View Poll Results: After his prevarication would you like to see Kevin Nolan play for Ireland?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

23 35.38%
  • No

42 64.62%
Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: The Kevin Nolan saga

812 Posts
    Originally posted by London Irish
    [B]……KK’s dad is from Achill Island (like my Mum) and parts of it are gaeltacht areas. Notice he always sings the national anthem in Gaelic and hats of to him if he is fluent.
    My German's nearly better than my Irish, but I don't even know the English words to the national anthem. Who learns it in English?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Originally posted by John83
    My German's nearly better than my Irish, but I don't even know the English words to the national anthem. Who learns it in English?
    I think Celtic fans sing it in the Saxon tounge.
    Oh no not them again

229 Posts
    The Soldiers Song is sung at Celtic Park, first heard it sung in english myself, at a Wolftones concert
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Originally posted by SÓC
    That's how I originally learned it. The Irish came much later. From the terraces, I even used to sing along to it in English whilst watching Ireland. Despite occasional abuse (usually friendly enough), I figured that to sing it in English was still better than not singing at all.

PP
    Last edited by Plastic Paddy; 25/02/2004 at 4:20 PM.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Originally posted by Junior
    My mothers from achill Island as well, got a picture with big KK after the Spain game, which my mum insists she wants to send to all the relatives back home!!, she'll not hear a bad word said about him.

I hadn't heard the 14yrs of age story about him before, but fair play at such a young age you nearly always do as the adults say -to know your own mind at that age is more than admirable.

I too would love to be able to speak more gaelic, unfortunately both parents remember very little (apart from close the door, please etc... ), so there was very little I could pick up as a child. Apart from Linguaphone kits, books etc.. anyone know of any websites, perhaps with phonetical assistance??
    junior...........

...small world.... have a picture of me+mum+dad+kk hung up in the living room taken in a pub in the sound...Mum adores him - that fine'achill man' she says when he's on the telly!!!!!!!!!!

229 Posts
    Originally posted by London Irish
    junior...........

...small world.... have a picture of me+mum+dad+kk hung up in the living room taken in a pub in the sound...Mum adores him - that fine'achill man' she says when he's on the telly!!!!!!!!!!
    Aye, Mcloughlins bar just as you enter the Sound, is run by relatives of mine, mum comes from the village of Saula. Kilbane is in actual fact a very very distant relative. My grandmothers maiden name was Kilbane, never had chance to work out the connection yet, I'll need to get on to that, could come in handy for tickets!!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Originally posted by SÓC
    And they've got some of the words wrong aswell: eg: adding the bit in about some Polish king with an aversion to contraception.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Now now Lopez don't you be slagging off giovanni paulo, that Polish king got me a week off school back in 1982 when he came over to visit the uk, I had a week of playing football and a day of standing outside mrs battenberg's house in the mall waving a vaticano flag, one of the best week's i had, great craic, any chance of him coming back do you know?
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

Originally posted by sylvo
    Now now Lopez don't you be slagging off giovanni paulo, that Polish king got me a week off school back in 1982 when he came over to visit the uk, I had a week of playing football and a day of standing outside mrs battenberg's house in the mall waving a vaticano flag, one of the best week's i had, great craic, any chance of him coming back do you know?
    Like fat Frank in his final years, the light's are on but noone is home? Next one is supposed to be the antichrist (according to Bob Jones affiliated cults).

Lopez yer writing the poor man off, or as you call him ''the Polish king'' and I think that's bad form. I will alway's be thankfull to that man for that week he got us off school in 1982 when he made his papel visit to Brit--tan (i've been learning patwaa from my Jamaican workmate's ).
    That week we all spent the week playing football, and flying round the place on our bmx's, as well as the action packed day outside mrs Battenberg's flat's were we spent the day annoying copper's, waving vatican flag's, eating ice cream, mucking about in st james park and me trying to get off with my best mate's sister.
    That man's a hero in my book, so just lay off the guy ok.
    Anyway if I don't see yer @ the next meeting, i'll hook up with yerself and Kevin Nolan @ Lansdowne on march 31st

Take your point hombre, but I'm a republican big and small 'r', so don't have much time for any monarch, even if I believe in the big man upstairs and take the port and poppadom on the odd Sunday with Father Wishy Washy.

There was this Austrian woman at Wembley Park Canteen that day who was just about to get off work to see Karol and she had to do another shift. I don't think she ever got over it.

She was cooking the dinner some time after for a train driver who went out. He (Bob) had a distinctive voice and this other driver started doing an impersonation of him slagging off 'dose f*ckin' krauts. Did you see the programme on the U boats last night?' Helga (I think that was her name) said to Bob, 'don't vorry Bob. I'll bring over your dinner.' He turns to everyone: 'I like this. Personal service.' To which Helga threw the dinner over his head. She had a rep. Previously at Baker Street she almost got the sack when her and two West Indian 'ladies' turned the canteen there into something like a Saloon in Dodge City, after a bus driver had the front to complain about the cooking.

60 Posts
    what are you on man? I want some
    Always look on the bright side of life

jESUS Lopez that sound's heavy stuff dude, is everything cool with them all now?

Originally posted by drummerboy
    what are you on man? I want some
    Apologies DB, but I've lapsed into Shop Talk. I work on the London Tubes and the story of King Karol's visit sparked off nostalgia for a particularly hideous and notorious staff canteen cook.
    jESUS Lopez that sound's heavy stuff dude, is everything cool with them all now?
    God knows what happened to Helga. She left when TrustHouseForte took over the Franchise circa 1991. Her varicose veins didn't look to healthy. Bob got the sack for sexual harrassment down at Moorgate a couple of years back. He got promoted after walking down the track at Neasden screaming to anyone who'd be ars*d listening that he was going to kill himself. This as you can see is where I'm going wrong in my own futile quest for promotion.

Originally posted by lopez
    This as you can see is where I'm going wrong in my own futile quest for promotion.
    You know better than most that London Underground uses Peter's Principle to appoint management; namely, in a hierarchy, individuals rise to the level of their own incompetence. My old boy swore that this was how they appointed to the senior posts...

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
    You know better than most that London Underground uses Peter's Principle to appoint management; namely, in a hierarchy, individuals rise to the level of their own incompetence. My old boy swore that this was how they appointed to the senior posts
    Tell him it's been taken to a higher level.

[BBut the crazy thing about Kevin Gallen is it's not like he's one of these 2nd gen Irish who are Irish when it suits them but still follow engerluuuund, this guy is totally Irish.[/B]
    and now he wants in......
    eleven-a-side.com

Brian Kerr went over and had a look @ him playing for QPR, where i think a letter just saying f k off would have been more the answer.

Lol.Kerr should've told him were to stick his letter.

Leave him rot in division 2 he's nows now he'll never get an international cap so 'The Replubic will do him.

John O'Flynn has a much better chance of playing for Ireland than Gallen now.

What goes around it seems definitely comes around in his case, he turned his back on his country in order to play for the Scum and now his country nine years later has turned its back on him, it's just a shame that Brian Kerr did give him a polite response when a "Go F**k yourself, Judas" would've been more in order!!!

Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast