Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Bohs initiative to attract recent immigrants

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    We tried it with this big lanky Cork bloke last year. Unmitigated disaster.
    But Lanky Cork blokes only go to matches when they are lanky in Cork like

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Yep, RonnieB, the one and only "Skinner" .
    Great friend of mine.
    Had a drink with him a fortnight ago - he's studying for his BA in UCG now. Fair play to him
    Anyone see the poster for the production of the "Taming of the Shrew"?
    They have it set in Ireland apparently and your man the actor Owen Roe looks like one of Athlone's former( if not still a current) directors!

Anyway I heard that Dublin GAA are trying to sign up one of the Chinese community ... a certain Win Sam Soon !
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 10/03/2006 at 11:21 PM.

42 Posts
    Good idea by Bohs.Don't mind the knockers.Even if it gets only an extra 50 fans to a game its extra money for the club and new supporters. Waterford United have 2 Polish players and a Nigerian in their squad for this season so maybe some of their fellow nationals might come out to the RSC this season.

This is feckin' Working there was at least 100 non-Irish born supporters in the new Phoenix Bar after the match. And just as I predicted quite a few Bohemians Praha Scarfs.

After last night's dross, they probably won't be back. What's 'Patience, we are STILL in transition' in Czech?

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    This is feckin' Working there was at least 100 non-Irish born supporters in the new Phoenix Bar after the match. And just as I predicted quite a few Bohemians Praha Scarfs.
    Bohemians Praha nearly folded last Spring and have been saved by their fans.
    Fans like that won't abandon ye overnight. Did you like their green and white scarves?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    Bohemians Praha nearly folded last Spring and have been saved by their fans. green and white scarves?
    Im seeing a connection to another Dublin club here

so do I
    accentuate the positive

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley
    I don't think that's acceptable. On an Ultras board, perhaps, but not on a mixed EL forum.

I'd welcome mod's opinions on the same poster's chronic attachment to this word, as well as 'filth', and 'scum' when referring to fans of another club.

Sorry in advance for being so pernickety. Up to now, I haven't been too exercised about this, but over the past few days another poster on this board was edited and threatened with a ban, partly because he had the timerity to call someone else a culchie or some such. When I pointed out this anomaly, I was told I should complain. Now I'm complaining.

Paddy Power's foot.ie book on this post:
    Move to Rubbish or other limbo: no market
    edit, to make no sense or to reverse meaning: 2/1
    deletion: 3/1
    public threat of ban: 7/2
    hysterical defence by mod: 1/2
    'I'm so important I haven't got time for this' response by mod: 3/1
    ban: 2/1
    Rebuke for abusive poster and appeal for civilised debate: 33/1. Surprise me!
    all this because yourself and bohsfans got laughed at when you tried to pin the riots on rovers?

your right, everyone else is wrong.

heaven forbid rovers and bozos, harps and derry, cork and waterford etc will slag each other off. imagine that. hell in a handcart.

you need to grow up or find a new hobby.

to the bozos who exist on planet earth, let us know how this initiative pans out over the coming months.

Quote Originally Posted by Shimokita
    I know a guy in Dublin who predicted that Ireland would have an amazing football team in 20-25 years when we started getting Nigerian immigrants and their kids had Irish citizenship. He should have been more vocal when they changed the rules...
    What the feck ??? There's 120m Nigerians in Nigeria - yet apart from a brief stint in the sun a few years back, their national team has hardly set the footballing world alight.

The UK has a massive Nigerian population - and has done for years now. Name me one English international footballer of Nigerian extraction ?

So why then would you expect a few tens of thousands of kids born and bred in Ireland - in amongst an island-wide population of c.5.6m - to launch Irish football onto an entirely new and successful trajectory, purely because they happen to be of Nigerian decent ??

In other words - your friend was talking out of his arse. Racial stereotyping in a seemingly positive way is still racial stereotyping.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    The UK has a massive Nigerian population - and has done for years now. Name me one English international footballer of Nigerian extraction ?

Racial stereotyping in a seemingly positive way is still racial stereotyping.
    John Salako springs to mind , however your basic point is valid. As against that the Nigerians claimed English born Efan Ekoku about 10 years ago or so. Where Ireland might benefit would be in terms of the odd sprinter might emerge.

Closer to home we have had Italian immigrants in Ireland since the Second World War. Apart from Terry Mancini and Tony Cascarino ( both born in England) Can anyone name one other Italian/Irish international soccer players.. and I would ask anyone to find me another defender or goalkeeper( Italian specialities)?
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 12/03/2006 at 4:40 PM.

Irish people have inferiority complex and always think foreigners automatically better than their own. For years eL teams brought in foreigners to play & just because they of a different colour some people think they look like footballers.

It can seen a little in current granny rule craze.

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    I don't expect a 1000 Poles in Dalyer on fri.
    Hopefully a load of them will make it to the Showgies next Saturday so.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Irish people have inferiority complex and always think foreigners automatically better than their own. For years eL teams brought in foreigners to play & just because they of a different colour some people think they look like footballers.

It can seen a little in current granny rule craze.
    I don't know 80 years of international forwards who rarely score might have something to do with it.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    John Salako springs to mind , however your basic point is valid. As against that the Nigerians claimed English born Efan Ekoku about 10 years ago or so. Where Ireland might benefit would be in terms of the odd sprinter might emerge.

Closer to home we have had Italian immigrants in Ireland since the Second World War. Apart from Terry Mancini and Tony Cascarino ( both born in England) Can anyone name one other Italian/Irish international soccer players.. and I would ask anyone to find me another defender or goalkeeper( Italian specialities)?
    John Salako was Nigerian born himself - not an English-born son of Nigerian immigrant(s).

Good point about the Italians. Sure - we've had hundreds of thousands of Kerry people wandering around the country for millenia now, and they've hardly made much of a contribution towards Irish soccer either....!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    John Salako was Nigerian born himself - not an English-born son of Nigerian immigrant(s).

Good point about the Italians. Sure - we've had hundreds of thousands of Kerry people wandering around the country for millenia now, and they've hardly made much of a contribution towards Irish soccer either....!
    just look at national cup results over the last 5 years to see kerrys contribution to irish soccer.ranked in the top 3or4 in the country and certainely ahead of derry clubs.oh sorry yere clubs are not in it

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    all this because yourself and bohsfans got laughed at when you tried to pin the riots on rovers?

your right, everyone else is wrong.

heaven forbid rovers and bozos, harps and derry, cork and waterford etc will slag each other off. imagine that. hell in a handcart.

you need to grow up or find a new hobby.

to the bozos who exist on planet earth, let us know how this initiative pans out over the coming months.
    BORING. Why not PM each other with your childish behaviour?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123