Thread: Longford v Sligo postponed 90 mins before kick off

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    Ya I said he arrived at 6. I know Longford officials cannot call the game off that’s why I said their should be some one from the FAI at the ground earlier
    this has to be the most ridicilous thread ever on this site. it was a league game, why would 'some one (sic) from the FAI' be there?

the weather is not the fault of football administrators, desipte how much the slig kids want it to be.

and in all fairness lads its not as if ye were half way to cork.. longford is the smallest trip yer gonna have all year ffs. ye should be counting yer blessings it happened here and not somewhere else.
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

115 Posts
    athlone fans were in ballybofey when they found out that there game was cancelled so look on the brightside

Quote Originally Posted by Olander
    athlone fans were in ballybofey when they found out that there game was cancelled so look on the brightside

Thats just God's way of punishing them for being from Athlone!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Pitch was deemed playable at 6pm. It was playable again at the next check at 6.45, but the referee felt that it would have been called off later in the night, given the incessant rain.

Quote Originally Posted by Olander
    Same thing happened to me when Athlone were to play Cork City on St. Stephen's Day in Bishopstown in the early 90s. We all made the trip but the game was called off not long before kick-off.

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    Thats just God's way of punishing them for being from Athlone!
    What? Going to Ballboffey or having to trek back without seeing any football?
    DCFC

In fairness to everyone, the rain was unbelivable, imo nobodys fault! Kelly called the game off at 6.00 as soon as he arrived apparentley. I was in Newtown forbes heading to Longford at 6.30 when I got word from one of the players it was off could have been Mallow heading to Cork. About 10/15 of us went into The Stillery Bar & had great craic so all wasnt lost, before that we drove to the groung for a look & the rain was coming in heavy from the town side we all would have been soaked to the bone in 5 minuets covered stand or not, Longford were the big loosers great crowd down. Look forward to the trip down on a fine summers evening!