Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: 3:0 Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Great result last night. but if I had to take one negative from the game it was not the fault of the new management nor the team but us the fan's. There were lenghty periods of the game when you could have heard a pin drop. I know its only a friendly but come on "the best supporters in the world" and the best they could come with was a half hearted attempt at the usual moronic mantra of the masses Ole Ole and come on u boys..... Pathetic!!
    What songs were you singing?

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    What songs were you singing?
    exactly .. This has been discussed a few times before, I have first hand experience of "Come on you boys in green" being messed up. Ffs the song only has one line. Ole Ole is more difficult to feck up and can be generally mastered even after heavy consumption of alcohol.

Maybe Foot.ie could use its creative pool of talents to come up with some new chants for us all too sing. A crowd always needs a few lads to get everyone else going,

Two songs, we only have two songs, we only have two songs, we only have two songs.

26 Posts
    Keano, Keano, He Gets The Ball N Scores A Goal, Keano

I'm quite happy with the way thing look over all but O' Brien is a liabilty. The fact that he refuses to keep the ball on the ground when we've tiny strikers just compounds the situation.

I'd also like to see the old guard gradually phased out, probably after this next campaign. I hate to see guys there on reputation and that has to include Kilbane, Morrison and Harte.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    For the limited ability he has, he does himself no favours with his attitude and general unprofessionalism.
    i think reid has much more ability than for it to be labelled limited, limited is JOS

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Soko
    I'm quite happy with the way thing look over all but O' Brien is a liabilty. The fact that he refuses to keep the ball on the ground when we've tiny strikers just compounds the situation.

I'd also like to see the old guard gradually phased out, probably after this next campaign. I hate to see guys there on reputation and that has to include Kilbane, Morrison and Harte.
    your first point regarding o'brien is valid, and a very good one.

however, your second seems to be a bit daft to me. There are a couple of players in the squad who are there on reputaton, this are not kilbane morrison or harte though. Morrison scored us a good few goals in last qualifiers, without him we would have been in SERIOUS trouble. Harte had a good game last night, and kilbane is good to have around the squad. If you want to talk about players who are in there on reputation then you need to be talking about JOS, who if he was not a man utd player would not be in there, andy o'brien, has made many errors in the premiership this season, liam miller, has done very little in the last 2 years, although im delighted for him with the goal.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I believe it was Bobby Robson who brought O'Brien to Newcastle.

26 Posts
    you believe correctly, at that time however, he was a young defender with much potential, a bit like titus bramble, neither have fulfilled it.

I wouldn't call a centre half with poor distribution a liability. O'Brien is a no nonsense defender and dealt with everything last night.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    I wouldn't call a centre half with poor distribution a liability. O'Brien is a no nonsense defender and dealt with everything last night.
    i must disagree, a centre half who isn't comfortable on the ball, at international level can be the greatest type of liability. One of the key elements is holding onto the ball, i believe we had around 56% possession last night yet the amount of times o'brien hoofed the ball, agasint better sides this will be more costly, they will hold onto it better , work us harder and be far more creative than the awful side we saw against us last night.

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    your first point regarding o'brien is valid, and a very good one.

however, your second seems to be a bit daft to me. There are a couple of players in the squad who are there on reputaton, this are not kilbane morrison or harte though. Morrison scored us a good few goals in last qualifiers, without him we would have been in SERIOUS trouble. Harte had a good game last night, and kilbane is good to have around the squad. If you want to talk about players who are in there on reputation then you need to be talking about JOS, who if he was not a man utd player would not be in there, andy o'brien, has made many errors in the premiership this season, liam miller, has done very little in the last 2 years, although im delighted for him with the goal.

Whats daft about phasing these guys out after the next campaign. It may not be too relevant now but that doesn't hide the fact that Harte still has zero pace and a penchant for being caught out of position. With a fully fit squad I wouldn't him anywhere near the squad. Kilbane can do a job from the bench for now but thats it. Am I the only one who noticed how over weight he was last night? Morrison scored goals indeed but how far did that get us. We need another partner for Keane but he can still be a role player.

To be honest I'm over critical here because I dont fall to fall into a happy land where everything is great again. Most of these players just finished 4th in WC qualifying behind Israel. Graham Kavanagh is not the sort of midfielder to get us much further than that, Stephen Ireland has to potential to be. I haven't mentioned JOS because I despise him so much it makes me angry to say his name. We have the making of a good first 11 but we still have a tricky group to navigate.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser
    Maybe Foot.ie could use its creative pool of talents to come up with some new chants for us all too sing. A crowd always needs a few lads to get everyone else going,
    Yeah a few new songs are required. Any suggestions?

at one stage last nite you could hear one guy singing on his own in the whole stadium.
    yeah a couple a catchy songs wouldnt go astray as that boys in green one doesnt suit my vocal range.

I couldn't be arsed singing at a friendly. Then again i disagree with the while "worlds greatest fans" sh!te.

Been debated many times before but we get big crowds at internationals as for a lot of people (not all people) they may only go to 3-4 live games a year.

To the tune of 'Wonderwall'...

'Today is gonna be the day, that you are going to rue,
    By now you should have somehow realised you are gonna lose,
    I don't believe that anybody plays as bad as you,
    Except ramblers

'You're just too good to be true,
    Can't take the ball off of you,
    You've got a heavenly touch,
    beating defenders in rush,
    When we're all p*ssed in the bars,
    We thank the lord that you're ours,
    You're just too good to be true,
    Can't take the ball off of you,
    Damien,Damien,Damien,Duff
    Bring back the plank

131 Posts
    In the jungle the mighty jungle O'Brien sleeps tonight

oooohhhhh ooooooooooooohhhhhhh oooooooohhhhhh ooooohhhhhh ooooohhhhhhh ooohhhh a John O'Shea

Imagine that going around Lansdowne Road during evening games everytime oul Andy was caught out of position? S**te but funny. I've started coming up with a few good ideas like that again since I stopped taking that medication.

"Are you longford in disguise???" (at the opposition for the games in croker..)

If you hate the FAI clap your hands.

we fcukin hate england we fcuking hate england we fcuking hate we fcuking hate england!

Ireland.......its just like watchin' Brazil it just like watchin Brazil (when the going's good)

Ireland.......it's just like watchin' paint dry its just like watchin' paint dry (when it's not so good)

when we're 4-0 up against Germany"Are you England in disguise"
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 02/03/2006 at 4:21 PM.

With regards to the paucity of Irish centre halves, one of the best defenders in the cyhampionship is Irish. Graham Coughlan at Wednesday is a fantastic old-skool central defender. Mind you he is in a sh1t team but has performed heroics for them.

At 30 its probably a bit late to be breaking into the international team. Shame he damits himself that he did not put the work into his game when he was younger, think he regrets it now though. Could do a job if defenders get thin on the ground.

PS his book is an excellent read

Quote Originally Posted by greatbleddyman
    PS his book is an excellent read
    Graham, don't be coming on here touting your book.
    There are rules against that!

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast