Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: 3:0 Ireland

Great result...

I've begining to get my enthusiasim though some very good performances but we've got to rememeber this was just a friendly.

Reid & Dunne were excellent, new boys O'Brien,Doyle & Ireland were good
    in fact most people played well.

Kavanagh IMHO did not do well, looks off the pace most of time, was poor on Sunday against Utd as well would not have him on ahead of O'Shea or Ireland.

O'Brien is very error prone we need to get a proper parter for Dunne at the back.

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Many positives tonight lads. I haven't felt this good about things in ages. Let's get behind them and leave the past where it belongs. Good luck to ya Stan!
    Agreed Paddy, great way to start a new era, all debutants did extremely well, and a few of the more experienced lads had more of a spring in their step. A lot to look forward to.

634 Posts
    Just back from the game and then from watching the highlight's in the Merc. Impressive start must admit. Under the cosh for the first ten mins then Stevie Reid threw in a tackle or two as did Dunners and the Boys decided they were in a match. As ever there are pluses and minuses.
    All three goals were good the latter two exceptional. Up to the goal we looked like we were very dependent on Duff and Keane. Once the first goal went in it seemed to liberate the rest of the team.

Pluses:
    Duff. As someone has already said, best performance since the friendlies before last campaign.

Keane. Didn't see him moaning, hopefully this will be a sign of things to come.

Dunne. Best performance in a home international for me by the Honey Monster. Completely outshone his partner, something he has failed to do. Tackling crisp. Pace unbelievable, distribution brilliant.

Reid. Threw himself about the place. looked for the sensible ball.

The new guys. All did well, without being brilliant. I'd include Elliot as one of the new guys too. JOB solid, willing to get stuck in and help out in tight areas. Elliot and Doyle competed for everything , worked neatly down the r.h.s. Ireland was the pick of the new guys even though he got 30mins. Surprised at how niggly he was towards the opposition. A Johnny Giles in the making perhaps?

Minuses:
    Lack of height up front. People should view this comment without the aid of the hysteria of a 3-0 result. Up until the goal if nothing was, rather than give a short pass inside or backwards, the ball went high up the field, to a small frontline, which more often than not was gobbled up by Mellberg.

John O'Shea. Tried hard to view his game tonight objectively, but I thought he was brutal. Not aggressive enough. I worry if we base our midfield around him. Outshone by his partner in crime, just like...

Andy O'Brien. Oh, dear! A step back for the Harrogate Hustler Was expecting an assured performance from his but didn't get it. Distribution was poor.

Strange Tactics ? A minor point, but what was the purpose of playing Steven Reid at right back for 1/2 an hour? He won't play there in a competitive game so why bother.

All in all a good performance. Sweden looked brutal! Spain a month before the World cup will be interesting now. Interesting. That's a good word for tonight. Interesting. Glad I'm booked up for Stuttgart.

Kingdom.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

First game but very enjoyable none the less. That fear they had under poor Brian Kerr seemed absent.
    Thought Stephen Ireland had a splendid game, nipping into gaps and spreading lovely little balls here and there. He was all over the place - a real prospect and only 19 too.
    Lovely goals too.
    Not sure about Bolton's O'Brien - improved as game went on but isn't he really a midfielder???
    Dunne and Duff were awesome.
    O'Shea was anonymous really. Reid was solid too.
    Great zip about the team and they seemed to be able to morph into different shapes up front and midfield with great interaction between the front men and midfielders. Loved that.
    Pitch was a fcuker for both teams though.

Let's hope this form keeps up.
    Stan was desperately trying to keep himself from blowing up with delight after the game. Loved that.

Lotta happy people in Louth especially tonight I reckon.

Kinda Ireland match that leaves a nice warm feeling inside and can't get rid of the smile off my face.

i thought dunne deserved MOM but then its never the defenders who get the credit..robbie keane did well tonight as captain he worked hard up front and capped it of with a lovely goal..i was hoping kevin doyle would get a goal aswell

Standing behind Dunne for the 2nd half I was really suprised he didn't get motm. He was superb.

That's 4 friendlies in a row that Duff has got man of the match. He really enjoys himself out there.

Stephen Reid was fantastic too imo. Excellent on and off the ball.

That was my top 3 players from tonight. Miller's goal was quality, he sort of chipped the ball. No cartwheel from Robbie either?

I can't think of an Irish player that didn't play well tonight and tbh there's not a chance of me predicting the next lineup. And is there any chance of Given getting his kickouts sorted? It cost us a goal against Israel and every ball he kicked tonight went into the stands.

Goals:
    http://s39.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=3...819VGQLSKILOCQ

What program do you need to play that file of the goals.. downloaded but can't play. No go on Windows Media Player.

Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen
    What program do you need to play that file of the goals.. downloaded but can't play. No go on Windows Media Player.
    Real Player works for me. I use Real player for most things.

20 Posts
    Goals look good on RTE. Will watch Fox Sports World tonight though as well.

Good start indeed but still a long way to go.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy

nice one eirebhoy!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

1,928 Posts
    I'd also go along with Réilteoirs Swedish friend, Sweden were atrocious.
    At times Duff was given space enough to park his jeep, then it looked as if the defence came over just to 'Duff watch' when he was on the ball.
    3-0, very good but I won't be getting carried away.
    It's an excellent beginning, good team spirit, particularily with Miller and Ireland showing confidence and skill. We need more friendlies before September.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boysingreen
    You need RealPlayer as I found to my cost, when it did play (eventually) for me it was at very low quality (this was after a lenghty startup and registration process and much disk thrashing and internet access).
    Anyway after if finished playing it crashed my computer in such a way
    that it required a power off to restart it (followed by a lenghty scandisk)...
    then it went into the "updatinig system please wait" as happens when
    you do a major upgrade!! God knows what it was doing, I expect I will
    find out later at a much more inconvenient time!!
    I vowed not to use that piece of software again before and now I
    know why!!
    Anyway I have 're-disable it now'.
    Of course you might not have such a problem with it, my system is pretty
    old and maybe that is why, but I don't much like software which takes
    such liberties with your system such as installing a start-up process
    without asking you (txbell), God knows what else it had done!!
    I have had less problems removing a virus from my system!!
    I cannot see why people use it or what advantage it offers over say
    mpg, for an 8 meg file it was low quality graphics (and slow frame rate)
    on my system.
    Of course it may work just fine for some people (such as Karlos above) but for me it is a bit of a nightmare unfortunately!!
    I will see if I can get free prog to convert the .rmvb to .mpg but I have
    got all the highlights recorded of Sky News anyway
    Thanks for your efforts anyway Eireboy!

I know there's strict rules about torrents on this site so I won't link directly to the torrent. The full match can be found on this site:
    http://www.fbtz.com/forum/

Register and use the search function.

621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    I'd also go along with Réilteoirs Swedish friend, Sweden were atrocious.
    At times Duff was given space enough to park his jeep, then it looked as if the defence came over just to 'Duff watch' when he was on the ball.
    3-0, very good but I won't be getting carried away.
    It's an excellent beginning, good team spirit, particularily with Miller and Ireland showing confidence and skill. We need more friendlies before September.
    Maybe just maybe the Swedes were bashed because we gave them
    a bashing rather than them playing bad.
    Maybe Duff had space because he found it and the Swedes had other
    players such as Keane, Doyle and Elliot to worry about?
    I doubt too many teams look too good when they lose 3:0, maybe
    folks would have been happier if we only won 1:0
    I can't remember the last time we won by 3 clear goals.

621 Posts
    There is a free prog called TMPGEnc which will convert .rmvb files and
    most other video files to .mpg, I am running it now however it is
    going to take about an hour to do it on my system
    Be interesting to see if the quality is better!

Quote Originally Posted by Soko
    That made me happy. As I'm sure we could all go on about the positives, just a couple of points that need tweaking.

Wayne Henderson. Not good enough for sub international but probably wont be seen much more.

Andy O' Brien. Was embarrassed next to Dunne. We really need another centre half.

Kilbane. This is actually a positive. Resembled the michilen man when he came on, get him out of here.

All in all a very good night.

So what game were you at?

ooops...................you watched it on D'telly?

Snoooooozzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Three statements - all negative - all wrong

Help, am I the only one who saw many positives from the above three mentioned players?
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    So what game were you at?

ooops...................you watched it on D'telly?

Snoooooozzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Three statements - all negative - all wrong

Help, am I the only one who saw many positives from the above three mentioned players?

If you're happy with a Brighton goalkeeper as your back up keeper then thats fine. I'd prefer a more experienced guy in that slot. H e made a good save but I'm hudging him on his career so far as a whole.

You might be the only one who has a good word for Andy O' Brien.

Likewise for Kilbane.

Sorry I couldn't get up to the match, had more important things to be doing which have nothing to do with you or football. Sorry for not getting to carried away, we've seen what can happen to us when we think we are actually world class. Stephen Ireland though - next midfield general.

386 Posts
    I thought Harte was excellent. I'm no fan of Harte but he and Duff had the beating of their Swedish counterparts everytime. He definately brought an extra attacking option to the team and really displayed how well he can spray the ball around when he's on song.

634 Posts
    In all fairness Henderson pulled off a quality save from Larsson.
    Andy OB wasn't embarrassing, but he was a bit sloppy with possession. In comparison to Dunne, there was no comparison.
    Killer did nothing wrong. Certainly made no gaffs, kept possesssssssion well when he got it.

Ps Surely Paddy Kenny is backup keeper? Regularily I mean. Plenty of time for Henderson to work on his kicking. Was no mouse either, he was barking the orders at the back four from the minute he came on. Dunne looked around at him at one stage as if to say" Jaysus wasn't expecting this".
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom
    Plenty of time for Henderson to work on his kicking.
    I've just logged on and am going from the last post first, but I thought I'd just say that having seen Henderson quite a few times, his kicking is excellent & he's got one of the longest kicks I've seen. The pitch was 100% to blame for both keepers' difficulty with their kicks. Shay always struggles on poor pitches - remember Greece away?

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast