Div 2A 1. Moy Villa 2. B'Heane B
    Div 2B 1. Urlaur 2. CBar town
    Cbar town to go up in play off

Castlebar town Vs Celtic

Fair play to the town. I hope they get the media attention they deserve for this big game. Celtic have been given alot a bad press for the use of outside players so i hope we see the tables turned and something positive about a castlebar based side. The town have done well considering only a hand full of players have been brought in Robert moore (Celtic) Mark Moore (Celtic) Phil Quigley (Snugboro) and the return of paul maye is a huge boost to the club. He scored all the goals vs Claremorris and Celtic will be sorry for not keeping him when he was at celtic park.As far as i know this game is in Celtic and hopefully a good crowd will attend. Well done to Town and things are on the up.Im delighted for people in the like such as Antony McDonnell who stood by them when things nearly collapsed. Good luck to "the working Club"

Thumbs up all eyes on ta town

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Fair play to the town. I hope they get the media attention they deserve for this big game. Celtic have been given alot a bad press for the use of outside players so i hope we see the tables turned and something positive about a castlebar based side. The town have done well considering only a hand full of players have been brought in Robert moore (Celtic) Mark Moore (Celtic) Phil Quigley (Snugboro) and the return of paul maye is a huge boost to the club. He scored all the goals vs Claremorris and Celtic will be sorry for not keeping him when he was at celtic park.As far as i know this game is in Celtic and hopefully a good crowd will attend. Well done to Town and things are on the up.Im delighted for people in the like such as Antony McDonnell who stood by them when things nearly collapsed. Good luck to "the working Club"
    It would be great for football if the town good over turn there town rivals.
    no better time to do it with grey one on hollidays and Vinny Maye in charge.
    its alot to ask but will be up for them.give it a lash lads for the rest of humble beings

Whats the story with Partry? Can they survive? Pity for them to go down with their new pitch and the club going so well off the field. Best of luck. Cross Celtic have got over some of their first year problems with a new training pitch and a new pitch for matches as well as winning a few games.

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Whats the story with Partry? Can they survive? Pity for them to go down with their new pitch and the club going so well off the field. Best of luck. Cross Celtic have got over some of their first year problems with a new training pitch and a new pitch for matches as well as winning a few games.
    Why? What happened to partry. Did they get a new pitch or something????

I see the new pitch been done alright. The alternative pitch looks a bit rough but the new one seems to be taking shape now. Get a nice set of showers up there now

Congrats to Urlaur - class apart - good manager. Also good luck to C'Bar Town. No offence but we don't want to be playing ye next year. Beat Ballyheane. They are good but ye can do it.

46 Posts
    Congrats to Urlaur - class apart - good manager. Also good luck to C'Bar Town. No offence but we don't want to be playing ye next year. Beat Ballyheane. They are good but ye can do it.
    Certainly a different Castlebar Town finishing out the season.A different side when we last met to the side we met at the start of the season. Didn't look to good for a while when some of the lads came out to join the Bombers. One or two stayed on.

Anyone know the up to date situation on Lacken pulling out of the league.I'm thinking in terms of when Dublin City pulled out of the Eircom League Premier Division. I have the rule book for the Mayo League.Just haven't had a chance to go through this.

I was chatting about the possibility of points been removed akin to the Dublin City situation and at the time I was told that no this wouldn't be the situation. I heard differently yesterday though.

Brendan

Last game of season on sunday for Cross Celtic. Tough first season. Main problems caused by problems with the pitch. The pitch we originally thought we had was the one we finished the season with. We played 3 games on this pitch - won 2 and drew the third. What if we had it all season?

Best team played - Urlaur - pure class, big strong, experienced.
    Best Pitch played on - Swinford then Snugboro - All grounds were fine except our own!!
    Best Changing Rooms - Snugboro
    Dirtiest team - Swinford - but saying that they were not too bad.Tyson?
    Friendliest Team - Swinford then Clew Bay
    Best Ref: - Liam McEntee
    Worst Ref - No Comment!!!!!!
    Our Best performance - Away to Castlebar Town (lost by a goal)
    Worst Moment - Losing to Ballinrobe on penos (especially to Ballinrobe!)
    Best opposition player - Terry Maughan (CBar town) and big (hairy!) centre forward at Urlaur.
    Respect to: - John Durkan (good administrator) and Declan Fitz Ballinrobe (for invite to Burke Memorial tournament)
    Funniest Moment - Opposition player being told by referee upon arrival on field as a sub 'will I send you off now or will I wait till you do something'. Yes 10 minutes later he had to be sent off. The ref had no choice.

51 Posts
    Last game of season on sunday for Cross Celtic. Tough first season. Main problems caused by problems with the pitch. The pitch we originally thought we had was the one we finished the season with. We played 3 games on this pitch - won 2 and drew the third. What if we had it all season?

Best team played - Urlaur - pure class, big strong, experienced.
    Best Pitch played on - Swinford then Snugboro - All grounds were fine except our own!!
    Best Changing Rooms - Snugboro
    Dirtiest team - Swinford - but saying that they were not too bad.Tyson?
    Friendliest Team - Swinford then Clew Bay
    Best Ref: - Liam McEntee
    Worst Ref - No Comment!!!!!!
    Our Best performance - Away to Castlebar Town (lost by a goal)
    Worst Moment - Losing to Ballinrobe on penos (especially to Ballinrobe!)
    Best opposition player - Terry Maughan (CBar town) and big (hairy!) centre forward at Urlaur.
    Respect to: - John Durkan (good administrator) and Declan Fitz Ballinrobe (for invite to Burke Memorial tournament)
    Funniest Moment - Opposition player being told by referee upon arrival on field as a sub 'will I send you off now or will I wait till you do something'. Yes 10 minutes later he had to be sent off. The ref had no choice.
    Thanks there at least your not painting us (the rest) with the same brush

Ballyheane will have a say who goes up?
    no offence but town are not a team just over rated pub team.they have relied on Ballyheane players to fill there team sheets over the passed number of years
    Which I think needs to stop!

NO OFFENCE but if I were Town I would check the match card very thouroughly.

Why would they?

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Why would they?
    Sorry I got this wrong. What I meant to say was - according to the rules what is to stop Ballyheane playing 1st team players in this play-off? Would they?

We have not played 1st team players all year and we wont be using them in the play off. All but a few fringe players were signed A at the start of the season and couldnt be used anyway.

When is the division 2 playoffs? I would like to go see the C'bar - Ballyheane match. Who from div 1 will the winner play?

46 Posts
    When is the division 2 playoffs? I would like to go see the C'bar - Ballyheane match. Who from div 1 will the winner play?
    It could well be us yet. We await the result of Manulla B v Mulranny to decide our fate and whether we have to play off against Castlebar Town/Ballyheane to preserve Division 1 status for next season.

As it stands we are on 22 points and Mulranny are on 20 points. If Mulranny win then we are in the play off. Draw or lose and its been a narrow escape and they play the play off winners between Castlebar Town/Ballyheane.

Brendan

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234