Thread: Beckham baffled by son's homework

Quote Originally Posted by monkey magic
    maybe then they are suggesting that you do not include the first part as its written and not stated numerically, in which case the answer is 17

P.S. feel free to phone this in hamish, being away at college means i no longer have the luxury of sky at my disposal for such pursuits
    'Fraid to say that 17 was also given but no luck monkey magic.

That's like things they have on ntl with a channel called ftn...a 'simple' statement with the task set as "add the numbers" or "count the spaces"...it can go days without an answer because they have it such a way...so the odds of you getting the money are so little when added to the odds of actually of getting through, but they still get the revenue....that would perfectly pay for the outlay of such a 'huge' prize...

I swear I'm not cynical at all....
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    That's like things they have on ntl with a channel called ftn...a 'simple' statement with the task set as "add the numbers" or "count the spaces"...it can go days without an answer because they have it such a way...so the odds of you getting the money are so little when added to the odds of actually of getting through, but they still get the revenue....that would perfectly pay for the outlay of such a 'huge' prize...

I swear I'm not cynical at all....
    Seriously, you're right dfx - to me it's con, probably legal, but still a con.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I think a few of ye are better off following David Beckhams lead ... he has started playing jig-saws with Brooklyn, its way easier !!
    I love that story and also this alleged story about him...
    A few years ago when Victoria Beckham was resembling a stick insect..
    a journalist is supposed to have asked him..
    " How do you react to reports that your wife is anorexic?"
    " It's rubbish... she never wears anoraks!"

answer has to be 34

Twenty five divided by five = 5

1 + 2 = 3 + 3x4 = 15 / 1+2+3 x 4 = 24

12 x 0 = 12

101 - 99 = 2

answer is 34 / answer 43

the secrect with the wretin question is it shows you how to read the sums! its no 0 multiplied by 12 its 12 multiplied 0 as you read it! im prob well wrong but seems to make sence to me!
    Last edited by YoungHoop; 28/02/2006 at 9:58 AM.
    Strachan on Rooney:
    It's an incredible rise to stardom, at 17 you're more likely to get a call from Michael Jackson than Sven Goran Eriksson.

Quote Originally Posted by YoungHoop

its no 0 multiplied by 12 its 12 multiplied 0 as you read it! im prob well wrong but seems to make sence to me!
    What difference would that make

no matter what way you put it, 12 x 0 does not equal 12 mate.
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

12 times nothing....to mean 12 on it's own not multiplied by anything would be 12.

As opposed to nothing 12 times which is nothing...

Think that's what he's getting at...
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

care to try 17?
    discount twenty five by five cause its not a number as such

doh!
    hadnt read that 17 was already given
    Last edited by sligoman; 04/03/2006 at 2:49 PM. Reason: merge

no matter what way you put it, 12 x 0 does not equal 12 mate.
    should have known someone with a signature like this never argue with an idiot... they drag you down to their level then beat you with experience would say this

i think you will find that if you went to school and you had 12 sweets and you were told that if noone else int he class has no sweet how many sweets in the class are there??? 12

now if there are 12 people in the class all with 0 sweets then there are 0 sweets get it????

12 x 0 = 0

twelve multiplied by 0 = 12

no you understand fool child??? people who left school at twelve should get the beckham maths book.... not so busy at maths
    Strachan on Rooney:
    It's an incredible rise to stardom, at 17 you're more likely to get a call from Michael Jackson than Sven Goran Eriksson.

Quote Originally Posted by YoungHoop
    should have known someone with a signature like this never argue with an idiot... they drag you down to their level then beat you with experience would say this

i think you will find that if you went to school and you had 12 sweets and you were told that if noone else int he class has no sweet how many sweets in the class are there??? 12

now if there are 12 people in the class all with 0 sweets then there are 0 sweets get it????

12 x 0 = 0

twelve multiplied by 0 = 12

no you understand fool child??? people who left school at twelve should get the beckham maths book.... not so busy at maths
    your a bright one arent ya

12 multiplied by 1 is 12
    this can also be written as 12 x 1 = 12

12, when multiplied by nothing is nothing
    this can also be written as 12 x 0 = 0

take out a calculator or ur fone and work it out ya muppet.

the level of maths ability in this country at the moment is frightening

BTW im a fourth year in college studying for me degree so your comment bout dropping outta school at twelve is a bit ill informed. but ill forgive ya cos your so obviously very young
    Last edited by monkey magic; 01/03/2006 at 4:06 PM.

your a bright one arent ya

12 multiplied by 1 is 12
    this can also be written as 12 x 1 = 12

12, when multiplied by nothing is nothing
    this can also be written as 12 x 0 = 0

take out a calculator or ur fone and work it out ya muppet.

the level of maths ability in this country at the moment is frightening

BTW im a fourth year in college studying for me degree so your comment bout dropping outta school at twelve is a bit ill informed. but ill forgive ya cos your so obviously very young
    my god you are thicker than i expected!!!!!!

twelve multiplied by zero equals twelve now you get it you think half wit!!!! i need you to explain yourself as to why you are the only one who did not understand??? you would want to be carefull one of the ucd boys may have to come to your gaff for after school lessons... maybe you'd like that
    Strachan on Rooney:

i have a sig for this kind of situation, but anyways.. ill ask you to do just one thing: take out a calculator or a mobile phone with a calcualtor on it, and enter the following 12 X 0, and hit the equals button. thats all ill ask you to do as ive no interest in teaching you your twelve times tables.
    after that im gonna assume that youve figured this out by now and your winding me up, because it is frankly beyond belief that you would spend so much time and effort trying to tell me that 12 x 0= 12 without even checking if you were right.

if theres any other rovers fans watching this, would you kindly show your young friend the error in his ways cos hes not doin ye any favours here

230 Posts
    i have a sig for this kind of situation, but anyways.. ill ask you to do just one thing: take out a calculator or a mobile phone with a calcualtor on it, and enter the following 12 X 0, and hit the equals button. thats all ill ask you to do as ive no interest in teaching you your twelve times tables.
    after that im gonna assume that youve figured this out by now and your winding me up, because it is frankly beyond belief that you would spend so much time and effort trying to tell me that 12 x 0= 12 without even checking if you were right.
    :
    David, David, David.......tut,tut,tut. Isn't it Brooklyn's bedtime?
    Last edited by strangeirish; 02/03/2006 at 10:10 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    David, David, David.......tut,tut,tut. Isn't it Brooklyn's bedtime?

bless him though, hes just so eager to learn..

Ah lads I cant believe you've spent so much time and effort on this when THESE PROGRAMMES ARE A CON.

My self and Shakedown were.........eh.........analysing it earlier.

If you look at the line:

Twenty-five divided by five =

Is it twenty DOT and then 5 divided by five =???

or

Is it twenty POINT five divided by five = ????

Also the question said
    "Add the numbers"
    Now is that:
    add the numbers and IGNORE the pluses, multipication, equals signs?

Also, do they mean by "adding the numbers" that you ignore the TYPED numbers??

Does 25 written have a HYPHEN between the twenty and the five??

Finally, are numbers numbers when they're spelled out??

For the lads above arguing about 12 x 0

12 x 0 = 0
    12 x 1 = 12
    12 x 2 = 24
    etc

This "quiz" has been moved to Sky's Gaming section - channel number 840.

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Twenty-five divided by five =
    Twenty minus five divided by five?

this has really gotten on my goat that monkey actually thinks that im the thick one here so i want to try and explain it to him once more!

ok what i was saying was that by the first line being wretten you do the sum as you were reading it like the first line of the sum - Twenty five divided by five with me so far?? so the next part that i will try to explain is the part you dont seem to be able to catch! 12 x 0 which equals 0 BUT if you read it as it is wretten twelve multiplied by zero !!! what woudl the answer be??? think about it

you have 12 of somthing you mulitpli it by zero how much of the thing do you have left????

Yes your correct 12!!!!!

Now do you final get what im talking about
    Strachan on Rooney: