Thread: Tonight's results

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Couldn't get a lift to the Athlone match and no fecin' timely buses either and a bloody defeat as well - what was the crowd like??

There was a fair bastion of Hoops there...probably as many Athlone fans at it too...good crowd considering the day it was, the difficulty for travelling Hoops to get there..

You were probably better off not seeing Athlone's performance though Hamish...
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    There was a fair bastion of Hoops there...probably as many Athlone fans at it too...good crowd considering the day it was, the difficulty for travelling Hoops to get there..

You were probably better off not seeing Athlone's performance though Hamish...
    Have to be sporting and say well done to the Hoops but, of course, it hurts we lost. Just sorry didn't get a chance to say hello to you and the rest of the lads.
    Crowd? 1000? Less?

Ah sure we'll be down in Athlone again...in better weather, a weekend night and not on the day before a major public holiday no doubt

I don't know about judging the crowd, but I know standing under the corrugated shed, I was at the edge of the Rovers support so we reached up to the halfway line where I was and a good lot of Athlone support from there to the end of the shed and on the hill behind the goal and not sparsely populated either.

800-1000 would be my random guess
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

43 Posts
    What a miserable St Patricks Day! Went along to the Dublin City game with a few of my mates from Belfast, who have never been to an eircom league match. I was embarrassed after what was an awful performance. I was singing Derry's praises the whole way down in the car, saying we were a good team to watch! I have never seen as many long punts up a pitch in my life. It was like watching bogball. Fair play to CHF for stopping Derry from playing. Outmuscled in midfield, highlighted by Ciaran Martyn, who at over 6ft was pushed off everyball he went in for and was totally anonymous. The one player who tried to play was Higgins and he scored the og! Hopefully, it was just an off night, and CHF will probably take points off teams. After watching CHF I reckon most of their matches will be 0-0. Lets hope that L'ami wins the Gold Cup to cheer me up!!

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9
    Lets hope that L'ami wins the Gold Cup to cheer me up!!
    Oh well

Was there any trouble from the Rovers fans? Were their next away match

Hey Dublin City congrats...to go to the Brandywell and get 3 points is a good days work.. well done

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    Hey Dublin City congrats...to go to the Brandywell and get 3 points is a good days work.. well done
    Ummm...were you do busy drinking to watch the fixtures?!

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Bolli.x. We all know what Keely is like. Players booked for time wasting too. Keely and Matthews working together to destroy Irish football. Can't wait to get the scumbag at the Brandy, he will pay!
    Can't remember a Dublin City player getting booked for time wasting. David McGill got booked late on for his part in a bit of a scuffle near the corner flag where it looked like he got a kick for his troubles and the ref picked him out, Dublin City didn't play pretty football and were fortunate to win the game, but most definitely didn't deserve to lose the game. Rogers had one decent save to make in 90 minutes, and Killian Brennans injury time effort was off target.

Ben Whelehan forced a good save from Forde early on, and we did create a couple of half chances. I still think that come the end of the season, Derry will be comfortably ahead of us in the league table, but i'm fairly confident that there will be a few clubs below us in the table also.

Quote Originally Posted by Kildare Lad
    Why are you so negative?
    Who Cares?!

There are two ways to win a match
    1) The Brazilian system... outscore the opposition... typical result 4-3
    Ossie Ardiles and Glen Hoddle are apostles of this system.

2) The Italian system... concede fewer goals than the opposition.. typical result 1-0 wins. Dermot Keely is an apostle of this system.

yeah we set the stand on fire and overturned a few cars on the way out.

be afraid.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    yeah we set the stand on fire and overturned a few cars on the way out.

be afraid.
    Is that all?

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    mmmmmm........Dublin City were at "home" Magicme

Is that all?
    Yeah, you better lock up yer cow sheds and hide yer sheep. It is a "derby" after all.

Drogs were excellent tonight.

We were down to 10 from the 19th minute when the ref issued bradley with a second yellow (wrongly in everyones opinion).

We really showed what this team has to offer and it will be a very good team which comes to United Park this season and takes 3 points off us.
    Ger Fay
    Drogheda till I die

as good a yardstick as any

looking forward to taking 3 points in united park!

Quote Originally Posted by Ger Fay
    Drogs were excellent tonight.

We were down to 10 from the 19th minute when the ref issued bradley with a second yellow (wrongly in everyones opinion).

We really showed what this team has to offer and it will be a very good team which comes to United Park this season and takes 3 points off us.
    Look, we gave you a point fair enough ..... but *cough* ahem .... aren't you getting ahead of yourself there lad .... "what this team has to offer" "were excellent tonight" .... c'mon now .... give us the real story !!

Angry

The real story was that the Ref distroyed a great match. Bradleys sending off was totally uncalled for.

Cork had maybe 3-5 shots on target. As usual O'Callaghan was trying everyting to get Drogheda Players sent off.

Declan O'Brien nearly had his shorts thorn off yet we got nothing.

If this is the standard of refereeing that is going to happen in the League this season there are going to be alot of players sent off
    Ger Fay
    Drogheda till I die

Quote Originally Posted by Ger Fay

Declan O'Brien nearly had his shorts thorn off yet we got nothing.

Sounds like a matter for the Gardai not the referee.