Thread: Political Parties

Political Parties

in years gone by a family stuck with the same political party no matter what, some going back to the civil war and which side of the divide you were on.

in recent years this has become less of an omen with the younger generations who seem to vote on the issues of the person rather than the party this are with.

so with that in mind are there any members who still follow a political party in this political climate and changing times ?????
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

dont vote.

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    so with that in mind are there any members who still follow a political party in this political climate and changing times ?????
    Mod; Follow the rules and give your own opinion first before asking for thers please

46 Posts
    Never even bothered registering to vote but I love to meet the canvasing politician and tell them in no uncertain terms why I wouldnt vote for them. The worst is the council elections, the kinda people who wouldnt give you the time of day any other day.

Brendan

Alway's Vote Sinn Fein in Local Elections as they get more done than any other party(IMO) usually vote for Independants in General's but if someone from any party(other than the Socialist"Protest Bandwagon"Party)has a good mandate on issues which affect me then I'll vote for them

I think unless you’re a party member that’s mostly an older person thing. I used to do telephone opinion poll sort of stuff, you’d be shocked at the amount of women who said “oo politics, you wanna speak with me husband, he deals with politics in this house”. Surely that goes against the idea of one person one vote!
    "...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    no...

Mod: Please don't requote entire posts.

Do i base my vote on some party allegiance?
    No way!!
    Totally agree with ya about Socialist Party BGR.
    And Socialist Workers Party and
    Workers Party.
    Get together and create a proper party instead of the petty differences ye have and get some feckin attention for yerselves.
    Although Joe Higgins is a great politician.
    They're all only known as helping out Tomas get his job back around the corner.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

My vote will go to SF. I have most in common with them, politically wise. My family is Labour in the 2nd generation and FF in the 3rd.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

My only prejudice is I will never vote SF & FF usually get the last votes.
    Order at the top depends on the election in question & candidates.

I have no idea what political allegiance my family has.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    My vote will go to SF.
    Vote Sinn Fein myself every time but wouldnt necessarily stick to it if I moved gaff! Its sort of forced on me to have to vote by party line

Unfortunately my folks gaff (where im registered to vote) is just outside the drogheda boundry so I have to vote for meath politicians and i dont have a f**king clue who they are, what they do, etc as they dont be knocking about drogheda too much obviously - so I have to vote party line as a result unfortunately.

Don't get people who vote for a political party rather than an individual politician who they know will do some good work locally. Like thats been the problem with drogheda over the years, with too many craptown TD's getting voted in as a result of drogheda people voting them in on party line basis !! Wouldnt really be bothered what party someone is in, once I knew they'd do some good work locally!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

I vote first of all on the basis that I HAVE to vote for someone or other, if you don't you're refusing to acknowledge your role in the democratic process i.e. if you couldn't be arsed voting for someone - ANYONE - in the first place, you've no right to moan afterwards.

The last few elections, my vote has gone to SF - Greens - whatever independent lefty happens to be standing, purely on the basis that they (unlike FF / FG / PDs) haven't done anything to annoy me. I'd be a "natural" Labour voter except their continual spinelessnesss cheeses me off no end.

I don't particularly agree with what SF / Greens espouse, I just vote for them as a means of giving the fingers to the "mainstream" parties.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    I vote first of all on the basis that I HAVE to vote for someone or other, if you don't you're refusing to acknowledge your role in the democratic process i.e. if you couldn't be arsed voting for someone - ANYONE - in the first place, you've no right to moan afterwards.
    I agree.

I don't understand how anyone could be forced (well maybe SF) to vote for their families choosen party. Does freedom of thought not exist?

Never knew so many Shinners on foot.ie

I think SF are pretty much a mainstream party now. I couldn't vote for them. I usually vote labour. Haven't had a chance to vote since I moved so not sure who the local TDs are...

In light of this past weekend's events it is even more incumbent on people who do not espouse thuggery and violence and sectarianism to go out and vote for constitutional political parties and representatives to keep those other scumbags off the political stage and out of the Dáil. If we don't vote the scangers will get their vote out and become the government.... which is precisely how the Nazi's got elected in Germany... low turnouts at Elections!

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    I dont agree with this at all. so your sayin just vote for anyone for the sake of it which is what you are doin? whats the point? I remember one election when we heard nuthin but "zero tolerance" and this was goin to save us. and then when he got elected we never heard the words again. so it wasnt hard to come to the conclusion that politics in this country is pure show biz.

Quote Originally Posted by klein4
    I dont agree with this at all. so your sayin just vote for anyone for the sake of it which is what you are doin? whats the point?
    You vote for the best from options you are given. No one ever said you had to agree with everything or even anyone. If you can't vote for anyone then stand for election yourself. Failure to choose one of these options does not entitle to you a say.

I’d tend to agree more with klein4. If you’ve no strong opinion or can’t tell between candidates, well then don’t vote.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    You vote for the best from options you are given.
    No one ever said you had to agree with everything or even anyone. If you can't vote for anyone then stand for election yourself. Failure to choose one of these options does not entitle to you a say.
    well I hope with that kinda attitude YOU never stand for election!! Why should I give validation to people who do arse all to change what are the bloody obvious problems in this country by going down and voting in a random manner eventhough the same people get in all the time just because they are well organised. I'm not sayin nobody should vote. but I am sayin I have the right to choose when I will or will not cast MY vote. And I wont if I dont consider there to be a candidate who even broadly reflects my own views.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    In light of this past weekend's events it is even more incumbent on people who do not espouse thuggery and violence and sectarianism to go out and vote for constitutional political parties and representatives to keep those other scumbags off the political stage and out of the Dáil. If we don't vote the scangers will get their vote out and become the government.... which is precisely how the Nazi's got elected in Germany... low turnouts at Elections!
    Way to go CTID. I have no time for SF - sorry Block G Raptor - and I'll never vote FF again for a number of reasons - one being the way Aherne fcuked up the Eircom Park plan.
    FG, Lab, PD - fcuk all them too - there is a bad case of tweedledum/tweedledee running through the Dail parties. I chose the Greens in the late 80s and am sticking with them - they don't seeem to have been contaminated yet and their TDs perform well in the Dail and in their constituencies.
    I'd think again, though, if they went into government as a minority party with FF.
    There are a few good TDs individually but the Mary Wallace scenario was typical of all that is wrong with party politics in this land - she's was/is the laziest TD in the Dail and yet gets a Junior Ministry to continue doing fcuk all but with plenty of bobs to go with the position. She was also useless in her last position too.
    Got a leaflet in the post this morning from one local TD claiming the credit for the new factory coming here - he had absolutely nothing to do with it and has sent out the same 4 page leaflet twice claiming credit.
    Ireland is relatively successful at the moment but I often wonder how we became successful - was it by accident or design??

Ah, I'm in contrary mood at the moment. Just came from Portiuncula where I had an MRI scan at 12.30pm and discovered that I have have to foot the bill - 450 euroes - VHI doesn't cover MRI scans done by a private company which does this at the local hospital.
    Found out they only do it for the Bon Securs in Galway city but got no hint of this when I received the appointment on Friday, yes Friday, so hadn't even a chance to query it and get an appt. for the Bon. Sec.
    No wonder the health service is fcuked when this kind of thing happens.
    I'm lucky in that I can (eventually) cover this bill but I wonder how long do people on medical cards have to wait to get this - and other similar services -Probably years.

Just another reason to be cynical about politicans when they BS about the health service.
    Shower of useless fcukers.