Thread: Credit/Bank Card Skimming

Unhappy Credit/Bank Card Skimming

Anyone been a victim of credit/bank card skimming.

Just spotted over the weekend that my account was cleared out while I was on holidays in Kerry.

What are the banks like investigating this?

Do you have much comeback. Theyve told me it will take 10 working days to get the machines transactions and not a whole lot after that.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

**** thats terrible...imagine being on holiday in Kerry!

Sorry all joking aside, that is terrible. Feckers.

You've no comeback really as far as I know. so I wouldn't hold much hope of seeing your money again.
    This happened to my brother in-law on christmas eve and he never got a cent back. Sorry to hear about it happening to you.

Sorry to hear it Blobby. It happened to me when I was living in London but the fraud department of HSBC picked up on it and called after some suspicous transactions.
    All my money was returned to me. Banks should have some sort of insurance to cover skmming. Its not accepaible that you should lose your money because of they're inadequate security.

Again buddy sorry to hear it and hope you get the money back.

The irony of it is how I found out. I was using the card to book a holiday to Spain when the payment was declined. Is that irony?

God I feel sick.

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    Anyone been a victim of credit/bank card skimming.

Just spotted over the weekend that my account was cleared out while I was on holidays in Kerry.

What are the banks like investigating this?

Do you have much comeback. Theyve told me it will take 10 working days to get the machines transactions and not a whole lot after that.
    Happened a girl at work, she was fully reimbursed once after she made her complaint to the Gardai and it only took about a week for the bank to sort her.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    Sorry to hear it Blobby. It happened to me when I was living in London but the fraud department of HSBC picked up on it and called after some suspicous transactions.
    All my money was returned to me. Banks should have some sort of insurance to cover skmming. Its not accepaible that you should lose your money because of they're inadequate security.

Again buddy sorry to hear it and hope you get the money back.
    My only fear is that this is Ireland. My bank have always been useless and the credit card insurance that Im paying probably covers me for nothin.

A fool and his money..., eh! Someone deserves a good kicking.

Is it your bank card or credit card. AFAIK Credit Cards are much easier to reclaim money from

30 Posts
    With credit cards you can issue a chargeback on fradulent transactions.

Bank card skimming happened to a lad in work and as far as I know he
    got cash back from the bank. Although I think there was some issue that they
    had his pin number so it wasnt the same as just robbing him. Cant remember the
    full ins and outs but I'll try to find out

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Is it your bank card or credit card. AFAIK Credit Cards are much easier to reclaim money from
    Credit Card from a BOI First rate?!? bank machine in Killarney

Just get on to as many people as possible. Banks, Credit card companies, garda, the bank machine it was skimmed, the citizens advice people, maybe even newspapers. Cause as much fuss as possible. Banks do not like bad publicity

I know people who have had either bank cards or credit cards skimmed and all have had their accounts fully restored by the banks. You have to make a complaint to the Gardaí otherwise they can't help you or help prevent this.

Seen many many incidents of this kind whilst an employee of a bank. Dreadful when it happens to you. In come cases, full refunds, in others, none. All depended on how it was taken. Seen some really awful cases of this.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Just get on to as many people as possible. Banks, Credit card companies, garda, the bank machine it was skimmed, the citizens advice people, maybe even newspapers. Cause as much fuss as possible. Banks do not like bad publicity
    I doubt the bank machine will say much Dodge. He was probably threatened by the purpotrator.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I know people who have had either bank cards or credit cards skimmed and all have had their accounts fully restored by the banks. You have to make a complaint to the Gardaí otherwise they can't help you or help prevent this.
    I dont know of anyone that it has happened to and never thought it would happen to me. Didnt think it was as widespread but seems like everyone here knows someone that it has affected.

Surely its time for banks to rethink the design of their machines to attempt to prevent this from happening.

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    I doubt the bank machine will say much Dodge. He was probably threatened by the purpotrator.

Sorry, couldn't resist.
    In my head I typed, the bank where the machie was...

**** thats terrible...imagine being on holiday in Kerry!
    LOL, thats well funny, magicme, you're getting funnier.

blobby thats terrible though, you get it all back though dont ye?!?!

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    I've also heard that people get fully reimbursed when bank & gardai been notified although the fact it got cleared out while you on holidays might look suspicious...

the credit card insurance that Im paying probably covers me for nothin.
    ya if its debit its not repaid but if its on the credit then you are alright.

My brother had money taken from his account like that too. I think he had to notify the bank, they sorted everything out from there. Though Im sure he will tell you all the specifics himself when he is next on here.