Thread: Bohs initiative to attract recent immigrants

Bohs initiative to attract recent immigrants

think this is brilliant - I don't expect a 1000 Poles in Dalyer on fri. but if it's kept up it can only pay dividends both for us, and, as importantly, it sends out a very clear welcome to recent immigrants in an area where the composition of the population has changed hugely over the last few years; I know Pats have done something similar, and I would hope other clubs would follow suit. Plus, a whole bunch of people who are never - one would hope - going to be seduced by gah have to be a natural audience for our, ahem, 'product'.

http://gypsiesweb.proboards48.com/in...ead=1141822039

One of the lads was telling me about this the other night. fair play to all involved look forward to welcoming our new "Brothers" to the jodi

"Dublin's premier professional football club."

And

"During the game you can eat fish and chips from one of our restaurants.."

71 Posts
    Nice positive gesture. Great poster. It might not work, but you've got to try. Fair play to Bohs.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    "Dublin's premier professional football club."

And

"During the game you can eat fish and chips from one of our restaurants.."

don't see what wrong with either statement - 'premier' in the sense of being in the premier division - that's the one above you - and in the sense of being first historically, and biggest, in terms of support, and we are undeniably from Dublin and a football club.

and...

we have two restaurants - and you can eat fish and chips from both of them...

would i need to ring in advance to book a table ????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Maybe the dublin clubs could have a draft style raffle where get to choose an ethnic community. Bohs could have the Chinese, Shels the Poles & so on...?

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan
    don't see what wrong with either statement - 'premier' in the sense of being in the premier division - that's the one above you - and in the sense of being first historically, and biggest, in terms of support, and we are undeniably from Dublin and a football club.

and...

we have two restaurants - and you can eat fish and chips from both of them...
    Where are these "restaurants"?

Biggest in terms of support??????? And you dont see whats wrong with that statement

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Maybe the dublin clubs could have a draft style raffle where get to choose an ethnic community. Bohs could have the Chinese, Shels the Poles & so on...?
    The last name out of the hat gets the spanish summer students.

Great idea and fair dues to those involved...but did anyone else see Paulo di Canio in a Lazio shirt if you look down thro' the BOhs message. Maybe not teh best message for some of our foreign friends
    Mick D. for Ireland!

57 Posts

Biggest in terms of support??????? And you dont see whats wrong with that statement

res·tau·rant A place where meals are served to the public.
    restaurant
    n : a building where people go to eat
    Kom Igen, FCK...

I know loads of people used to follow rovers n' all - but if you look at the attendance threads here based on people who actually go to matches - as opposed remember been lifted over the stile in milltown - then, yes, biggest club in Dublin

lying to your new "fans" is hardly getting the relationship off to a good start!

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    The last name out of the hat gets the spanish summer students.
    That would be UCD then

obviously if this initiative works, there will be an international food hall, serving dishes from all over the world to our new fans - underneath the redeveloped Connaught St. Stand, rebuilt to accommodate that new fan base - right beside the red n' black superstore

And another thread is ruined by Bohs/Rovers sh!TE

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    You'd have to allocate the Fijians or the residnets of Tir Na n'Og to Shels, as there's not a lot of them and they're very young.....

This is an excelent idea. There's so little done by any of our clubs to actively market themselves to ANYONE that any effort whatsoever is to be applauded. Makes sense to target newcomers who won't have any existing allegiances, and won't be as in-awe of English or Scottish football as the indigenous population.

Would also make sense for a Dublin club to target the communities of any European player they sign. i.e. if Bohs signed-up a Polish fella, would be a good opportunity for them to use that to target that community in the city.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Would also make sense for a Dublin club to target the communities of any European player they sign. i.e. if Bohs signed-up a Polish fella, would be a good opportunity for them to use that to target that community in the city.
    We tried it with this big lanky Cork bloke last year. Unmitigated disaster.

As for Bohs/Shams ****e, I agree. This thread began with yet another unwarranted, gratuitous and vindictive assault on Sham sensibilities.

The idea of this scheme is obviously to welcome immigrants in Ireland to Dalymount Park and to adopt Bohemians as their football club in Ireland. As per usual by the way things are going recently on this mb, it's gone off topic by a number of begrudgers. Maybe it needs to be spelled out to these people, but if your own club were to advertise itself to a new audience, would you not think that they would try to sell the good points of the club, or would you think that the advertisement should read along the lines; "come to a kip in the cold with not great toilet facilities and watch a team in a third rate European Leauge where the country throws cartwheels when one of it's clubs manages to get into round two of the qualifiers for the Uefa Cup."

Begrudgery is not becoming and when a clubs supporters get together to not only come up with a scheme such as this, but then follow it through I think it deserves applause.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Quote Originally Posted by CharlesThompson
    Begrudgery is not becoming and when a clubs supporters get together to not only come up with a scheme such as this, but then follow it through I think it deserves applause.
    Most of the posts above are just attempts at humour...