How do you know that there are not Shels supporters in NLSA?
As I said on the Shels board, should the NLSA have the power to speak for all clubs supporters groups when it does not contain members from each club? The group meeting comprises of two UCD supporters? Surely it should max contain one member from a club? I really didn't know anything about this group until now.
For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie
How do you know that there are not Shels supporters in NLSA?
Cos I read that it comprised of fans from Derry, UCD, Harps and Rovers
Gareth, something comprises something, not comprises of something.
Maybe the committe does but AFAIK there was a big turnout at the first meeting (I know the Independent Saints rep went and was impressed)
Dodge, then I am mistaken. I just read it incorporates 14 out of 22 supportters clubs and shels is not one of the 14 so that would explain my lack of knowledge on this so.
As for Poor Student, yeah cheers for the english lesson.
Gareth .... to be honest, while most clubs are represented in the NLSA, i actually think that your comment is totally out of order (i'm not attacking you now, just the comment. And not just you, anyone else that makes it) The NLSA is in its infancy still, imo i think the obligation is on clubs supporters groups to come forward at this stage and subscribe to it, and support the NLSA. Its those groups that will make the NLSA, it needs those groups opinions to evolve. And that fact that some clubs aren't represented at this stage shows those clubs up more for their lack of activity, its not like they didn't have an opportunity to get involved. It was never a secret or anything.
BTW Shels official supporters club is IMO far too close to the club. There's no way they'd be involved in any independent supporters group
don't consider you are attacking me. Which comment by the way or just the whole tone of my post. I just think if a body is to represent a body of supporters, they should indicate which body they are representing. Its normal enough. I misread at the start and thought it was made up of 4 clubs which I thought was madness if they were representing the entire body of supporters. I have since been corrected on this. the fact 2 committee members(out of 5 is it) are from UCD surprised me, is all.
By the way I am not involved with the Shelbourne Supporters Club. Oh and I am not on the attack here at all, open to hearing more about all this, so Dodge and A Face, I hope you don't see me on the defensive or attacking anybody!!!
Last edited by Gareth; 27/02/2006 at 11:39 AM.
Not at all, Gareth. I'm not involved with NLSA in anyway BTW
No worries fella ... being honest i was on the defensive alright. Sorry 'bout that !!Originally Posted by Gareth
Group hug
Nah fair play to the people involved, but it is important that if they say they represent the fans of all clubs that there are representives from each club involved, otherwise they are not representing the entire support and would need to amend the name? What you think?
I'm a member of the NLSA, I know that there's no formal link up between the CCOSC and the NLSA, though I do know that the intentions (at least on the CCOSC's part) are to discuss this soon.
I agree with Gareth to an extent, the NLSA isn't in a position to speak on behalf of EL fans yet, my understanding is that membership is based almost entirely among the 14 clubs that took up the EL allocation offer, and I can't speak for everyone, but while I think the bulk of the meeting minutes are encouraging, the thread on this subject in the Cork City forums was the first mention I'd heard of it. As a member, an email telling me this was happening and looking for comments and/or questions might have been nice.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
be very carefull lads, the intentions of the NLSA group are fantactic, but you do not have a mandate from all football fans. you dont get to speak on behalf of anyone other than those affiliated.
If the FAI want an overall fans association, let them establish, fund and support one. Offering affiliation to teh individual fans groups.
"I just read it incorporates 14 out of 22 supportters club" but this is not enough, most clubs have more than one suporters club/association/loose grouping. you cannot claim to represent 14 football clubs fans. Even though this is exactly what teh FAI want. There after tehy only need ring up the NLSA chairman tell him the plan for this that ot the other and cliam to have consulted with all the Eircom leagu fans
dont be used.
good luck.
Lads, imo i cant ever see the FAI starting a fans group, not as long as they have Alan Hunter to wheel out for every crisis and depict fans as a collective of bundling morons.
The NLSA should act as a lobby group, it should represent its members, you cant expect them to worry about people who aren't members (and aren't members of any other either) .... its basically the people who step forward.
There is no way they can claim that ... not a chance. I know they do it now with Alan Hunter but he hasn't a clue what he is saying from what i can gather and he is hardly going to say he doesn't represent all the fans. He is about to march in Dublin Castle with his 40,000 fellow members any day now demanding to have the use of Croker.Originally Posted by green-blood
This is bollóx lads. If the Shels Supporters Club joins, how can the NLSA claim to represent the Shels supporters not in their supporters club or the nlsa?
The nlsa can only claim to represent it's members. If it's the only group in town then wtf are people giving out about. If 14 out 22 clubs are represented, shame on those not, not on the nlsa.
Christ, one meeting, of the first group to get going in years to represent eL fans and the back biting fookin starts. However, the committee should take on board greenbloods comments about getting used. They should be very wise to the way Delaney and Co operate.
NLSA = Hunter as far as the FAI are concerned, this is exactly what they want. Its not indeope ndent its being driven, directed, steered whateve you want to call it, its only a matter of ftime until some PR officer is making statements to teh press about this fans body or that fans body or bad language on the terraces.
Its toothless, pointless and sure as long as they give us some intenational tickets sure hey we're happy, thank yi master, thank yi....
You could always get involved and stop this happening green-blood...
You know what I think would be more effective? Bitching about stuff on the internet!Originally Posted by green-blood
(Or more appositely, given the allegiance of this naysayer, issuing hysterical press releases every five minutes which might as well read simply "Wolf.")
I'm neither involved in nor a particularly ardent supporter of the NLSA, but an organisation which could effectively counter the negative spin imparted unchallenged to coverage of the eircom League is urgently required. Give it a chance.
I agree on one matter though - there are two separate, irreconcilable strands of football "culture" in this country, one represented by the "national team" and one by the national league. International ticketing allocations should be the least of our concerns.
A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.