View Poll Results: After his prevarication would you like to see Kevin Nolan play for Ireland?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

23 35.38%
  • No

42 64.62%
Page 5 of 22 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: The Kevin Nolan saga

38 Posts

The Kevin Nolan saga

Do you think Kerr should try one last time?
    I think he's a quality player and his goal on Saturday was a cracker.
    I know this reopens a can of worms but I personally think he would be a great addition to the squad. I know he turned down Kerr for the underage team but that was a few years ago and maybe he might be intetrested now. Some will disagree and say we shouldn't accept an English reject. I would agree if he was cr@p like Maken and didn't add anything to the squad but with Roy, Holland and Kavanagh all into their 30 and close to retirement (or in Holland's case slowly disimproving with age) we don't have a hell of a lot of young CMF players with a few years experience at the highest level. So he would be at least as good if not better than what we have now. I'm interested in Ireland doing a well as possible and if a player qualifies for us via the Grandparent/Parent rule and they improve our squad then why not? Even some of the larger countries have one or two players in their starting 11 that weren't born and bred there. Why shouldn't we as a smaller nation do the same? Sure isn't there something like 15 million people with an Irish passport? I have no objections anyway, unless the person is a total w@anker of course
    Last edited by Irish_Praha; 26/09/2005 at 9:24 PM.

20 Posts
    My understanding is that he can't qualify so it's a moot point.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

No, he makes it under the grandparent rule. He has at least two and maybe all four Irish grandparents.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Would Nolan be a good option for us purely based on talent? Yes.

Will BK call him up? I don't think so based on previous history, there was talk of him being called up a year ago when he was left out of the England Euro 2004 squad.

Do I think he should be called up? No, but that's only my tuppence worth.

3,500 Posts
    According to football365 today he's looking to get an England call up so this subject should be dropped
    Read it here - http://www.football365.com/news/story_163916.shtml

No, no and no again. Have people no pride at all? Going begging a fella who is adamant he's not irish to play for ireland. makes me puke

57 Posts
    My understanding is he was ineligible after playing underage for England. He was then available to us under the amnesty last year but Kerr didn't want him. I think the time limit for the amnesty has expired so he is no longer available.

no chance .. on ability wise yeah but the lad harbours ambitions to play for england and is willing to wait a few years to see if he can get into squad so for me its a non starter.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    No, no and no again. Have people no pride at all? Going begging a fella who is adamant he's not irish to play for ireland.
    Agree with that, he had his chance and turned us down. I wouldn't give him a second chance to turn us down again and make us look desperate.

As far as I know, he had to change allegiance before 31st Dec last year. This is were they introduced a 'window' for people to change if they had played up to U21 football for another country.

I would have liked him to play for Ireland but I wouldnt go begging for him to play. There were indications that he wanted to play for us but that was after being picked by England U21.

End of story as far as I am concerned.

If ye turn down Ireland once, ye don't deserve to be asked again - and if you beg to come back you should be told to f**k off. Simple as that
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

As has been mentioned already, Nolan is not eligible. Once you have played for another country at any level you are stuck with them. There was a window for the year of 2004 which allowed players change but thats over.

131 Posts
    F**k Nolan Joey O'Brien will have his place in the Bolton team by the end of the year anyway. We can call him up.

We are fine for central midfield players coming through anyway with Garvan, Ireland and O'Brien all now starting to make their mark. We don't need any England rejects in that position.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish
    F**k Nolan Joey O'Brien will have his place in the Bolton team by the end of the year anyway. We can call him up.

We are fine for central midfield players coming through anyway with Garvan, Ireland and O'Brien all now starting to make their mark. We don't need any England rejects in that position.
    Don't forget Glenn Whelan

130 Posts
    Ya exactly, Im fairly sure I remember reading something a while back about him turning down playing for Ireland. This is nearly as ludricious as asking Lee Trundle to play for us, Nolan is a good player, no more no less.

I saw Joey OB came on last sat and did well, have seen him mentioned here a good few times but dont know much about him. He obviously has potential, I thought I heard he had declared for the north?? or am I only talkin rubbish? anyone shed some light?

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy
    He obviously has potential, I thought I heard he had declared for the north?? or am I only talkin rubbish? anyone shed some light?
    Maybe he declared for North Dublin select XI but he definitely didn't declare for Northern ireland. He's a Dub and I've seen him a few times now for Bolton and Sheffield Wed last season and he looks potentially excellent. One of the best of our young players IMO.

He also seems to be getting better with every game which is another plus. He's expected to start in Bolton's away game in the UEFA cup on Thursday so you might see more of him then (I think it's on Channel 5 over here in England) though I expect it'll be a very tough game for him and Bolton.

Kevin Nolan is a good player who would be good enough for at least a regular bench spot with us had he wanted to play for us before the window closed.

He considers himself more English and wants to play for them as opposed to some country he doesn't identify with. Fair play to him for not just using international football as a career break. I personally wouldn't want any more Morrissons in the team anyway but I think more of Nolan for turning us down than I would have done had he come onboard.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Kevin Nolan is a good player who would be good enough for at least a regular bench spot with us had he wanted to play for us before the window closed.

He considers himself more English and wants to play for them as opposed to some country he doesn't identify with. Fair play to him for not just using international football as a career break. I personally wouldn't want any more Morrissons in the team anyway but I think more of Nolan for turning us down than I would have done had he come onboard.

Speaking of which (im not a big fan of Morrison and his big U turn either) but the man is scoring goals for fun at the moment. Considering he is a confidence player, it can only be good news for us with the games coming up.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    He considers himself more English and wants to play for them as opposed to some country he doesn't identify with. Fair play to him for not just using international football as a career break.
    Rubbish, he was making noises about playing for us when the new rules came into being, said things like "all I can do is play my best and hope mr. kerr calls me". He made a decision to play for eng u21's and that should have been the end of it.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Rubbish, he was making noises about playing for us when the new rules came into being, said things like "all I can do is play my best and hope mr. kerr calls me". He made a decision to play for eng u21's and that should have been the end of it.
    When did he say that?? I actually can't recall him ever saying he wanted to play for Ireland.

Page 5 of 22 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast