Thread: Pats for Richmond

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    So the meetings held in Tolka discussion the ground sharing options where what exactly?

I believe Pats are trying to get answers to their future ?
    Shels already got the answers from Ollie in those supporters meetings and through talking to the man himself.

The fact Ollie owns shels and can more or less do what he likes is somewhat lost on you.

I know you go to Shelsweb Billy Lord so Im somewhat amazed you can come out with that ****.
    Ollie may own Shels but some minimal sleuthing by some of your more mature/intelligent fans would uncover
    the mess you are in . May I suggest the Dublin City Development Plan 2005-2011 and related planning documents re: area action plans as a starting point. Ollie's crock of gold from the sale of Tolka is far from guaranteed. Ollie has gambled big and your endgame is drawing nearer.If you survive it will be as junior partners in Tallaght or tenants in Dalymount Park. I don't say this out of malice but from an examination of the information available in the public realm. I suggest anyone serious about the future of your club to start digging...

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    ......which is about proposed groundsharing. Isn't that why they've set up Pats for Richmond? Sometimes the on-topic policing on here goes way OTT.
    Agreed. Groundsharing is an issue that directly affects four Dublin clubs which some would like to see Corked into two. It's a mite difficult to speak about one club in isolation.
    Pete, do you go around at parties wearing a special armband, telling people not to have separate conversations? The fact that it's not your thread makes it worse, not better!

70 Posts
    Richmond has easily enough room to bring it up to uefa standard and would only costin the region of €2m which is fairly cheap...
    i for one would be very disappointed to see richmond turned into apartments, hang on to it at ALL costs!

Best of luck to Pat's, good idea and I hope it works out for them in Richmond.

btw what ever happened to that Derry City pressure group, re: the Brandywell?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe
    Don't agree about the government, while they should give some backing it's up to our clubs to do more to become self sustainable and develop stadiums ourselves(wishful thinking i know).
    Not saying the Government should just build the grounds for the clubs - they should provide a percentage of grant aid, as they do - but some people will have you believe that the Government simply have no interest in even partially funding 22 grounds, when it's quite clear that in reality, the money required wouldn't be hugely significant in the greater scheme of things.

Quote Originally Posted by bad mongo
    Ollie may own Shels but some minimal sleuthing by some of your more mature/intelligent fans would uncover
    the mess you are in . May I suggest the Dublin City Development Plan 2005-2011 and related planning documents re: area action plans as a starting point.
    Didn't the shel's fanzine do something like that and then clamb up after a meeting with Ollie?

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans
    btw what ever happened to that Derry City pressure group, re: the Brandywell?
    In the words of one of my least admired politicians, we haven't gone away you know.

Regular letters in the local press, appearances on local media, banners at the game, meetings with councillors etc.

The club have a consortium talking to the council trying to broker a deal.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Alot of coverage in todays papers on the pats pressure group!! Saw a decent piece in the mail and its the main back page story in the metro !
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Huge write up in the daily mail. Their only piece on the league, a full page.

http://rapidshare.de/files/16303757/za_mail.pdf

Brilliant. Great to see that the groundshare lobby isn't having it all its own way.

71 Posts

Fair play to all the lads involved and best of luck to them.

Quote Originally Posted by higgins
    and the amount of money horse racing brings back compared to the eircom league is the same is it?
    Are you including the VAT on Petfood then?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Fair play to all the lads involved and best of luck to them.
    I'd like to endorse Poor Student's support of Pats For Richmond!

Horse & Dog racing are an industry not a sport. Funding for those industries should not be included with other sports funding,

The only thing Richmond has got going for itself at the moment are the new toilets - they have hand dryers
    Who Cares?!

Im sick of all this ground share talk with Shels and Bohs. Dalyer is past its day no matter what history is there. It might be alright for one team to play out of there but not too.

What I cant understand is why Shels cant go to Abbotstown. The FAI are commited to building a stadium out there anyway and it just makes perfect sense. Having bohs out there would be a lot better than in Dalyer.

Its a no brainer !

I think thats the plan btw. Bohs and Shels out in abbotstown, Pats and Rovers in Tallaght. You;ll notice that not once has the FAI or anyone else mentioned dalymount

Dunno about that Dodge. All these talks between Bohs and Shels seem aimed at using Dalymount at the very least as a holding pen for Shels until Abbotstown is built, if not as a longer-term "solution".
    Revenge for 2002

Sharing Dalyer until a 20,000 all seater stadium out in Abbotstown was built would be just fine (providing bohs could stomach it). However spending anything more than a few years there would not really be acceptable for either club.

Both Dalyer and Tolka park are out of space and unlikely to ever get the irish public to turn up.