Thread: Hot off the rumour mill

Exclamation Hot off the rumour mill

latest paleside rumour is:

Coughlan has apparently signed for Bohs!!!!!!

anyone hear anything about this???

I've just heard the same from a reliable source who hasn't been wrong yet
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

great. nice one liam. cheers

Interesting, but had we not heard something like this about 3-4 weeks ago? Looks like we'll have to suffer another Deccie Daly season then!

Well, i guess he is playing like he was 10 years ago, and sure he has to to get into this team!

Hawkins and coughlan would be a very strong partnership for bohs. I suppose he's been trying to leave for ages, so better off with someone who wants to stay.

My info is 2nd hand so can't determine how reliable it is yet.

Derek has been trying to leave city for a while though & Bohs are looking for a centre back to replace Avery John.

Isn't Coughlan under contract until ASugust?

He might have brought in a new players over the summer but letting the existing ones leave isn't the way to move forward.

Coughlan is replaceable. As long as andrews is up to it that is.............

Think about it though:

Napier
    O'Rouke
    Andrews
    Daly

We aint to bad off for centre halfs at the minute

Originally posted by niamh
    He might have brought in a new players over the summer but letting the existing ones leave isn't the way to move forward.
    I'm sure we've all noticed how Gunther unable to get many players to resign for him already. The only players who seem to stay are the young lads (don't know any better) or players under contract. Everyone else seems to be seeing out the last year in their contracts.

We can't replace half our team every year.

btw rumour news is fresh rumour indsirtectly from bohs fan, & not just 3-4 week old one i think.

He is great in the air, but an absolute hoofer. Does anyone ever remember him taking a ball on the chest, controlling it, and passing to midfield? Doubt it. I'm not that bothered that he's gone. The basis of any good footballing team is a centre half who is comfortable on the ball. We havent had one since Dave Hill left a few years ago. And I think we havent played good football since he left either. Hopefully some of the new crop of players can fill Dave Hill's boots.

if it is true then best of luck to him. his departure does mean the lennox plan is one player down and possibly takes away from the signing of john andrews.

as for der himself he has been rubbish ever since hilly left. the man gets exposed more times than michael barrymore at a boy scout barbeque
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Thumbs down

Are ye mad?

Sure Derek can't pass the ball to save his life but i've lost count of the number of games hes won every ball in the air.

That double signing would seem to confirm what i'd heard too.

Originally posted by Pablo

We aint to bad off for centre halfs at the minute
    Yeah thats true, but I feel he was the best of our centre halfs.
    If he is gone id say he will walk straight into the Bohs team- ah but sure hes not much good anyway!!

At least we won't have to watch him hammer free kicks against the wall. I know he scored a rocket a couple of years ago but last season he just blasted every one against the wall, it drove me mad.

Red face

it official thats he's gone.a loss but he was a shocking passer of the ball so im not that sad.hopefully andrews will be well able to fill his boots and keep the ball on the ground!
    im full of optimision for the new season.what about ye lads/lassies,howdwa think it will go?
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Thumbs down

Originally posted by ollie
    im full of optimision for the new season.what about ye lads/lassies,howdwa think it will go?
    Not expecting much next season. Mid-table, reasonable cup run & well away from relegation battle would be good at this stage.

Every season we assume the new players coming in will be better than those gone. While that might be true about [players released players such as ollie & derek would be going to shels 'n bohs if useless.

Originally posted by pete
    Not expecting much next season. Mid-table, reasonable cup run & well away from relegation battle would be good at this stage.
    i think thats as good as we can hope for alright.

Derek has been utterly consistant for City. He's good in the air and isn't afraid to shout at his team mates, but he can't run and can't pass the ball, which is important for a centre half. He'll be missed, but we can cope.