Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Setanta Cup

386 Posts
    I've been in Barcelona for the past couple of weeks working so have no clue of the results or tables. Could some kind person tell me them or post a link where I can read them. I apologise if there is a thread with the results somewhere else.

Dungannon were very unlucky last night, should have been 2-0 up at half time, Devine made a couple of great saves, they hit the inside of the post with a screamer.

Then gave away a dreadful goal, and hit the woodwork again before the end.

Cork were better second half bt I was very impressed with Swifts.

Quote Originally Posted by ger121
    I've been in Barcelona for the past couple of weeks working so have no clue of the results or tables. Could some kind person tell me them or post a link where I can read them. I apologise if there is a thread with the results somewhere else.
    Superb page on (funnily enough) Setanta.com. Results&tables towards the bottom.
    http://www.setanta.com/content/setan...tantasportscup

Yes I'm enjoying the competition, although we're not doing particularly well. There is a suspicion that the timing of it is designed to even things out between the North and the South, which is a bit insulting to the northern teams, and I would be interesting to see how we fared when were not in pre-season.
    The best thing about it is that we can see that if you support Linfield or Glens, then you're just a northern football fan, not someone with horns and a mouth frothed with sectarianism. Its great to see Derry playing Linfield, and Glens coming to Tolka. Okay, there's a few mindless eejits, stuck in a timewarp, but by and large most people are only there for the footie.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Enough games have been played now to show that big gap between the eL & the IL in quality with the exclusion of Linfield.

Enjoyable trip to Dungannon last night. I think they are better than Portadown as play some good football but a bit weak in attack. A bit like ourselves. We just don't look like a team that could be bothered to beat anyone 3 or 4 nil & seem a bit too happy with 1-0s.

I know we talking football here but i also think competition is great cross-border eye opener. Football people are the saem everywhere & have no interest in politics.

Hoopy, how dare you insinuate that Cork are ever anything other than brilliant!

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog
    yea Drogs didn't have a chance in the game aganst Cork - yeah thats it - keep it up our Cork friends as it is this blinkered vision and consant rewriting of history that will lead to a season of complete failure for our Cork cousins. (its amazing your all sarting to sound like little Ricos).
    What are you on about?? Where did anyone say drogs didnt have a chance or are you making stuff up to suit your own purposes.

What was said is that Drogs were not 'well on top' before the sendings off. It was a tight game at that stage and either team couldve been a goal ahead...

Try actually reading the posts next time before spouting a load of rubbish

Quote Originally Posted by David
    Ok, personally I want to talk about football instead of all the other nonsense going on elsewhere on here. This competition is really starting to take shape and it looks like an exciting finish in both groups. It could be any two from three qualifying from Linfield, Derry and Shels and whilst Drogheda and Cork are looking good in the other group, Portadown cannot be ruled out. We have seen some cracking games, some great football and some controversial refereeing and I for one am enjoying this competition so let's get talking about the positives again. I agree that we cannot ignore racism or sectarianism but leave that to those in a position to do something to deal with it whilst we get on with talking about a brilliant competition.
    Great post.

As last year there have been some great games and i think the standard of the televised games has been generally good.
    The games at Windsor v Derry and Shels were excellent.

The competition has been a great addition to football on the island and looking forward to the semis and final
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog
    Well done on you great win (earth shattering performance) against Dublin City - fine display. Also fantatsic 1-0 result against Dungannon last nigth fair play.
    Lets see now, Drogs beat Swifts 1-0 at home.
    Cork City beat Swifts 2-0 at home.
    Drogs draw 0-0 away to Portadown.
    City draw 1-1 away to Portadown.

Drogs beat Bohs 0-1 in their opening game without setting the world on fire.
    Cork City beat Dublin City 1-0 in their opening game without setting the world on fire.

Not much differenc there.
    Where there is a difference though is that in the 5 competitive games so far, the results stack up like this:

______P W D L F A GD Pts
    City__ 5-4-1-0-7-1 +6 12
    Drogs_5-3-1-1-6-2 +4 10

Now little man, what exactly was your point?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Not much differenc there.
    exactly, but cork fans react madly to hoopy's opinion that drogheda shaded the match prior to dismissals. one man's opinion against cork on this board has to be shouted down

Now little man,
    does the attack the post and not the poster not apply to cork fans??? or can we call everybody by sarcastic comments

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    exactly, but cork fans react madly to hoopy's opinion that drogheda shaded the match prior to dismissals. one man's opinion against cork on this board has to be shouted down
    Thats completely untrue. Read back through the posts.

Firstly he didnt say ye shaded it he said ye were well on top. The responses were that ye werent well on top and that it was a very close game to that point.

Drogs could have shaded it, I thought it was pretty even all over, but the reaction(which was by no means mad) was to him saying they were well on top.

If you can say in all honesty that you thought they were well on top after seing the game then fair enough. Thats your opinion but one I would disagree with.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T
    Dungannon were very unlucky last night, should have been 2-0 up at half time, Devine made a couple of great saves, they hit the inside of the post with a screamer.

Then gave away a dreadful goal, and hit the woodwork again before the end.

Cork were better second half bt I was very impressed with Swifts.
    Would agree with this.
    City were very poor especially in the first half and the loss of gamble and O'donovan really showed. We have to pray for lack of injuries as at the moment we do not have the strength in depth-especially in midfield.

Dungannon played much better than last week and deserved a draw-hitting the post twice.

However I was happier with the way City played after they score the goal and J o' flynn shouldve had two more after that.

Poor performance but good result in the end. Saturday against Drogheda will be the frst big test and City will seriously have to up it to come away with the 3 points

one man's opinion against cork on this board has to be shouted down
    One person expressed their opinion, others expressed theirs.
    Get over it!

The fact remains, you were 1-0 down when your players got themselves sent off.

what sort of crowd was there at Dungannon. Anyone any pictures?

Setantas tv coverage puts RTEs to shame. I counted at least 5 cameras in Dungannon last night & I might have missed one. RTE usually stick to 3 cameras at eL games. Setanta seem to be more inventive than RTE too which nice dugout cameras too.

City v Linfield for the Final.

Quote Originally Posted by micls
    City were very poor especially in the first half and the loss of gamble and O'donovan really showed.
    Don't know what you saw on TV but I was at the game and we were not "especially poor"!
    We opened them up at will during the first 15 minutes but then they settled and came more into the game.
    The home side took the game to us but were restricted a few chances from long range. They moved the ball around well but rarely stretched us at the back. It was all or nothing for them as they were at home and desperate to salvage some pride.

Quote Originally Posted by micls
    ...and deserved a draw-hitting the post twice.
    This is one of the most ridiculous things I've heard in a while!
    There are no points for "nearly" scoring.

Don't know what you saw on TV but I was at the game and we were not "especially poor"!
    We opened them up at will during the first 15 minutes but then they settled and came more into the game.
    The home side took the game to us but were restricted a few chances from long range. They moved the ball around well but rarely stretched us at the back. It was all or nothing for them as they were at home and desperate to salvage some pride.
    Read my post again.
    I didnt say city were especially poor I said they were poor especially in the first half
    They played nowhere near their potential.
    Im shocked if you actually thought they played well in the first half
    This is one of the most ridiculous things I've heard in a while!
    There are no points for "nearly" scoring.
    Where did I say there were points for nearly scoring...
    Dont try to twist my words. Most city fans agree that dungannon played well enough so that a draw would not have been an unfair result.

Im sure at some stage city have narrowly lost a game and you've said they deserved a draw

The fact is dungannon are a poor side(although they played some nice footbal last night) in comparison to some of the sides we will face in the EL. We will seriously need to up last night performance when playing the likes of shels, derry and even drogs.

Surely even you can agree with that

One person expressed their opinion, others expressed theirs.
    Get over it!

The fact remains, you were 1-0 down when your players got themselves sent off.
    i've no problem with anyone's opinion about the match or whatever, its just on these boards that anyone that says anything negative (opinion based) about cork is immediately shouted down as being wrong no matter what.

in fairness - micls retort was a reasoned one.

it then doesn't help that some fans resort to name calling either

Now little man

it then doesn't help that some fans resort to name calling either
    Can I expect a reformed United Park on Saturday?
    No vulgar profanaties or objects being thrown from the natives?

Can I expect a reformed United Park on Saturday?
    No vulgar profanaties or objects being thrown from the natives?
    well as dan conner didn't have any glass bottle thrown at him from the shed during the setanta cup match, i sincerly hope that no more plastic bottles are thrown and george o c on saturday. it is cowardly from both sides, irrespective of what is thrown.

as for 'vulgar profanaties' well as cork are the visitors, there'll probably be the same as usually comes from the away shed.

anyway my name calling remark was clearly aimed at your 'attacking the poster' remark to sean, which i believe is against foot.ie rules, or are we having one rule for cork fans and another for the rest again.

apologies to everyone else for this going way off topic

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast