Thread: Rovers 1-3 Derry

beaten by the better team! its not a really bad result considerin there argubally the 2nd best team in the country! we gave away 2 very poor goals and one own goal apart from them they never created too many clear chances! Mansaram shud start on monday!!

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    Sean is the only person that calls it the premiership.....
    I've heard fans calling it that too...

Fair play to Sligo,your fans did you's proud last night.Very colourful,can't beat the red and white stripes lads,i thought yous' came to support us.LOL.

Anyway,you look a decent side,far better than UCD who we played a few weeks ago.Look forward to our trip to Sligo as i has always been an enjoyable away trip.Great town...

We were beaten out the gate. tbh it could have been 4 or 5. Derry were a yard or two faster to react. Our lads were very slow. Even our passing was slow while Derry's passing was very crisp. Have to say that few of our new signings impressed.

Think some of ye are going overboard on how good Foy was. He took 2 corners and they dribbled towards the near post and he hit a free straight into the wall. I know he delivered the corner for the goal but that had as much to do with Mansaram putting the keeper under pressure.

In fairness,McT was unlucky and got very little service.

Conor O'Grady was the only one i thought that could hold his head up high afterwards.

Quote Originally Posted by redrov2005

Think some of ye are going overboard on how good Foy was. He took 2 corners and they dribbled towards the near post and he hit a free straight into the wall. I know he delivered the corner for the goal but that had as much to do with Mansaram putting the keeper under pressure.

dont think we are going over the top with him at all.
    yes he put in two bad corners but didnt see anyone else wanting to take them........apart from that he didnt put a foot wrong and was the only one who could handle McCourt.
    Give it a month or so and you will be a fan of his.

Smile derry v rovers

i was at the match. just to clear a few things up on comments made. mcnamara layed the back pass short that led to the penalty although he didnt have a bad game overall. our front two mctiernan ( particularly him) and flannery were not forward enough and to pedestrian. my opinion is that mct is not good enough. faz can do some great things (like the pass he gave flannery in first half) but he needs to get more involved. ogrady dissapointed me in my opinion he nedds to be more aware as in the two games so far he was caught in posession to much. overall the defence was fairly resulute but mc court gave peers a hard time soley because he didnt cut him off (gave him to much space). hughes had a good game and was always trying , foy may be still a bit overweight but showed his class nad when mccourt switched foy didnt givre him a sniff. when mansaram came on we had much more impetus and looked a lot more menacing. judge wasnt on long enough but i would start with those two up front on monday . they have much more variation to there play than mct. and flannery. overall reality has being brought home to s.c. if he can refocus the team for monday we have a chance. i expect us to at least draw and maybe sneak it provided he starts with the 11 that finished although i would still consider peers

Would it be fair in saying that adam hughes has being our best player so far after the two games. Wasnt at the derry game but was prob our most creative player against bohs.

Who was you number 8????

2 good feet and may have been more effective in the middle.

2 front men were unimpressive, but the guy Mansaram looked very useful.

Not a great game but good to see some decent away support.

Quote Originally Posted by Krstic
    Who was you number 8????

2 good feet and may have been more effective in the middle.
    Wasn't at the game but presume it was Turner? or maybe Hughes?.

probably Chris Turner the Northern Ireland U-19 Captain

I see they showed some highlights, mainly all the goals on the BBC NI football results at 5pm this evening.

think red arrow is pretty much spot on. foy was our best player last night and over both games so far i've been seriously impressed. hughes was probably the only other player who could be happy with their performance. i think o'grady adjusted a little too well to the 1st div as his passing etc is not what it should be although his workrate is still spot on. mct was good last week but perhaps he should have scored considering he played well but this week he was terrible, he just can't hold on to the ball. the pass back was just unforgivable but mcnamara reacted well and showed the hunger to get a goal and won everything after that. turner should be disappointed with himself for not having more of an influence on the game considering the talent he has. o'hara made some decent saves but needs to be needs to be a lot calmer cos he slices every back pass. faz let himself down again. flannery did ok in 1st half but will lose his place if not better. mansaram was brillant when he came on and i'd be shocked if he doesn't start on monday.

realistically we shouldn't be expecting to get anythin in the brandywell at this stage so the lessons that were taught will be invaluable and i expect us to bounce back on monday.

turner was no.14 i can't remember who was no.8 but i'd say it was hughes.
    surprised no1 has mentioned the shaved heads
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

no. 8 was Faz and he had a shocker

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    surprised no1 has mentioned the shaved heads
    Who's that?.

yeah....nearly half the team had shaved heads! peers, turner, mckenzie, judge, brush. all the new players! must have been for a laugh as they probably find sligo more boring than edinburgh, derby and what not!
    turner must always want the no.14 jersey! must think he's johan cruyff!

no they probably have squad numbers and he is 14

no coz mckenzie was 17 this week nd 16 last week! maybe ur right tho....we'll havta see tomorrow nite if mansaram is startin coz he has been 12 for the last 2 games! nd he cud be 9or10 tomorrow!?

bit stupid having squad numbers without names..

Has Foy shaved his hair?? Its much nicer short.

mvjpmcl

subs v Derry

How's it going and hope anyone can help? Can anyone supply me with a list of the subs and their numbers for the match v Derry?

thanks