Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Which is the best and worst accent in the country?

Quote Originally Posted by babydol
    Worst - Cork (coz i can't understand it)
    I had a fair job understanding you too, girl.
    At least Gareth talks proper!
    Drum Red is getting easier to understand but I think that's because he's picking up the Cork accent.

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7
    Worst accent: Cork, Louth or knacker Dub
    Lads, you should hear this guys accent!
    How he manages in London is beyond me.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe
    I'm half Fermanagh-half Down accented so where the hell do you get this 'hi' (Ballymena-style) thing from. We don't say that....
    I've still to meet anyone from Fermanagh who doesn't do that hi thing at the end of every sentence!

they always seem to refer to meet as a little sh~t from dublin as well!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

Best: Cork......how could it not be,whenever you hear it you just smile,even if they are saying something serious.About 10 years ago we were in Cork and had to ask for directions but anytime we asked someone we just laughed our heads off as they tried to help.

Worst:Galway......surprise surprise.

another thing...what is the reason behind us all having different accents?is it anything to do with climate?

Lads, you should hear this guys accent!
    How he manages in London is beyond me
    LOL i can confirm his is a mad accent, i havent heard such a strong laaaangggfoooowwwwrd accent before.

another thing...what is the reason behind us all having different accents?is it anything to do with climate?
    what i find surprising is the relatively short distance, the accents can be well strong/different.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    what is the reason behind us all having different accents?is it anything to do with climate?
    I might have told this story before but sure what harm, I'll tell it again.
    I was on a train in Paris about 6 years ago and wasn't 100% sure where that I was on the correct train. This absolutely stunning girl sat next to me so I decided to ask her if this was the correct train for where I was going.

She said it was and once she discovered I was Irish, I couldn't shut her up. I noticed her accent was slightly different to the people I'd been working with so she began to explain the she was from Marseille, which is on the south coast and that they "sing" when they speak.

"Just like Cork people!" I said.
    "Really?" She said, "That's incredible! There is a saying that we sing when we see the sun because the weather is always wonderful."
    "Just like Cork." I said.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I might have told this story before but sure what harm, I'll tell it again.
    I was on a train in Paris about 6 years ago and wasn't 100% sure where that I was on the correct train. This absolutely stunning girl sat next to me so I decided to ask her if this was the correct train for where I was going.

She said it was and once she discovered I was Irish, I couldn't shut her up. I noticed her accent was slightly different to the people I'd been working with so she began to explain the she was from Marseille, which is on the south coast and that they "sing" when they speak.

"Just like Cork people!" I said.
    "Really?" She said, "That's incredible! There is a saying that we sing when we see the sun because the weather is always wonderful."
    "Just like Cork." I said.
    Thats a great story but did ya get a good mooch ?!?!

Quote Originally Posted by aido_b
    Thats a great story but did ya get a good mooch ?!?!
    aidob/aidoM - LOL - you beat me to it.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    aidob/aidoM - LOL - you beat me to it.
    Yep knew that you'd be in there soon Hamish!

Yeah, but was Peadar?

.......or is he too much the gentleman to kiss 'n' tell.

Yeah, but was Peadar?

.......or is he too much the gentleman to kiss 'n' tell.
    Nah i reckon he's been braggin away to all the lads about it! Big game tonight Hamish, Wolves vs Stoke!

A Corky Boy bragging!!! Never!!

Wolves v Stoke.
    You going aidoB/aidoM????

A Corky Boy bragging!!! Never!!

Wolves v Stoke.
    You going aidoB/aidoM????
    Too right! Great atmosphere in the molineux, nice stadium too!

the sligo sham accent has to be the worst...i hate it!

anything from up north is deadly

Best-Donegal
    Worst-The accent of the galway people who aint from the city.....and of course the sligo accent. Louth,Longford(ooooo arrrr) and Cavan.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Firstly thank you Peadar for suggesting I can speak somewhat coherently (I wish my written word stood up better ).

I find any accent that alters the language to the point where the spoken word bares no logical comparsion to the written one as dodgy. Any accent that drawls can be annoying (Drogs accent, rolling donegal accents). I find however its not the accent that bothers me but the content of what is spoken.

A gaggle of Corkies in one room can be overwhelming. Examples can be found at Frank and Walters gigs. Really heavy Dublin accents where words merge into one long sentence can be hard to understand. Northern accents however are the ones I find myself saying "Can you repeat that please" to most!!!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    I find any accent that alters the language to the point where the spoken word bares no logical comparsion to the written one as dodgy.
    You can go too far the other way though. I got an e-mail from my boss last week, saying "Youse is not a real word. Please stop using it in e-mails."
    Revenge for 2002

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    LOL i can confirm his is a mad accent, i havent heard such a strong laaaangggfoooowwwwrd accent before.
    Very true, a lot of people over here, dont actually think that Im Irish cos they've never heard that sort of accent before. Ive had a few people mistaking me for being Welsh! Funnily enough my workmates can understand me but some Irish people over here struggle! if anything the midland accent has got stronger over here for some bizarre reason...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Accent

Best for me has to be the Donegal or a Dublin accent from somewhere like Portmarnock or Malahide , the worst anywhere in N.Ireland

Drum Red is getting easier to understand but I think that's because he's picking up the Cork accent.
    Oh please don't say that, I couldn't live with an accent like that!!!

I hope that comment was meant as irony about Gar's accent Peadar???
    Sitting pretty!!!

How am I difficult to understand! I didn't think I spoke all that different to Gar!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast