Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Barca v Chelsea Round2

43 Posts
    Partly guessed this part of Jose's post match comment wouldn't make it on here today, not sensational enough in the current climate.

"Despite the disappointment, he did have some words of complement for the victors.

“Barcelona are certainly a great team. We are completely different teams. They have great qualities in one aspect, we have great qualities in another. But if they are in the next round, they deserve to be there. They can think about the quarter-final, we can think about the Premiership and the FA Cup.”"
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

He shoud have also added that Barca can think about La Liga also.
    In Trap we trust

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo
    Was hoping Werder would beat Juve, they were the most attacking and positive team left in the competition and Juve are the diametric opposite.
    You obviously didn't see this game then as the min they got the goal they sat back in that oh so familiar fashion that clubs do, despite the fact that there were goals a plenty to be had like the first game.

Does anyone think the ould pink shirted fella was on the take? Good grief it was a howler and a half, you have to wonder......
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Partly guessed this part of Jose's post match comment wouldn't make it on here today, not sensational enough in the current climate.

they deserve to be there.
    That was to a spanish audience. First question asked by ITV "Did the best team go through?" "No I don't think so..."

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    That was to a spanish audience. First question asked by ITV "Did the best team go through?" "No I don't think so..."
    I watched it on Sky Sports news last night, not the Spanish version either. Who cares what he said first, I'm only highlighting that he did give them credit, which people don't want to accept.. not trendy to do so at the mo.

Of course he's not going to come out and say publically that his team were
    s h i * e. No other manager I know does.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    But every neutral would love to seem them win it I am sure.
    Complete generalisation. I am a neutral and I wouldn't necessarily love to see them win it. I'd sooner see a small club like Villa Real win it. As a supporter of a relatively small club in England, I much prefer to see smaller clubs having their moment in the sun rather than the massive clubs, no matter how flamboyant their style of football.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

No but some of them admit they were beating by a better team, and not just "they beat us so they deserve to be there" patronising crap.

I don't care one way or the other BTW. I think Mourinho's right to Feck with the press and everyone's heads. Just don't think anyone claim he's anything less than a poor loser

Well you sound like an bit of a crank so Villareal play pretty defensive football whereas Barca play fantastic football to watch. I will rephrase my post so. I believe that most neutrals woudl like to see Barca win the Champions League.
    In Trap we trust

Fact is Mourinhio is a bad winner and a bad loser. To be one is not nice to be both is the sign of a ********.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Complete generalisation. I am a neutral and I wouldn't necessarily love to see them win it. I'd sooner see a small club like Villa Real win it. As a supporter of a relatively small club in England, I much prefer to see smaller clubs having their moment in the sun rather than the massive clubs, no matter how flamboyant their style of football.

Also on this logic therefore you should go for the smallest club all the time. Do you shout for Southend if they play Sheff Wed. To be honest Sheff Wed would be one of the biggest clubs in the Championship so I presume most weeks you dont cheer for them. Did you chear for Israel V Ireland last year then.
    Last edited by NeilMcD; 08/03/2006 at 3:07 PM.
    In Trap we trust

poor game - great goal. disapointed by chelseas constant diving. fair play to Barcelona for bein a bit more tactically saavy than they are ever given credit for. fancy one of the big italian teams to take them tho. highlight of the night was the look on john terrys face as he ran back to halfwayline after peno as if to say " we are back in this game lads" only for reff to blow whistle 5 seconds later. too much made of mourhinho and his mind games.biggest thing is that he gets his teams to play such ordinary (but admittedly effective)football. great if you are a chelsea fan but not much for the neutrals(of whom neilmcd is our leader ).

Quote Originally Posted by klein4
    poor game - great goal. disapointed by chelseas constant diving. fair play to Barcelona for bein a bit more tactically saavy than they are ever given credit for. fancy one of the big italian teams to take them tho. highlight of the night was the look on john terrys face as he ran back to halfwayline after peno as if to say " we are back in this game lads" only for reff to blow whistle 5 seconds later. too much made of mourhinho and his mind games.biggest thing is that he gets his teams to play such ordinary (but admittedly effective)football. great if you are a chelsea fan but not much for the neutrals(of whom neilmcd is our leader ).

Ok as leader I kick you out.
    In Trap we trust

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I believe that most neutrals woudl like to see Barca win the Champions League.
    Have to agree with the leader of the neutrals on this one. A win for Barca over any of the defensive Italians and Luckypool will be great for football. An Arse v Barca final would be mouthwatering to see Henry and Gums goin head to head. Saving that I'd like Ajax or Lyon v Barca final - that gives the perfect winner in my opinion.

Does anyone think the ould pink shirted fella was on the take? Good grief it was a howler and a half, you have to wonder...... Quote

I take it that you didn't see the full highlights then. The Bremen keeper Weise I think was his name had an outstanding game complete with some of the best saves you're likely to see a keeper make. It was really cruel that it had to happen to him. Just the way he fell to the ground to try and smother the ball caused him to spin around and the ball to pop out. Could that be the slice of luck that all champions need?
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

ure having a laugh NmcD if you dont think Crespo is a superstar player - he is a great player who changes games. a fantastic player so too are duff and cole on their day as is robben.

btw carvalho is fcking amazing - he's a defnder but so what?? - defnders are part of the game too - and i'd add terry and ferreria to that class

this barca team has to win the cl to convince me, and my money and mouth is saying they WON'T!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    You're confusing club and team there. Porto have two european cups, they're not a better team than Barca...

Agree that they can't be considered a great team until they win it though.

you're confusing me with someone confusing club and team there.

I know what I said.

Barca Scummer.

To me it would be Lyon against Barca. I think Lyon are a great team to watch and have been knocking on the door to for a while.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    ure having a laugh NmcD if you dont think Crespo is a superstar player - he is a great player who changes games. a fantastic player so too are duff and cole on their day as is robben.

btw carvalho is fcking amazing - he's a defnder but so what?? - defnders are part of the game too - and i'd add terry and ferreria to that class

this barca team has to win the cl to convince me, and my money and mouth is saying they WON'T!

Chelsea have not won the Europea ncup ever either l.

When I say superstar I mean Pele, Maradona, Cruyff, Best, Platini, Van Basten, Zidane, Rivaldo,

Chelsea do not have anybody of this calibre. Somebody that every team in the competition would put in their starting 11 and that wows the crowds.

In my view only Rooney, Ronaldihio and Henry and Shevchenko and possibly Eto fall into this category at the moment.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by wws

Carvalho the same guy that clattered the Barca player in the 1st game and gave away a stupid free that led to the goal. He is a very very good player but not a superstar. As I said there is only about 2 or 3 superstars per generation and Chelsea dont have any of them at the moment.
    In Trap we trust

entering the realms of silliness there Leader!
    Crespo is world class. it not his fault he doesnt like bein at chelsea.
    and rooney hasnt exactly inspired united to great things this season. still fancy arsenal to win it outright and Liverpool to go out tonite.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast