International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    My report -

All about marketability, you see!
    Fair play Pineapple, btw, for doing all the reports. Always very well written and accurate. Better (and longer) than any of the other sh!t written by so-called experts.

I never said I was optimistic; I said you were pessimistic.

Vaguely encouraging and largely competitive defeat against a Derry side who are looking for the title this year; disappointing defeat against an as yet unbeaten Pat's side; a comprehensive outplaying of Waterford and now a narrow defeat for our reserves against Dundalk's first team (give or take a couple on either side) in which the consensus from the Dundalk fans is that we should have had the game wrapped up before injury time. Paul Byrne's back, Gary Dicker's back, Alan McNally's back, Tony Mac's due back shortly - no injuries to speak of. I don't see any reason for the overwhelming negativity!
    Not pessimistic... realistic ! We are going to win nothing this season!
    If all of the walking wounded return we might stay up but that probably won't matter given that John Delaney's Handpicked Glorified Table Football League is coming down the track.... with location location location being factored into the equation no matter how sh1t your team or incompetent your board of directors might be!

The League Cup was our most realistic chance of silverware and we are out! And I thought qualifying for the Setanta Cup next season might lead to a rethink on throwing us out of the Premier ...
    The Under 21 selection couldn't beat the worst team in the First Division so clearly they are going to do nothing this season either!
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 29/03/2006 at 10:05 PM.

3,493 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dmandmythdledge
    Always...accurate.

Quote Originally Posted by Collegetillidie
    The Under 21 selection couldn't beat the worst team in the First Division so clearly they are going to do nothing this season either!
    Going to enjoy rubbing that quote in your face come the end of the season!

Rather surprised that you expected us to win silverware this season - rather lofty ambition, don't you think? Setting yourself up to be disappointed. In any case, you more than anyone should know we always start seasons slowly and then build from there. We're already two points ahead of our total after three games last season.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    The worst team in the 1st Division or the team who is bottom after 3 games? See Bohs in the Premier. Sometimes it seems like you bend the statistics and facts to beat this team with.

The League Cup was our most realistic chance of silverware and we are out! And I thought qualifying for the Setanta Cup next season might lead to a rethink on throwing us out of the Premier ...
    http://adisney.go.com/disneypictures...aper_1_800.jpg

Going to enjoy rubbing that quote in your face come the end of the season!

We're already two points ahead of our total after three games last season.
    Well I hope you are right on the first count.
    Our record last season after three games was pathetic so nothing to be proud of there!

Rather surprised that you expected us to win silverware this season - rather lofty ambition, don't you think? Setting yourself up to be disappointed.
    I expected us to have a real go at winning the League Cup and also to retain the Under 21 title... and that is not going to happen! If you do not aim to win stuff what are you in the game for?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    The worst team in the 1st Division or the team who is bottom after 3 games? See Bohs in the Premier. Sometimes it seems like you bend the statistics and facts to beat this team with.
    You look for pointers and they ain't too promising poor student.

3,493 Posts
    Our record last season after three games was pathetic so nothing to be proud of there!
    But it's better this year and we survived grand last year.

I expected us to have a real go at winning the League Cup and also to retain the Under 21 title... and that is not going to happen! If you do not aim to win stuff what are you in the game for?
    Why isn't the U-21 title going to happen? I hope to do well in all competitions - I don't go overboard if, say, we get knocked out in the League Cup First Round - but realistically, we can't aim to win things, just to do as well as we can and have as much craic as we can. Most clubs don't aim to win things. Should they disband? We haven't won anything in 11 years sure!

You look for pointers and they ain't too promising poor student.
    Actually, his logic is as correct in that post as yours is incorrect in yours. We were the worst team in the Premier this time last week, but suddenly we're the joint sixth best because we beat Waterford. Hurray!

We haven't won anything in 11 years sure!
    Super Cup in 2000.

3,493 Posts
    I never saw the presentation for that, so I doubt its very existence. I maintain the SSS robbed the trophy from Merrion Square when we were short a lollipop receptacle.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Gally is on their bench. Robbie Mac is playing. They're saying he looks unfit despite having played 7 or 8 games, describe him as looking as 1 and a half stone overweight.
    Robbie Mac to be fair has not kicked a ball much for a year and a half. Reliable sources tell me that Dundalk's players all look overweight and have fitness issues and we( Under 21 plus special first team guest players) were unable to beat a team that was out of condition

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123