Losing Kearney doesn't make you a bad side but losing Kearney, Doyle and O'Halloran makes your squad weaker than it was this time last season.
Just like we did in the league last season???Originally Posted by dancinpants
You boys think that losing Kearney suddenly made us a bad side?
Check out the tapes of his games for Shels. We made Kearney look good.
Losing Kearney doesn't make you a bad side but losing Kearney, Doyle and O'Halloran makes your squad weaker than it was this time last season.
I don't recall mentioning Kearney...but anyway. I don't think anyones been overly impressed by Cork in their 5 competitive games this year so far. I'm not saying they're worse than last year but yis definitely stood still while everyone else strived for improvement - and I believe that Cork might well regret that.Originally Posted by Peadar
If drogs keep scoring then they will be hard to defeat as they are strong defensively(although still think Connor is a bit dodgy).Originally Posted by dancinpants
Am confident though that City can up it when the time comes against Linfield or Derry(shels arent looking good at the mo).
Hopefully winning the group and playing at the cross will also give us an edge. Would like to see a Cork City vs Linfield final but a derry game is always a good laugh too.
Yeah, the last one was a scream !!Originally Posted by micls
Its actually in Citys interest if people think we're not up to it. I'd hope we are underdogs all year long.
Ya, i nearly ****ed myself that night.Originally Posted by A face
Exactly. We haven't impressed anyone at all, we look dodgy in closing out games , miss Kearney etc etc.Originally Posted by A face
What harm?
We're through to the Setanta and won our first league match.
I think everyone would rather be in that position.
Fine, we look fecked for depth. Softic, Lally and maybe Guthrie need to be blooded soon as they most definitely will be required sooner or later.
McNulty could do with practise too.
We already know that Lordan has something to offer and what Billy can do, like him or not.
Colin T is looking very well, Fenn or Behan is going to have to sit on the bench and we should have Vinny Sullivan for the Portadown match.
So, as long as what's in bold is done, we'll be as good as last year.
Its not as if we need every young fella to come through.
Last edited by Risteard; 15/03/2006 at 8:29 PM.
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Young Mc Nulty needs to learn to keep his cool. Saw him play in Belfield and he was yellow and red carded in the game.
McCarthy and Connell seem to have something to offer as well.Originally Posted by Risteard
The League Cup might be handy to give them a run out.
Lets see you really **** yourself when you forfeit home advantage in the league and you play at the Brandywell twice this season.Originally Posted by Risteard
You guys are making such a big deal out of home advantage.Originally Posted by lofty9
We had far more trips to Dublin last year, and that to us is a lot more difficult than two trips to Derry. This year, we have Shels at home twice along with Bohs and Waterford. That's a clear advantage for us.
Cork fans need to accept once and for all derry and shels are the two main contenders for the title. Its clear to see derry have made an impressive start AGAIN this year and altho shels havnt they wont make the same mistakes as last year. Shels and Derry and good quality and cover throughout the side as well as quality first elevens.![]()
Setanta announce further coverage
Irish satellite broadcaster Setanta Sports has confirmed two more Setanta Sports Cup matches to be broadcast live on the channel in the coming weeks. Next Tuesday, March 21st, the Setanta cameras will be at Stangmore Park as Dungannon Swifts host Drogheda United (kick-off 8pm).
Dungannon have taken just one point from their four games to date to lie bottom of Group 1, but Drogheda are well-placed to follow Cork City into the last four – a win in south Tyrone will seal their place in the knock-out stages.
Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com
Ha ha !!Originally Posted by City till I Die
Don't you mean the club formerly trading as Shelbourne FC?Originally Posted by City till I Die
hmmmmmmm.........The league champions arent even in the top 2 contenders in a 12 team league??Originally Posted by City till I Die
Im not complaining if thats the way people see it, write us off all ye want,all I know is that we havent been playing anywhere near our best and so far this season we've played 5, won 4 and drew 1, I'll take that![]()
"They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson
Was about to lose my marbles there til i noticed your smilies.Originally Posted by City till I Die
Oh how much City yearn for Delaney,Ollie, Hawkins, Greg and Crawford to be in our first eleven.![]()
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
Do they have something against Portadown?Originally Posted by A face
No disrespect to Dungannon, but how can they be shown 3 times and Glens and Portadown have yet to be shown?
Actually here's a reply they sent me to an e-mail I sent them on Monday.
Dear ________,
Thank you for your recent email and feedback regarding our Setanta Sports Cup coverage. Your comments are noted. I am sorry that we have as yet not shown a live game involving Glentoran in the competition and that you feel we are not sharing the coverage around equally. Unfortunately, Glentoran as I say, and Portadown have both been without a live game so far in the competition. As I’m sure you can understand, editorially, we try and pick the best game of the night to show, and apart from the night of the Derry V Shelbourne 0-0 when Glentoran and Linfield drew 3-3, I think we have fared pretty well.
I would say thought that all the games are very important to us which is why we have cameras at the night’s other game each time. And while Cork may be one of the best supported and highest profile teams in the competition, we are not showing them in the live game next Tuesday deciding instead to show Dungannopn V Drogheda.
We have not picked the live game past the 27th of Marc, so on the last Group 2 night on April 3rd, Glentoran’s visit to Windsor Park may well be the live game, depending of course on the state of the group going into those fixtures.
Once again, thank you for taking the trouble to contact us and I hope you will be able to enjoy the rest of our coverage of the competition over the next few weeks.
Kind regards,
Tim Tuomey
Football Editor, Setanta Sports Channel
Ph: (00 353) 1 474 4934
Mobile: (00 353) 87 231 4163
Far more? Are ye serious? Cork played 8 games in in Dublin, we played 7 in Dublin. So if ONE game more is your definition of FAR more...well I'd say your grasping at straws.Originally Posted by Peadar
Oh and last year - your away record was better than your home record![]()
Last edited by dancinpants; 16/03/2006 at 4:14 PM.
It doesnt matter how many times we played away from home or at home, or who the opposition was,the fact is WE won the league so this argument about us playing ye at home twice giving us an advantage is total crapOriginally Posted by dancinpants
dancinpants,i dont know if this is true or not,but some of your recent posts lead me to believe that your bitter about us winning the league or something. If your posts are 100% your view of things fair enough but to me it does sound like they're influenced by bitterness
"They have the internet on computers now!" ,Homer Simpson