Sligo needed an equaliser and pushed out allowing us to score more. A black fella came on for Rovers and seemed more effective than the battering ram of the first half.

Sligo will stay up because you didn't actually look a bad side more our midfield outplayed your own. Really good turn out support wise from Rovers but fairly quiet especially after we scored.

Who is your number 3? Must be about 15 stone.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza

keith foy?

The very man , apparently had a howler of a backpass that led to the penalty.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    no he didnt...it was mcnamara that gave the horrible back pass.
    Foy was class tonight,Mc court got around him once all night and he was the only one.carrying weight but he can still beat players to the ball and tackle hard.

An absolute walkover is how I would describe it. We never got out of first gear because we didn't need to. First half was a joke as a contest but we tried to walk the ball into the net as usual. Second half was equally as one sided, when we scored one Sligo needed an equaliser and pushed out allowing us to score more. A black fella came on for Rovers and seemed more effective than the battering ram of the first half.

Sligo will stay up because you didn't actually look a bad side more our midfield outplayed your own. Really good turn out support wise from Rovers but fairly quiet especially after we scored.

ye were class but wouldnt call it a walk over...more of a "welcome to the premier league".
    Darren Mansaram was the lad who came on and made a dope of yer defence....
    Hughes and foy were good aswell but the rest were not at the races.......

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    The commentator on Ocean said Foy did it so I'd say that's where Gus heard it

ye were class.
    Say no more

Mansaram looked a busy wee player but I don't know how you seen him make "a dope of our defence from your end" considering the view you are complaining about in el main section. He was clueless when he actually got the ball.

You will stay up for defenite but I think you looked for the draw because I can't think of one chance you had.

Why did your keeper not get a red? Only in the EL would a keeper take a player down and the ref give a peno therefore acknowledging that Farren was in on goal and the Keeper not walk.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    For long spells We were destroyed on the right FAZ was TERRIBLE! Leaving Peers exposed and leading to 1 if not two of the goals, Mckenzie came on and done a better job at right Full, Foy (tinky-winky) done well enough, Mc Court was a class above (could have Bet us on his own) the side the Gaffer finished with is nearly his best. Drop Faz (needs an arse kicking) & put Peers in there? Our defencie was panickey putting O’Hara under needless pressure at times e.g. The Peno (McNamara). Fair play to Derry if yer challenging I’m rooting for ye.

All in all: Boys against Men. We weren’t bad just not good enough.

BRING ON LONGFORD!
    Last edited by Bravo; 25/03/2006 at 7:37 AM.

the ref give a peno therefore acknowledging that Farren was in on goal
    There's an interesting idea. What would it have been if he wasn't in on goal? An indirect free-kick?

Anyway. As someone already said, wlecome to the Premier. Now we can have no doubts about the standard we have to compare with.
    My prediction for last night was a 2-0 loss. I was optimistic at half-time, but I suppose it's lessons learned and move on.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader
    Talked to two different people who were at the game said Foy was very good !
    Not saying he wasnt just saying that they said on Ocean FM that he was at fault with the back pass which subsequently people at the game said it was McNamara.

Thumbs down

Foy was class tonight,Mc court got around him once all night and he was the only one.carrying weight but he can still beat players to the ball and tackle hard.
    Foy i thought played very well!mc court was moved over to the right in the second half and foy had the measure of him and mc court knew it to!But i think were very poor up front!It looks like it,s going to be a long season!Cant wait to here what the great Sean Conors has to say!

Faz had a shocker AGAIN last night! he really should have been subbed i think but it was good craic until we went 2-0 down...just sorta went flat after that

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover
    Faz had a shocker AGAIN last night! he really should have been subbed i think but it was good craic until we went 2-0 down...just sorta went flat after that

ah when we scored it was good...

faz was poor alright....so was peers

manseram is class....

im worried about where the goal will come from

it wasnt a walkover and with a bit of luck we could have been level or at least 3-2

"walk the ball in the net"

not really....mc court just got by us and our keeper and defence kept ye out for a while...

good to be back though

Quote Originally Posted by red metal
    Cant wait to here what the great Sean Conors has to say!
    Don't know about him but i would like to hear what Sean Connor has to say

Does anyone else get annoyed when people refer to the Premier Division as "the Premiership"?

I know it's something silly but just p!sses me off, even Sean Connor calls it that sometimes.

Sean is the only person that calls it the premiership.....

and its all the time...