Have to be sporting and say well done to the Hoops but, of course, it hurts we lost. Just sorry didn't get a chance to say hello to you and the rest of the lads.Originally Posted by d f x-
Crowd? 1000? Less?
There was a fair bastion of Hoops there...probably as many Athlone fans at it too...good crowd considering the day it was, the difficulty for travelling Hoops to get there..Originally Posted by sirhamish
You were probably better off not seeing Athlone's performance though Hamish...![]()
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
Have to be sporting and say well done to the Hoops but, of course, it hurts we lost. Just sorry didn't get a chance to say hello to you and the rest of the lads.Originally Posted by d f x-
Crowd? 1000? Less?
Ah sure we'll be down in Athlone again...in better weather, a weekend night and not on the day before a major public holiday no doubt![]()
I don't know about judging the crowd, but I know standing under the corrugated shed, I was at the edge of the Rovers support so we reached up to the halfway line where I was and a good lot of Athlone support from there to the end of the shed and on the hill behind the goal and not sparsely populated either.
800-1000 would be my random guess
The Model Club
Tell all the Bohs you know
that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
and it's not gonna be three
and it's not gonna be four
it's more likely to be 5-1.
What a miserable St Patricks Day!Went along to the Dublin City game with a few of my mates from Belfast, who have never been to an eircom league match. I was embarrassed after what was an awful performance. I was singing Derry's praises the whole way down in the car, saying we were a good team to watch! I have never seen as many long punts up a pitch in my life. It was like watching bogball. Fair play to CHF for stopping Derry from playing. Outmuscled in midfield, highlighted by Ciaran Martyn, who at over 6ft was pushed off everyball he went in for and was totally anonymous. The one player who tried to play was Higgins and he scored the og! Hopefully, it was just an off night, and CHF will probably take points off teams. After watching CHF I reckon most of their matches will be 0-0. Lets hope that L'ami wins the Gold Cup to cheer me up!!
Oh wellOriginally Posted by lofty9
Was there any trouble from the Rovers fans? Were their next away match
Hey Dublin City congrats...to go to the Brandywell and get 3 points is a good days work.. well done
Ummm...were you do busy drinking to watch the fixtures?!Originally Posted by Magicme
Can't remember a Dublin City player getting booked for time wasting. David McGill got booked late on for his part in a bit of a scuffle near the corner flag where it looked like he got a kick for his troubles and the ref picked him out, Dublin City didn't play pretty football and were fortunate to win the game, but most definitely didn't deserve to lose the game. Rogers had one decent save to make in 90 minutes, and Killian Brennans injury time effort was off target.Originally Posted by Speranza
Ben Whelehan forced a good save from Forde early on, and we did create a couple of half chances. I still think that come the end of the season, Derry will be comfortably ahead of us in the league table, but i'm fairly confident that there will be a few clubs below us in the table also.
Why are you so negative?Originally Posted by Kildare Lad
Who Cares?!
There are two ways to win a match
1) The Brazilian system... outscore the opposition... typical result 4-3
Ossie Ardiles and Glen Hoddle are apostles of this system.
2) The Italian system... concede fewer goals than the opposition.. typical result 1-0 wins. Dermot Keely is an apostle of this system.
yeah we set the stand on fire and overturned a few cars on the way out.Originally Posted by Kildare Lad
be afraid.
Is that all?Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
mmmmmm........Dublin City were at "home" MagicmeOriginally Posted by Magicme
Yeah, you better lock up yer cow sheds and hide yer sheepOriginally Posted by Kildare Lad
. It is a "derby" after all
Drogs were excellent tonight.
We were down to 10 from the 19th minute when the ref issued bradley with a second yellow (wrongly in everyones opinion).
We really showed what this team has to offer and it will be a very good team which comes to United Park this season and takes 3 points off us.
Ger Fay
Drogheda till I die
as good a yardstick as any
looking forward to taking 3 points in united park!
Look, we gave you a point fair enough ..... but *cough* ahem .... aren't you getting ahead of yourself there lad .... "what this team has to offer" "were excellent tonight" .... c'mon now .... give us the real story !!Originally Posted by Ger Fay
The real story was that the Ref distroyed a great match. Bradleys sending off was totally uncalled for.
Cork had maybe 3-5 shots on target. As usual O'Callaghan was trying everyting to get Drogheda Players sent off.
Declan O'Brien nearly had his shorts thorn off yet we got nothing.
If this is the standard of refereeing that is going to happen in the League this season there are going to be alot of players sent off
Ger Fay
Drogheda till I die
Originally Posted by Ger Fay
Sounds like a matter for the Gardai not the referee.