Page 5 of 37 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Steve Finnan

O'Brien has scored more than all the Irish in the prem with 2. He's also the joint highest scoring premeirship defender.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Andy O'Brien scored at the weekend as well.
    You'd take a few goals from them two in the Qualifiers.
    I saw that, I wonder what odds you'd have got on Newcastle keeping a clean sheet AND O'Brien scoring? Nah nobody would have been daft enough to take that bet.

Would be good to have O'Brien scoring for Ireland, or any centre back able to impose himself at corners, can't remember the last time we had that, obviously not including Breen's sublime finish at the world cup.

It was some finish, had to watch it a few times to appreciate it. Finnan has to stay in the Irish team now, if there is any justice in this world.
    Looking forward to the France game now...

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    O'Brien has scored more than all the Irish in the prem with 2. He's also the joint highest scoring premeirship defender.

He also got an own goal I believe, which makes 3 and makes him
    clear top goal scorer

He didn't score an og this season...

reid's/o'brien's goals

two nice goals, the first touch for each was impressive, although both goals had a little luck

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    He didn't score an og this season...
    I believe he did but I could be wrong, on the day he scored his first
    goal, a deflection I think, but I am not 100% sure now.
    It might not have been classed as an own goal.

Finnan has been playing well for liverpool and Benetiz seems to rate him on the right wing.

Lovely goal on saturday,although I think he was a bit shocked himself because he didn't seem to know what to do when it went in,just stood there for a couple of seconds and then put his arm in the air and ran to the fans.Over four years without a goal,I suppose.

Beanie

Finnan & O'Shea

O'Shea had another stinker last night for Utd in the Champs league, looked lazy and half-arsed, on the the other hand Finnan looked the business for Liverpool on the right side of midfield, his touch passing and movement was first rate as was his preformance in premiership on saturday , he is a new player Raf Benitez.

229 Posts
    O'shea is certainly no right back!! Heinze looked the biz at LB incidently - so not sure how O'shea will fit in now, Fergie doesn't seem to trust him in the centre, looks like he's being replaced at LB and RB is Gary Nevilles spot when he is back from injury. I know he's played midfiled a few times this year for Man U - but I'm not sure he's going to get many games there either. Looks a bit onimous for our John???

Finnan, certainly has had a good start to the season. I'd have him in ahead of Carr at Right Back for the France game.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I think ye are all coming down on o'shea a bit harsh.Few bad games doesnt mean hes sh*t.He always performs when pulls on the irish jersey.The lads just lacking in a bit of confidence.Can ye all remember the o'shea that played against newcastle at st.james park last season.Give the lad a chance!!!!
    If he got a few good games under his belt,we'd soon see the real o'shea back
    The only interesting answers are those which destroy the questions!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry Phelan
    I think ye are all coming down on o'shea a bit harsh.Few bad games doesnt mean hes sh*t.He always performs when pulls on the irish jersey.
    Aah ha ha ha, woo hoo hoo, ha ha haaaaa ha ha, oh deary me, ha haa haaa ha ha, oooh hoo hoo hoo hooooo. I love a good laugh on a Thursday morning.
    Let me compose myself as I ask you when has O'Shea ever performed when he pulls on the Irish shirt?
    If part of his performance is to trick us into thinking he's crap then he has succeeded.
    Did anyone see him last night about 25 mins into the game putting his hand up for offside from a throw in? Hard to believe! Maybe he'd have some chance of playing half a decent game if he learned the rules.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry Phelan
    If he got a few good games under his belt,we'd soon see the real o'shea back
    That's it though,

Gary Neville is guaranteed the rb slot
    Fergie's praised Heinze in the two games he's played.

O'shea is unlikely to feature for united much this season, unless it's down to injuries, as it was last night.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

With Rio Ferdinand returning this weekend, and Gary Neville back in a few weeks, it would seem unlikely that O'Shea will get a settled run in defence. I guess Heinze will get dragged back to S. America to play for the national team again? That will give O'Shea an odd game at LB. Also, Ferguson is fond of resting players from time to time, and that could open opportunities, especially given the tough summer Heinze has had.

Gary Neville is out injured at the moment. Silvestre is struggling and Wes Brown will almost certainly hurt himself somehow. So I do see O'Shea getting games. But not in a settled position.

That could be the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    O'shea is certainly no right back!!
    He's a much better RB than LB. If Gary Neville was a left back, O'Shea would have been playing at right back for the last 2 season. He's also a natural right footer.

John's a bit dopey....he needs a good clout to waken him up. Wouldn't put him anywhere near the french. Carr and Finnan should take up the full back berths for the game.
    Never eat yellow snow!!

really love to see o'shea succeed but seems he's at a bit of a loss now, i've read he started the game as a midfielder and has of course been deployed across the back four for united/ireland with mixed results since his energetic emergence at LB - seems like a decade ago now. i think his stated preference is central defence and ferguson has even had him in midfield this season. a bit like harte in that he's talented but for a 'lost' position - he's no natural defender anyway. the boy glides when carrying the ball well, that run and shot for giggs's goal vs. newcastle mentioned above was a highlight and what i hoped a glimpse of things to come from him. nutmegging figo weren't bad either

Duff, being a dangerman on the left, will surely be man marked by the French. If we play O'Shea the French will know that he's not going to overlap Duff when Duff moves infield. The right full-back has an easier job then because he can just stick to Duff. O'Shea is more of a threat to us than Duff is to the opposition!

36 Posts
    o'shea has now been average for longer than when he was 'good'. flash in the pan anyone? it's not a sin to suggest he just had his really good season early in a powerful united team.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Duff, being a dangerman on the left, will surely be man marked by the French. If we play O'Shea the French will know that he's not going to overlap Duff when Duff moves infield. The right full-back has an easier job then because he can just stick to Duff. O'Shea is more of a threat to us than Duff is to the opposition!
    Yep...Dozy O Shea will find it hard to overlap Duff on the outside.
    Finnan can move like grease lightening, so he'll link up well with Duff.
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Page 5 of 37 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast