Thread: A whole lot of fixtures

A whole lot of fixtures

Over 10,000 to be exact

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/fixtures.php?seasonid=107

If you go to the fixtures page you will now be able to select a season and a team. By doing so, you will get the fixtures for the selected team on the selected season. Currently it is mainly League fixtures and there is a gap from 1988 to 2004 ish at the moment which I am currently uploading. I also have to give the results a one over to ensure they are accurate ( I did enter them all in manually so there will be mistakes, which I will fix in time) but for the most part they should be bang on.

The remaining results (1988-2004) should be entered in shortly. I will be including all the other teams setanta cup results shortly too.

In a few days I will have all the league tables being generated from the league results from each season. I think it is a pretty huge resource and over the coming weeks I will prefect any errors and flaws.

(Posted here cos its for all the clubs)
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Great work there Gareth. Were there a lot of people helping out?

Gareth doesn't need help - He's superman!

Fair play to you Gar, its fantastic!

No Adam alas I did it all myself. Should be very comprehensive and complete by the weekend.

We actually have a similiar thing for players but only currently playing ones:

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/opposition.php

Original Bongo helped me with this and it currently is a work in progress, but its pretty comprehensive too!!
    Last edited by Gareth; 01/03/2006 at 10:16 PM.

222 Posts
    Stunning achievement mate, top marks.

Thanks Sean.

Excellent work Gareth. Will enable us Derry fans to keep track of just how long it is since you last beat us (it's been a while....)

Just one bit of feedback - the scores layout is a bit confusing. It lists scores 'For' and 'Against' - but actually takes it from the perspective of whichever team was at home. Therefore - if I look at Derry's 2:0 away victory over Finn Harps on 16th April 2005, the list currently suggests that we had '0' goals For, and '2' against. Suggesting we lost 2:0. Not sure if this is something that can be addressed to make it easier to digest.

Great job all-in-all though !

Seand pointed that out to me. I need to fix it. I will have it sorted by the evening Slight oversight on my behalf but easily fixed Feedback is very welcome. I hope it will be all in order over the couple of days!!!

Fair play Gareth. excellent resource. Fair dues chief!
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

one complaint.....Where the feck are we???

Wanted to check the date when we beat you coz I managed to convince my ex to go to that game and he sat among the shels fans by accident and cheered when we scored....lucky to get out alive!

Magicme that game was in the month of January in the year (2002, I think ) It was between the 10th and 17th of that month if my memory serves me correctly...
    Who Cares?!

excellent stuff gareth, had a quick check to see if i could catch it out- had a look to see what would happen iff i put in longford and say, 1981, and it just reverted back to shels that year, another great resource added to the site
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

Yeah if the team does not exist that year, it will revert back to the default. I meant to get most of the remaining fixtures done but I got catch up in other stuff tonight. Thanks for the nice comments. Hopefully it will be a useful resource. I know its a Shelbourne site but I see the league as a whole as an important thing to keep track of. I am too tired having to trawl the net for information we should have to hand on our league!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme
    one complaint.....Where the feck are we???

Wanted to check the date when we beat you coz I managed to convince my ex to go to that game and he sat among the shels fans by accident and cheered when we scored....lucky to get out alive!
    You will be there shortly Sorry for your current exclusion. One of the worst games I ever seen was Monaghan playing against Shels in the 90's I think it was. Tolka Park, freezing cold and I THINk we pipped a goal at the very end. I think Arkins was playing with us at the time.

Told ya before Gareth, well done. The best EL site around in my opinion.

3,489 Posts
    That's superb. Was actually looking for data on the older UCD seasons!

Incidentally, should be only a small step from there to being able to select two teams and view the entire head-to-head?
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 05/03/2006 at 8:20 PM.

Exactly Pineapple , I am just waiting to get the rest of the results in and I have a whole lot of different stats options available. Should be interesting. Been busy this week so I couldnt get round to finishing the stats.

3,489 Posts
    Botún beag by the way - we only lost 6-0 in Dundalk in our first season (79/80), not 9-0, as far as I know. Our record defeat is still the 7-0 loss to Limerick United that same year.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    You will be there shortly Sorry for your current exclusion. One of the worst games I ever seen was Monaghan playing against Shels in the 90's I think it was. Tolka Park, freezing cold and I THINk we pipped a goal at the very end. I think Arkins was playing with us at the time.
    Aw grand! You're forgiven, I know how hard it can be to get everything done.

Thanks Raheny Red....thought it was back then actually but wasnt sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Yeah if the team does not exist that year, it will revert back to the default. I meant to get most of the remaining fixtures done but I got catch up in other stuff tonight. Thanks for the nice comments. Hopefully it will be a useful resource. I know its a Shelbourne site but I see the league as a whole as an important thing to keep track of. I am too tired having to trawl the net for information we should have to hand on our league!!!
    Well done Gareth. About the above however I was looking at CCFC's results for 2005 and when I went to 2004 it reverted to Shelbourne's results for 2004. So I don't think it just applies to teams who were relegated. If you are going to include preseason friendlies for Shels then you should probably do them for all teams. Might be hard to find tho.