Page 66 of 72 FirstFirst ... 16566465666768 ... LastLast
Results 1,301 to 1,320 of 1430

Thread: 2006 Attendances

I haven't got the greatest memory but I think there was about 500 at the Longford V Shels game

The Rovers Limerick game on Sunday the 10th of September had circa 900 at it.

Bohs v Bray Wands official: 718

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I'm not bitter all actually. Over 36 games you deserve the title. Well done. I am particularly impressed with your defensive record this year.

However, you can be sure if we had been in your situation then we would have had at least 3,000 there.
    you are joking yeah??

when craptown last won the premier division, there was only around 500 there for it, don't see how you can mock 1900 at a match to win division one.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Shocking attendance for a team about to win the league, no offene ment by that ROVERS lads but that is brutal.
    Really? Look at what bohsfans posted.

It was a sunday and there was zero away support. That is not an exact figure. Look at the date of the game. Two months before end of the season. How we were "about to win the league"?

Think mcfly think.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ColinR View Post
    you are joking yeah??

when craptown last won the premier division, there was only around 500 there for it, don't see how you can mock 1900 at a match to win division one.
    Typical drogs bullsh!t, i was at that match and there were a few thousand at it. Why do drogheda fans have to write so much sh!te

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Typical drogs bullsh!t, i was at that match and there were a few thousand at it. Why do drogheda fans have to write so much sh!te
    there definately was not 'a few thousand' at it. there were arguing craptown fans who claimed that there was around a thousand fans at it on the drogs mb a couple of years back, with one eventually admitting around the 500 mark which i stated above.

you might have been there, but you were one of the few (unless your fellow craptown fans and the tv highlights are all lying about that day )

82 Posts
    If thats true post the link to your forum where someone from dundalk said that!! I was at the match so stop talking through your arse.

399 Posts
    As Ive posted elsewhere here.

Its a major source of annoyance for the everyone connected with Drog Utd Football Club that after 3 years of massive investment into the side and a regular top 4 placing (and 2 trophies landed after 44 years of trying) they STILL cannot attract an avg of 2,000 per game, the current avg actually slighlty down on last year at around 1,700 per game, and worse with 5 teams less than 30 miles away, maybe 3 or 400 of this is away fans.

Simply no demand for what they have on offer.

Now that is a shocking state of affairs.

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    If thats true post the link to your forum where someone from dundalk said that!! I was at the match so stop talking through your arse.
    you mat have been at the match, but that does not mean you are not bulls~tting thousands ha!

the thread that i was talking about was on the old network54 message boards, if you find the address you can search. Our old friend stephen contributed, and his estimate of the crowd was certainly not 2000 (the minimimum your 'thousands' crowd suggests.

as for oriel's suggestion at us being annoyed at our average crowd of 2000. don't think it bothers too many people, maybe excluding the board. it is a league wide mailaise in attendances - cork can only get 3,003 from a city of what 200,000?, derry get 2,973 out of a city of 80,000 or 90,000. On that basis, i think an average crowd of 1,721 out of town of 40,000 approx is comparable against clubs who are at the top end of the table. only sligo have a better crowd to population ratio i would imagine. and yes 300 or 400 are away fans included in the average , based on that wild assumption, it could easily (and just as inaccurately) claimed that craptown's crowd would be closer to its usual 500 or 600 were it not for the hoards of rovers fans who have artificially inflated your average crowds

399 Posts
    I touched a raw nerve there then ! Superb reaction. You`re so easy to rise up.

Ps our last home game was v Limerick, the crowd was not too far off your average for the season.

Also I`d say Derry fans are the most consistent home and away all season, they definitely derseve a mention. Hope they win the lge on friday.

75 Posts
    last time Dundal won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.

I can remember huge crowds in Dundalk like the tear they beat Pats to the title i was there too. biggest crowd i ever remember in Drogheda was for the playoff robbery and there was about 2,000 with over 500 from Galway so cop on celdrog.

75 Posts
    last time Dundalk won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.

I can remember huge crowds in Dundalk like the tear they beat Pats to the title i was there too. biggest crowd i ever remember in Drogheda was for the playoff robbery and there was about 2,000 with over 500 from Galway so cop on celdrog.

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Agreed, I reckon the Shels V Bohs game will have an embarrashing/laughable/shocking/sad/ridiculous gate.
    Well since there is no replay I change my mind about tomorrow night's attendance!

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    last time Dundal won the league they beat us and Derry lost in Athlone I was there about 2,500 others and no one expected Derry to lose in Athlone so it was a bolt out of the blue.
    1995 - I remember it well. Standing outside the launderette on Bath Uni campus, as it was the only place in the whole feckin town you could get a proper RTE signal...

We missed a penalty as well (Gauld ???). Annoyingly, the title that year would've given us our second 'Treble' - all we had to do was not lose to Athlone.......

82 Posts
    Was there not two clubs ahead of dundalk derry and shels maybe? If i remember correctly we need Derry to lose and get a better result then the other team. We came from nowhere that season. We where right at the bottom and put a great run together at the end.

399 Posts
    Yeah derry lost in athlone and shels could only draw with pats at home, meant dundalk from odds of 8/1 to win it that day won the lge by a point, as gufc said, no one expected it. I still say that team were the worst ever to win the lge, we must have lost 8 games that season, then again the rest must have been as bad as us. I wouldn`t go as far as 2,500, maybe 2,000 at the game from memory

Apparently 160 at kilkenny with 100 of them away supporters

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Yeah derry lost in athlone and shels could only draw with pats at home, meant dundalk from odds of 8/1 to win it that day won the lge by a point, as gufc said, no one expected it. I still say that team were the worst ever to win the lge, we must have lost 8 games that season, then again the rest must have been as bad as us. I wouldn`t go as far as 2,500, maybe 2,000 at the game from memory
    You and a few others have it wrong. The Derry Athlone match finished 1-1 that day, letting Dundalk overtake us.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    What did I say?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Page 66 of 72 FirstFirst ... 16566465666768 ... LastLast