Mooney,
    Wolfe Waters, Buckley Purcell
    Costello, Heffernan Lester Barrett
    Kelliher and McCarthy
    subs Rose for Costello
    Guiran for McCarthy
    Keily for Kelliher
    Healy and Bourke were unused.
    attn was about 350 and not 1750 as this switch to Thursday was supposed to give

Oh our new kit...is shockingly bad! shiny, dark royle blue or maybe thats the black number on the back and the makers O'NEILLS.
    Last edited by gael353; 17/03/2006 at 2:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Poor game with two poor teams. Note "sess it" we played a 4 4 2 of
    Mooney,
    Wolfe Waters, Buckley Purcell
    Costello, Heffernan Lester Barrett
    Kelliher and McCarthy
    subs Rose for Costello
    Guiran for McCarthy
    Keily for Kelliher
    Healy and Bourke were unused.
    attn was about 350 and not 1750 as this switch to Thursday was supposed to give
    purcell at left back?? youre kidding me? oh wait you just typed it anyways
    costelloe, while having potential, is not a starter at right wing/midfield

good to see we have some players now and yet we cant win ****. noc out!

"gail"`(sic) do something about your spelling will ya!
    you gowl!

123 Posts
    350 attendence what game where you watching fella

attendance was between 800-900......about 7 limerick fans.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    attendance was between 800-900......about 7 limerick fans.

bout 15 limerick fans but that was over ye're stupid decision to change to Thursday which lads im sorry but back fired big time and i stand over my 350 attn. I was told by some galway supporters that at max there was 350. 800?

123 Posts
    350?

Quote Originally Posted by Olander
    350?
    well its better then some ppls predictions before the game of 1500

Who cares if it was 350 or 3,500 - we still lost.

Any chance of a report or some more detail on how our new lads played. I was surprised to see Costello in - did Rose do better. I suppose I'll get to have a look at a couple of them myself on Sunday - though i presume we will see the "B" team in Crosshaven.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile
    Who cares if it was 350 or 3,500 - we still lost.

Any chance of a report or some more detail on how our new lads played. I was surprised to see Costello in - did Rose do better. I suppose I'll get to have a look at a couple of them myself on Sunday - though i presume we will see the "B" team in Crosshaven.
    u presume right, mainly an under 21 side. id say waters, barrett and the two lads up front played about 70% of their potential but it just wasnt there from the rest of them. Paddy had a nightmare at the back, wolfes distribution...enough said. lester tried but hes not match fit. Rose is a striker so wouldnt do well on the right. We need a right sided player badly. or a left if they want to swap heff over.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    bout 15 limerick fans but that was over ye're stupid decision to change to Thursday which lads im sorry but back fired big time and i stand over my 350 attn. I was told by some galway supporters that at max there was 350. 800?
    Gael you don't need people to tell you there was 350 there.Are you blind?There was 800 at least there.I was there at 7 00....there was about 300 there. 7 30- about 600.Come 8 00pm there was at least 800 there.
    Instead of giving out about our change of time "backfiring" you should concentrate on your own team and how atrocious yee were.Yee dodn't manage to threaten once bar a poxy cross that hit the crossbar.We were no great shakes either but we easily disposed of yee and are capable of playing better.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Gael you don't need people to tell you there was 350 there.Are you blind?There was 800 at least there.I was there at 7 00....there was about 300 there. 7 30- about 600.Come 8 00pm there was at least 800 there.
    Instead of giving out about our change of time "backfiring" you should concentrate on your own team and how atrocious yee were.Yee dodn't manage to threaten once bar a poxy cross that hit the crossbar.We were no great shakes either but we easily disposed of yee and are capable of playing better.
    ur right we were crap but think gough made two smart saves in the first half but ok enough ill let others who were there on the limerick side comment on all things galway.

I wasn't at the game but would also presume we are capable of much better too. Don't forget, this was our first competitive game this season - and Galway hardly covered themselves in glory in the first outing.

Its a disappointing start no doubt and serious thought needs to be put into fixing the problems but if we can pick up two wins at home next week the gloom will be well and truly lifted. (Why is always "ifs" with LFC?)
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

keily for kelliher?

hold up. isnt keily a centre half? what happened there?

screw this. one match in and NOC is at it again.

we could have o'mahony at right back. cosgrove on right wing were it not for that fool.

at why not finny and purcell at centre half?

molan at left back?

usually i'd be excited about heading up to hogan but do i have to endure these idiotic managerial decisions for another season?
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    at why not finny and purcell at centre half?
    Well, if finny can't train I can understand this decision - can he train on his own and still form a partnership with Purcell - maybe, but it's a tough enough call. I agree on Kiely for Kelliher - a weird one alright. I presume Kiely went back, Waters pushed on and Rose went up front. I find it hard to believe Kiely went up front.

Molan at left back? I wouldn't have hin in there first choice - but without Finny, Buckley is needed in centre and I'd rather see Waters in midfield - so Molan should be in there. Is Conor injured? Such a utility player is vital on the bench. He can cover defenders and midfield.

We'll win nothing with the likes of Costelloe on the right wing another poor former Desmond league player just like Hartnett was.

Quote Originally Posted by Fr. Joe
    We'll win nothing with the likes of Costelloe on the right wing another poor former Desmond league player just like Hartnett was.
    Hartnett is doing a pretty stellar job for pike at the moment so the Desmond League must be p1ssing on the LDMC if he's a poor player.

Wink 2-0 to Galway

Limerick may of lost to Galway 2-0 but it was their first
    league game of the season and away from home with several
    new players.

I think their performances will improve and if I were a Limerick fan
    I would not read too much into that game, things will improve
    and they showed signs during the game that going forward
    they are dangerous.

Quote Originally Posted by Tribesman
    Limerick may of lost to Galway 2-0 but it was their first
    league game of the season and away from home with several
    new players.

I think their performances will improve and if I were a Limerick fan
    I would not read too much into that game, things will improve
    and they showed signs during the game that going forward
    they are dangerous.
    Thats exactly what I've been trying to tell everyone

Lim Til I Die in agreement with Galway fan shocker!

37 Posts
    Howya,

Official attendance was 752. Last season. I reckon the average attendance was 400.

When I was a kid in the 1980's, I was in Rathbane for a 1 - 1 draw. Gaynor scored for Lims, McGee scored for Galway Utd. There were 4000 people there. Hopefully those days will return for ye and us!!!!

Limerick are all massive players and will cause many probs during the season. Pat Dolan was on the bench? Is he the assistant manager?