Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland training + Mick Byrne

Ireland training + Mick Byrne

Im off college this week and am planning on going to see Ireland train tomorrow but does anybody know if its still Malahide they are training also great to see Mick Byrne back who will almost certainly bring back the fun , team spirted banter which the team had before Kerr took over

From the Indon on Sunday

WHILE it's too early to be evaluating Steve Staunton's success as Ireland manager, we can at least say that he's done enough to make Jason McAteer a happy man. McAteer, in town to publicise his latest Football Aid charity venture, is ecstatic that Staunton has brought back old stalwarts like Tony Hickey and Mick Byrne to the Ireland set-up. It's beginning to feel like old times again. Throw in a fresh round of Harry's Challenge and a couple of gruff northern English accents and you could nearly swear that Big Jack had never gone away.

No sooner was he settled into his swivel chair than Staunton began to dismantle the fabric built by Brian Kerr and set about replacing it with the structures, so tried and trusted, of a decade ago. The entire edifice was dusted and anything that carried Kerr's fingerprints was marked for instant removal, a policy no doubt that will endear Staunton to his new employers, who couldn't wait for the chance to usher the previous manager to the door.

Perhaps the team's performance on Wednesday will inform us better, but as of now it's difficult to see anything about Staunton's first eight weeks that isn't regressive. Even the hiring of Bobby Robson in a role that has yet to be clearly defined hardly seems the most forward-looking, as venerable and likeable as the former England manager is.

Harking back to old times is rarely a recipe for future success. "We're Ireland and we don't get beat," was Staunton's familiar mantra as an on-pitch leader. If management really is as simple as that, we're surely on the cusp of another golden age.

In truth, it's anything but. That old terrace chant about how impossible it was to beat the Irish was always more problematic than anyone cared to admit. For if it was true that there was a fair chance you wouldn't beat them, it was an equally good bet you wouldn't lose to Ireland either. For all the drumbeating and open-top bus rides of the 1990s, is it really worth getting worked up about a major finals record that says 16 games played and only two won, one of them against the pitiful challenge of Saudi Arabia?

Even without the caveman style of football, do we really hanker for a return to the days when Ireland - to borrow Niall Quinn's memorable phrase - were Ragarse Rovers and thoroughly happy in their skin? Should we not aspire to something a little nobler, a game-plan based on something more than trying to bore and frustrate the opposition into making catastrophic errors in critical places?

The key word in all this is passion and it is a much abused word. The consensus is that under Kerr, the Irish players felt their passion for playing for Ireland was diluted and Staunton has made it a central plank of his reign to bring it back. No one is more enthusiastic than McAteer. "Passion," he said, "is vital at international level and certainly it is in our team. We weren't graced with a lot of world-class players, we had two or three, but the passion we showed on the pitch got us results."

One of the charges made against Kerr was that he overcooked it with video analysis and while that is unquestionably true, McAteer's description of the use of video technology under Mick McCarthy would be hilarious if it wasn't so disturbing. "With Mick we used to watch videos while we were eating and stuff," he said. "You are taking it in but it's not a pleasure to watch it. Otherwise you are half falling asleep sometimes and it can have an adverse effect."

The blatant truth is that passion only got Ireland, as it does any team, so far. Have we forgotten that under McCarthy Ireland took three campaigns to qualify for a major finals and then mainly because of the single-mindedness of Roy Keane, who clearly despised and mistrusted the kind of passion that existed among his team-mates? In any case, is it not strange that a manager should make so much of the job of instilling passion in his team? Should we not assume that as a given and work upwards from there?

For all his faults, Keane espoused a new, more confident vision of how Irish football might proceed and, in Kerr, he saw much to admire. The pity about Kerr is that he couldn't translate what were impressive and forward-looking ideas into a successful day-to-day running of the team, but virtually throwing out the entire blueprint with the manager seems a hopelessly retrograde step.

If McAteer is to be believed, the rehiring of Hickey and the omnipresent Byrne, whose role will be as nothing more than a 'character' and masseur of pampered egos, is only the beginning. Staunton, he says, will bring training back to Clonshaugh, where the facilities were described by Keane a few years ago as "abysmal."

Staunton will also restore the team to their traditional base at Dublin Airport. Why? Were there not enough distractions at Portmarnock? Was there too much cursed peace and sanctuary for the players' liking?

Memories best consigned to the dustbin of Irish football history

Worst of all, McAteer also spoke about the return of the 'I had a Macedonia' t-shirt which was traditionally awarded to the worst player in training and was introduced after Ireland's disastrous 3-2 defeat in Skopje in 1997. The joke was as funny to McCarthy's players as it was offensive to the Macedonians and you can only imagine the smile on their faces when Goran Stavreski's last minute goal in 1999 put paid to Ireland's automatic qualification hopes for Euro 2000.

The problem for Staunton in looking to the past is that he inevitably invokes memories like that which are best consigned to the dustbin of Irish football history. His crude and reductionist handling of the complex issue of non-Irish born players is another black mark. That Staunton chose to tackle it in such a brusque, forthright manner was in keeping with his character, but that doesn't change the fact that there was a more subtle path.

Right now, though, Staunton's reign seems to have as much subtlety as a Mick McCarthy punt into Row Z. Ultimately, of course, we will pander to the clichés and tell ourselves it is a results business and judge him on that basis. It worked for Jack Charlton. But is three steps back the way to take one step forward?
    In Trap we trust

Byrne is a complete embarrassment. No wonder Kerr ditched him. Is he qualified to be a physiotherapist? Isnt Ciaran Murray already there? What is his purpose? To boost "team spirit" and "banter". Do me a favour.

Is he gonna be genuflecting? Is he gonna hop on Stan when we score a goal? To complete the look he should put on a leprechaun suit..........

Great to see Mick is back and I think they are still out in malahide...went out to watch them bout a year ago and theres no hassle....

Duff Interview on RTE.

Damien Duff can already sense a more relaxed air about the Republic of Ireland following the appointment of Steve Staunton as manager.

Six weeks after his official unveiling as successor to Brian Kerr, it was finally down to business today for Staunton and his band of 22 brothers in arms.

It is testament to Staunton that all reported in for duty to play their role in his regime, seen very much as a new broom sweeping clean, ahead of Wednesday's Lansdowne Road friendly with Sweden.

Evidence of that was witnessed last night as Staunton allowed his players a drink over dinner following the 16th eircom/FAI Annual International Awards ceremony.

There are also a few familiar faces back in town, characters who served under Jack Charlton and Mick McCarthy, but axed upon Kerr's arrival. One is security officer Tony Hickey, and another is Mick Byrne.

Staunton opted to keep Byrne's return secret until today, with Duff one of those happy to see him back, even if he was given a very rude awakening this morning.

"Flying in yesterday there was just this feeling of excitement, no other word for it," explained Duff when asked for his feelings on the forthcoming Staunton era.

"I haven't really had any time to take it all in, but I'm just so looking forward to it.

"There are a few new faces around in the backroom staff we used to work with a few years ago, so hopefully it will bring back the team spirit and togetherness we once had.

"There was definitely something missing at the end of Brian's reign, I think we all know that, but these familiar faces we were all so close to are back, and that can only help.

"Outside the team you wouldn't really see these guys, but the likes of myself and a few others were close to them.

"Seeing Mick again was a big shock. The first I knew he was back was when he sneaked into my room, jumped onto my bed and started kissing me. It was a nice way to wake up!

"He is a special man and you can't help but love him."

It is that kind of camaraderie that had disappeared towards the end of Kerr's tenure, one that came to an end in October after he failed to steer the Republic towards this summer's World Cup finals.

It will certainly be required to compensate for Staunton's lack of managerial experience, but then Chelsea star Duff does not see that as any kind of problem.

"I'm not worried about that, and I'm sure the rest of the players aren't either," said Duff, who turns 27 on Thursday.

Duff was one of seven players put up for interview as a continental style has now been adopted, allowing the media to interview whomever they pleased, another major change under Staunton.

"You have no need to look any further than Stuart Pearce, who is doing well at Manchester City in what his first job," added Duff.

"Just give Steve a chance. He has been there, done it. No disrespect to Brian, but he probably didn't know the ins and outs of every day life in the English game.

"Whereas Steve knows what footballers are like, what goes on, and I think he will be good.

"Hopefully he can get us back qualifying for major tournaments, and getting that winning mentality back. That is all we care about.

"We all just need to stick together for once - players, staff, fans and the media - and hopefully we can go in the right direction.

"It certainly felt that way last night. There was more of a relaxed atmosphere.

"We were allowed to have a pint, and that is kind of relaxing in itself!"

Duff, one of the more senior players in the wake of the retirements of Roy Keane, Kenny Cunningham and Matt Holland, admits to a greater sense of responsibility with Staunton blooding several youngsters.

However, more importantly, he feels he owes it to himself to show the Irish public they have yet to see the best of him, despite 57 caps to his credit.

"I'm nowhere near my peak," said a straight-talking Duff.

"I've had a couple of injuries over the past couple of months, and I tried to play through them.

"I'm now back pain free. I've been working hard to get back to 100 per cent fitness and sharpness. Hopefully I'll be there Wednesday.

"Although I'm not back in the Chelsea team, I've had an awful lot more lows in my career. I've been there, done that, so it doesn't matter.

"I will still give 100 per cent every day."

Robbie Keane, meanwhile, would appear to be the front runner to take over the captaincy from Cunningham, edging out Shay Given, Kevin Kilbane and Richard Dunne.
    In Trap we trust

57 Posts
    Byrne is an embarrassment and a backwards step. I don't think he is allowed treat players as a physio.

Duff seems to like him though lol
    In Trap we trust

164 Posts
    Mick Byrne is a nice man, but I don't think he's a qualified physio. When I heard he was back, Harry's Challenge sprung to mind. The Indo obviously made the same connection. How will it go down with Mourinho, Ferguson or Benitez if Duff, O'Shea or Finnan sustain an injury while on international duty and are not attended to by a trained physio. Maybe Tommy Tiernan or Hector would have been a better choice.

2,796 Posts
    Presumably there are qualified physios in the camp too.

Duff didn't try too hard to disguise how he felt about Kerr's methods & the mood they resulted in.

SS's choice to bring him back, lets see what happens before we jump to the negative conclusion. The Indo on Sun piece was a bit cutting seeing as we havent even had a game with the new management team in charge. Must be the shortest honeymoon since Julie Roberts and her first husbands(or was that the second). That paper is getting worse than the Sun every week.

Another bit, Interesting what he says about Kerr.

Duff was one of seven players put up for interview as a continental style has now been adopted, allowing the media to interview whomever they pleased, another major change under Staunton.

"You have no need to look any further than Stuart Pearce, who is doing well at Manchester City in what his first job," added Duff. "Just give Steve a chance. He has been there, done it. No disrespect to Brian, but he probably didn’t know the ins and outs of every day life in the English game.

"Whereas Steve knows what footballers are like, what goes on, and I think he will be good.Hopefully he can get us back qualifying for major tournaments, and getting that winning mentality back. That is all we care about. We all just need to stick together for once — players, staff, fans and the media — and hopefully we can go in the right direction.

"It certainly felt that way last night. There was more of a relaxed atmosphere. We were allowed to have a pint, and that is kind of relaxing in itself!"
    In Trap we trust

a few pints and a bit a jiggery pokery with Mick Byrne in the mornings
    should have the germans quaking in their ledherhosen!

2,796 Posts
    It's easy to thake the p1ss but when you hear Duff saying he was full of excitement about coming over then that's surely a good start.

Yeah I agree, team spirit is a huge thing in football and it appears the team spirit was not there for some reason at the end of teh last campaign. If Mick Byrne was the physio i would have a problem wit it, however if he is there just as a motivator and glorified cheerleader well then there is no harm to it really.
    In Trap we trust

its not a "good start". its bog standard what you'd expect him to say, he even praised the last management team who he loved "to bits" when they had the job, its what footballers do - now it WOULD be front page news if he came out and said "ah feck this lads, stan hasnt a fcking clue.....and that mick byrnes a pervo"

Give some credit to Staunton, Brendan O'Carroll also auditioned for the Mick Byrne role but did not meet the new manager's rigorous party-hardy standards. Apparently his player-fondling left a lot to be desired as well.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

why are some people so negative in regards to staunton bringing back mick byrne ? If the players are happy to see him back is that not a good start already and if it helps team spirit then im all for it .. certainly not an ambarrased ..

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    Give some credit to Staunton, Brendan O'Carroll also auditioned for the Mick Byrne role but did not meet the new manager's rigorous party-hardy standards. Apparently his player-fondling left a lot to be desired as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by wws
    a few pints and a bit a jiggery pokery with Mick Byrne in the mornings
    should have the germans quaking in their ledherhosen!
    Give Staunton a break will ye
    He hasnt even managed a game yet!!!
    And the players are happy

Also wws they were allowed one pint - whats the harm in that???

FFS, I cant believe how negative some of the comments on this thread has been, and we havent even played a match under our new manager yet!! Seems to me that some people want Stan to fail as Ireland manager so that they can say "I told you so". This is a DISGRACE and I cannot understand why people wont give things a chance before coming on here and shouting their mouths off.

With regard to Mick Byrne you can safely assume that there will be a fully qualified physio in the Ireland set up at all times.( The FAI would find it difficult to get insurance for their players if this was not the case.) So, whilst we do not know exacly what his role will be within the backroom staff lets just wait and see instead of slagging him off.

Really looking forward to the match on Wednesday night and the beginning of a new era for Ireland, Its a pity others dont feel the same.

Best wishes to Stan, his backroom staff and players in their new campaign.
    one shot... Bang Bang!!!

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    "Just give Steve a chance. He has been there, done it. No disrespect to Brian, but he probably didn't know the ins and outs of every day life in the English game.
    Does that kill hardcore EL fans to read that? And from our main man. I think duff has just explained most things i've said about our setup, or tried to say.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast