Thread: Pats for Richmond

42 Posts

Pats for Richmond

Pats For Richmond is a new grouping of Pats fans, whose purpose we hope is self-explanatory. We intend lobbying both inside the club, among the fan base and among the general public to achieve this objective.

The following open letter has been sent to the club Board.

OPEN LETTER TO THE BOARD OF ST. PATRICK’S ATHLETIC F.C.

Dear Board,

Pats For Richmond is a group of St. Patrick’s Athletic fans that has come together because of a shared concern about the future of the club we support.

In particular, we are committed to the principle that the best future of the club lies in continuing the development of Richmond Park, the traditional home with which the club is identified.

We wish to strongly refute the recent statement to the media by Stephen Connolly, Secretary of the club, in which he stated that members of the club’s Patrons Scheme felt that “the principle of groundsharing is not a bad one.” All of us attended the recent Patrons Scheme meeting and the overwhelming mood of the meeting was NOT in favour of groundsharing - the clear preference was to maintain and develop Richmond Park.

Arising from our concerns, we have a number of questions to which we would like the club to provide definitive, unambiguous answers in the match programme, through the media, or both.

Specifically:

* Do the Board agree that development of Richmond Park is a viable long-term proposal?

* Has the club conducted detailed research into the cost of developing Richmond Park and if so, will they share that information with supporters?

* Have any formal discussions been requested by any third party regarding the possibility of playing home games anywhere other than Richmond Park?

* Have the club entered into discussions with any third party, either at the request of others or on the club’s own initiative, regarding the same possibility and if so, what was the nature of those discussions?

* Would the Board decide to play home games anywhere other than Richmond Park if that was against the clearly expressed wishes of the majority of supporters?

We believe that we represent the views of the majority of St. Patrick’s Athletic fans. We are not hostile to the Board and this open letter should not be viewed as an attack on the Board, but instead, it should be seen as a reflection of our concern and support for the club we love.

Yours...

Just a quick question about the ground tomorrow;

Will the whole ground be open or just the main stand
    Who Cares?!

Main Stand, Camac & Shed will be open tomorrow according to the club.
    Dunno wha state they'll be in but thats what they're saying....

3,491 Posts
    Best of luck with it.

I firmly believe that groundsharing is wrong. There's no basis for it in Genesis - it just outs and says "it's good". There's never been anything to justify it. The amount of money it would take from the Government to fully upgrade the 22 eL stadia to UEFA Licencing griteria would probably be spent in a month or two on horse racing subsidies.

The amount of money it would take from the Government to fully upgrade the 22 eL stadia to UEFA Licencing griteria would probably be spent in a month or two on horse racing subsidies
    and the amount of money horse racing brings back compared to the eircom league is the same is it?

Its great to see the hotels of longford booked out with the 10's and 10's of welsh fans coming over for the UEFA Cup and like the time Dublin was awash with 7 lads from Malta in the Champions League!!
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    and the amount of money horse racing brings back compared to the eircom league is the same is it?
    I never said that. My point is that it's not as if the Government simply can't afford to help clubs improve their grounds - in fact, the outlay would be fairly minimal, especially as it'd be largely once-off.

Totally agree with you Pineapple about the groundsharing here. I can`t justify groundsharing here at the expenses of knocking down Tolka/Richmond. These are another 2 eircom league grounds in dublin been knocked down for the developers. We`ll be left with just Dalymount,Belfield and Tallaght in Dublin. And from reading the Independent yday it sounds like the GAA are doing all in their power to get their hands on Tallaght as well.

Dont agree about the government, while they should give some backing its up to our clubs to do more to become self sustainable and develop stadiums ourselves(wishful thinking i know).

best of luck to the Pats fans

42 Posts
    higgins if they did spend that money on the grounds do you not think then maybe things would improve and we would see the el in turn bring in more money

Could work out all in shels favour!

From reading the bohs mb and talking to a few bohs supporters, that chances are that Bohs won't be letting them into Dalyer. Wouldn't be surprised to see them out in Tallaght??

How much would it cost to bring inchicore up to uefa a standard (and is it possible)?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    I firmly believe that groundsharing is wrong. There's no basis for it in Genesis - it just outs and says "it's good". There's never been anything to justify it. The amount of money it would take from the Government to fully upgrade the 22 eL stadia to UEFA Licencing griteria would probably be spent in a month or two on horse racing subsidies.
    My thoughts exactly.
    Cue chorus of self-defeating 'realists' and 'pragmatists' who buy into the status quo that has football as the permanent poor relation. Good luck to the Richmond rebels. Pats deserve a proper stadium of their own.

Honestly not that much Cosmo. We're in the middle of spending approx €700K on ground improvements. Most of the basic work is there and the setting/size is fine. I'd guess that given €2 million we could make Richmond into 6,000 all seater stadium with all mod cons

Please try & keep this theard on topic as there is already a ground sharing thread. This thread should be about Pats for Richmond group...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Please try & keep this theard on topic as there is already a ground sharing thread. This thread should be about Pats for Richmond group...
    ......which is about proposed groundsharing. Isn't that why they've set up Pats for Richmond? Sometimes the on-topic policing on here goes way OTT.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

FFS pete...

There is already a thread on ground shraing in eL forum & this had already drifted off into Bohs & Shels groundshare issues.. Then again this not my section...

I have to say fair play to the Pats for Richmond group and best of luck in your efforts!!

You lads stand to lose the most from the groundsharing idea!!!

Best of luck pats fans. richmond is one of the great irish football stadiums and i hope it stays that way for many years to come.

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12
    higgins if they did spend that money on the grounds do you not think then maybe things would improve and we would see the el in turn bring in more money
    Going on the track record of the clubs and how they have spent the previous monies I wouldnt think they all wont be back for another handout in X amount of years time.

Just seems to be a lack of helping yourself in the EL and comparing it with horse racing is a non runner

Im not all on for groundsharing either and would hate Shels moving into dalymount. My first choice would be for Shels to get a site big enough to house more then just a pokey little pitch and 4 stands. Same goes for everyone else in the league.

Pats staying in Richmond has its own restrictions as Im sure they are aware and although it does for now if the league is to become as popular as what the FAI say it might then putting money into Tolka and Richmond is not the way forward.

Not against any team having their own ground, Id love us all to have our own but putting money into grounds that are never going to be anything but hassle has to be looked at.
    www.ssdg.ie

Best of luck to the Pats' fans, because there really is no place like home. Good to see fans taking the initiative rather than waiting for things to happen - Shels' fans take heed.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord
    Best of luck to the Pats' fans, because there really is no place like home. Good to see fans taking the initiative rather than waiting for things to happen - Shels' fans take heed.
    So the meetings held in Tolka discussion the ground sharing options where what exactly?

I believe Pats are trying to get answers to their future ?
    Shels already got the answers from Ollie in those supporters meetings and through talking to the man himself.

The fact Ollie owns shels and can more or less do what he likes is somewhat lost on you.

I know you go to Shelsweb Billy Lord so Im somewhat amazed you can come out with that ****.
    www.ssdg.ie