Thread: New match day regulations

sorry to bring this up again lads but i feel something needs to be done about it.the regulations say that the gates will close 5mins before half time but last weekend they were closed at 5 past 8 which is at least ten minutes before half time. there was a group of us left standing outside and we had to after rattling the gates and stuff they eventually let us in. they were on the other side of the gate and we actually had to put our point across by shouting in to them.in fairness they did let us in in the end. its a stupid rule in the first place, that needs to be done away with but if they are going to insist on implementing it then at least don't close them until five minutes before half time.

The problem with locking teh agtes and all this UEFA licensing is that ther is no consistency in implementation.We went to Derry and lads were allowed in and out at half time, UCD leave their gates open after half time to allow fans in and I was told in Cork last year at the cup game lads were allowed leave and come back.the FAI license is available on the Fai website and i have read it quite a few times and cannot see any stipulation that stated spectators cannot leave and return to teh game (maybe its ther but I cannot see it so if anyone find it let me know) it does atte specattors cannnot move form one side of te ground to another without permission, but tahts the closest reference to specactor movement I can find.Ridiculous taht fans have to battle to get in after a certain time when someone is on the gate.
    If ypu read teh FAI license you will notice there are 3 catergories UEFA, Premier and First Div.There is little difference betwen them but at no point does it say that you are allowed leave the ground and return at half time WHEN in the first division, as we wer allowed to do last season, and not in the Premier.Certain criteria are being hammered home while others are arent.

i don't have any problem at all with the rule about people not being allowed to leave the ground once they get in.its the fact that there are people who cannot get to the ground until near half time because of work and when we get there we can't get in.we knew the gates were closing five minutes before half time so this week we actually left work early and were there just after 8(5 past at the latest) and the gates were already closed.we are talking about people that have been supporting sligo rovers for years here and i just think its a ridiculous situation.

Does this happen at any other grounds? As far as I know it doesnt, so why only in Sligo? I would suggest someone to ring the office and ask why this is happening only in sligo? Im sure if they knew they were the only club missing out on " bums on seats" in this fashion they wouldnt be so tough on the ruling.

Question

I agree roversforever once people are in they can stay in we have food and drink (nonalcholoic of course!) aplenty inside the ground these days.

I cannot see why people still cant get in through the turnstiles / gate right up to the end of halftime break. After all its more revenue for the Clubs.

Geez if you can trek out of Old Trafford at HT to meet someone etc. and get back in, only thing you have to comply with is that you will be checked again by security when reentering, why is there such a problem in The Showgies?

Likewise, I can't understand why one turnstile can't be kept open, for the sake of late comers. Come on Rovers, cop on.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

20 Posts
    I heard the reason the gates are closed at HT is because the Gards don't want children crossing the road unescorted. Which was happening a lot last season. It's was only an accident waiting to happen

Quote Originally Posted by Red Army
    I heard the reason the gates are closed at HT is because the Gards don't want children crossing the road unescorted. Which was happening a lot last season. It's was only an accident waiting to happen
    Then the solution is a steward or a guard to mind the children from the traffic. Anyway, that's a reason to not re-admit people, not a reason to refuse entry in the first place.

There is a meeting on thursday nite in the showgrounds at 8 30 can carry this message if ye want for the next home game

Smile

As a response from the meeting last nite. It was proposed that one turnstile be left open around half time to accomodate people ariving late.Main gate cant be used as per safety reason of traffic and children.People getting in and out at half time is for fan segregation.As the only way i could get in apart from over the wall at treacy avenue alleyway 27 years ago was at half time im glad they see the sense in this.

Sorry was only seven and the wall was easy wouldnt like to try it now